We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three star Inn at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Birchfield Manor Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yakima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birchfield Manor Country Inn
Save Saved
You added Birchfield Manor Country Inn to your Saves list
2018 Birchfield Road, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Yakima B&B and Inns
vancouver island
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Three star Inn at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a disappointment. For those of you who read my reviews, you know we travel the world and try to find those special places that just hit the spot. This, unfortunately, is not one of those places.

On the plus side Tim, who checked us in and served breakfast in the morning, was very nice and interested in making our stay pleasant. He was, however, the only staffer on duty and was totally stretched between checking people in and serving supper to others on our arrival night.

We paid extra for the Hunter, but nothing about this room was worth it--- it smelled musty and stale—in fact the room just did not feel clean (although there was not specific evidence that it wasn’t.) The carpet in the hallway leading to our room was stained from one end to the other and some of the outlets in the bathroom area did not work. The spa tub was stained and the shower/toilet area was beyond tiny.

The amenities were almost non-existent -- no body cream, no conditioner, cotton balls that looked like they had been sitting around uncovered for months, no Q-tips, and a shower bottom that was separating from its frame.

The bed was fine, but was not even triple sheeted. The pillows were thin foam and anything but inviting, and the sheets were what you would expect to find at a 2 star hotel and at least one of the towels was torn. The TV offered just a few local channels and was a vintage model—small, not a flat screen, and very out of date. I am sorry to have to say it, but Birchfield is a 3 Star property at best.

Breakfast was nice, but it was what it was, there were no choices. Tim was kind enough to accommodate us by setting a separate table instead of having to eat communal style, which we do not enjoy.

At $180 a night, the Birchfield was totally overpriced, not just for all the reasons stated above, but this is Yakima! We stayed a few nights later at the historic Davenport Hotel in Spokane in the Tower and paid only $125 a night for a lovely room with a big shower, great bed and linens, and a new flat screen LG TV.

Birchfield simply failed on virtually every level. We would, however, recommend having supper at Gasperettis in downtown Yakima – it was a pleasant surprise. Finally, there are some really good wineries in the area with some unique wines so the wine region definitely worth a visit if wine tasting appeals.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We've stayed at this B&B on a number of occassions and we would not consider staying anywhere else in Yakima. Don't bother trying to get much on the television, but that is not why we go. We generally stay in the newer building and really love the very quiet rooms. So little traffic out this way. My wife loves the jacuzzi. The owner seems to know every winery owner in the region and can just about set you up with anything/anywhere to do with wine. The restaurant is very, very special. One or two seatings, small menu of about 5 entrees and we have never been disappointed. I think we both prefer the salmon dish and the salads are not only great, but the special house dressing is the best. The food is always, and I mean always, served at the correct temperature. The wine list is exceptional. Breakfasts are served at joined tables so we get to meet fellow guests - and I would call the breakfasts non-traditional, but scrumptuous. Don't waste your money going to a regular hotel because they have free breakfast - this place completely out-performs any other place and it truly is a breakfast of unequaled quality. Same kitchen staff for about 30 years! Amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived to find a wedding about to start. It felt like we were intruding and we were just handed the keys to our room, pointed to the building outside and said 'go up the stairs, that is where your room is'. Not exactly a warm reception. We stayed in the Vineyard Room and although it was clean, it was very dated. Skylights are a bad idea --- puts a glare on the TV and in the morning the sun was right in our eye as it is just above the bed. The shower was 'deafening' --- most unpleasant shower I have ever had. It was so loud and hot/cold fluctuation was crazy. The mattresses need to be replaced as they are broke down. The rooms in the Cottage have jacuzzi tubs --- which unfortunately you get to listen to if anyone in the surrounding rooms used theirs. The floor/walls vibrated for a good hour. Then the guest in the other room decided to leave their bathroom fan running most of the night. When that went off, we had the pleasure of listening to someone snore. Not too much sound proofing in that building.
Breakfast tasted good and the guests who attended were pleasant company.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you stay here I recommend staying in the newer building called the cottages. I was in the main house in the Victoria room. The bathroom is small with not enough shelving. The closet has hooks, no bar for hanging clothes. The carpets need cleaning. The plumbing needs upgrading. You spend most of your time in the shower fixing the changing temperature. Sometimes the flow reduces to drips and you stand and wait for the water to come back on. The staff is friendly and helped me take my bags upstairs. The air conditioning is very good. There is no wi-fi and if you must have a TV, I think they are also just in the cottages. Breakfast is good. I met very nice people at breakfast because you all sit at the same table. Do book one dinner there. That is the best thing about the stay. There is an outdoor pool, but be sure to ask if there is an event scheduled that would preclude your using it.

Room Tip: If you need TV, stay in the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Charming and very comfortable country estate in Washington Wine Country affording quick and easy access to Yakima Valley wineries. The staff could not have been more welcoming or attentive. But my thoughts keep drifting to dining... Should you be fortunate enough to stay at the inn over a weekend, DEFINITELY book a table for dinner - on both Friday and Saturday evenings if possible! The chef provides a truly five-star experience: local food and produce are featured in classic European presentations. From appetizer to home-made chocolates - perfection! And the wine selection is (understandably) quite impressive. Breakfast easily follows suit with an impressive menu . BIrchfield Manor raises the B&B "bar" very high indeed...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed last weekend at Birchfield Manor. What a perfectly delightful weekend. The rooms charming...ours, The Jenny featured not only a spa size bathroom with loads of natural light, jacuzzi tub but also a lovely window seat. ( came in handy to watch a desert rain storm arrive over the mountains). The cuisine each evening and morning was so amazing featuring incredible flavors and stunning presentation. Tim Newbury the perfect host and so knowledgeable about food, wine nd the area. Can't wait to return!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The inn has a good location in the Yakima Valley. It's just outside of Yakima and offers a convenient 20-30 minute drive to wineries down the valley as well as a very short trip to downtown Yakima for dinner and drinks. Our room was clean and small, but could use a bit of updating. Overall very comfortable, convenient, and friendly service!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchfield Manor Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchfield Manor Country Inn

Address: 2018 Birchfield Road, Yakima, WA 98901
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1910 farmhouse ran by chef/owner. Surrounded by hop fields and vineyard two miles East of Yakima. In the heart of wine country. 11 guest rooms to choose from, all with private bath and shower. Most with double Jacuzzi tubs. Multi-course Gourmet dining available on weekends nights. wonderful selection of local wines. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchfield Manor Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.