We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western "Plus"..???” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2408 Rudkin Road, Yakima, WA 98903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #5 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Sun City, California, United States
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Best Western "Plus"..???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Reasonably priced (ours $90-night), Clean & right off the 97-FWY. While the staff was very pleasant... The rooms & bathroom are rather small. Very outdated room, TV & appliances, all were in working order though. Still not seeing the "PLUS" as the name suggests. The Pool is large & clean but there is no Hot-Tub. Breakfast was nice & typical of a Best Western with fresh eggs, bacon/sausage breads, cereals, fruits & juices They also have a nice waffle-maker which my daughter thoroughly enjoyed There is a small computer room connected to internet with a printer at end of the hall. While I have rated average i would give 3 & 1/2 rating if avail. It is by no means a dump with extremely nice staff, but also nothing to write home about. There is ample parking for trucks & trailers on far side.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside have nice green belt & no Fwy noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property and thank you for staying here with your family. I’m very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we will take your praise and critiques into consideration. Best Western awarded us with the “Plus” distinction when they launched the descriptors program last year in an effort to distinguish our brand of hotels. In order to receive the “Plus” we continually pass the high-standard requirements of AAA/CAA with a minimum 3-Diamond rating. We upgraded bath, bed, breakfast amenities and numerous other hotel features to be able to receive the distinction and namesake. We have recently renovated our guest rooms and strive to keep them well-appointed, comfortable, and up-to-date. We greatly expanded our breakfast area to accommodate the preparation of, and the presentation of, our greatly expanded breakfast offerings. We hope that you continue to stay with us in the future when you find yourself in the Yakima Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    55
    30
    7
    8
See reviews for
44
47
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prineville, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We try to stay at Best Westerns when we travel across the country. One of the best we stayed at was in Lusk, WY where the room was clean, fresh and the breakfast was unique and delicious! However, we thought we were getting the same thing when we made reservations at Yakima Ahtanum, but NOT SO!! It felt dirty, had hair in the tub from previous guests and the smell when you walked in was nearly overwhelming! We thought it would subside if we got the room open and aired out. We were both feeling terrible when we left the next morning and couldn't get out fast enough. We can only attribute it to the fact that it was an older facility and the central air conditioning just circulated the smoker's air from other rooms around the building. We will NOT consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Better to check it out in person before you make reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts about your stay with us. We take great care in making everyone’s stay with us unique, enjoyable, and as comfortable as possible. Each of our rooms has its own thermostatically controlled air conditioner so it’s possible that if someone was smoking inappropriately in a non-approved area of the hotel, it may have found its way into your room. If brought to the front desk’s attention we could have certainly found you a different room and redirected the individual(s) smoking. Our housekeeping staff works very diligently to keep our rooms and our hotel as clean as possible. It’s their mission and they take it seriously. They are however only human and I do apologize for the hair found in your tub. We will use this review during our future staff training and will continue to strive for spotless rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was our second stay for a week- 2011 was the first. Still a great place to stay AND they enlarged the entry/breakfast area- looks very nice, and comfortable too! Clean and good service.
We will stay here again, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearLake
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This one of the worst places rthat I have ever stayed it cost to much for what you get, the Rooms are so small that it should not have cost me $129.00 for one night, This was really BS when that same week I stayed at The Skagit Hotel resort and Casino in a Suite that had Two room plus a great big bath room and that only cost me $109.00 a night, You have some of the worst bed I think i have ever tryed to sleep on since I was told it was a Queen size bed it was no more that then the man I the moon, People down stairs below us and a bunch of others made noise half of the night, So vacation time I was have not. Won't stay at your plce ever again.

Room Tip: Don't stay Here it is a rip off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I’m sorry that you didn’t have a more enjoyable stay with us. Our rates fluctuate based on our occupancy. We offer highly competitive rates for leisure travelers from $79 - $139 for a regular room. Your stay was most likely on an event weekend when our rates were higher to fit demand. While rare, we do have rates at that level. At a minimum our pillow top beds are queen sized and 60” x 80” in-line with the US/ Canadian standard. I’m sorry if this wasn’t what you are used to. I hope that if you’re in the area in the future you will give us an opportunity again to try and better accommodate you. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We returned again to Ahtanum Inn, We took a Suite this stay... This was a second floor suite with a jetted tub and such in the room. Our room was spacious and quite comfortable. The room has a nice little balcony,a very nice television with a pretty good selection of channels. Our room was very nice and clean as we are used to at this hotel. This suite had a kitchen with a range,fridge,microwave,garbage disposal and a dishwasher. We were very satisfied with the room,and will probably book the same type on our next stay. This Hotel is very well managed and it shows! Our reservations are always right and all of the staff have been the most pleasant that you will find anywhere. We plan to return soon....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Friendly staff, very nice rooms, lcd hd tv, lots of parking space, clean, full breakfast with tons of choice. Nice garden and pool with BBQ facility. The only negative point for us was that there is no elevator. We had lots of heavy luggage but the staff was so kind to carry everything up to our room. Thank you very much to the staff!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel room was spacious and clean and the location of the hotel presented easy on and off the highway. However, I needed the Wi-Fi and the connection NEVER got beyond a signal strenth of "very low" and the connection dropped regularly. If you don't care about Wi-Fi, then this is good value for the money, but if you need connectivity, find somewhere else.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you have a lot of luggage, get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn

Address: 2408 Rudkin Road, Yakima, WA 98903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yakima
#5 Family Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yakima
Yakima Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.