We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchfield Manor Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yakima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birchfield Manor Country Inn
Save Saved
You added Birchfield Manor Country Inn to your Saves list
2018 Birchfield Road, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Yakima B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We've stayed at this B&B on a number of occassions and we would not consider staying anywhere else in Yakima. Don't bother trying to get much on the television, but that is not why we go. We generally stay in the newer building and really love the very quiet rooms. So little traffic out this way. My wife loves the jacuzzi. The owner seems to know every winery owner in the region and can just about set you up with anything/anywhere to do with wine. The restaurant is very, very special. One or two seatings, small menu of about 5 entrees and we have never been disappointed. I think we both prefer the salmon dish and the salads are not only great, but the special house dressing is the best. The food is always, and I mean always, served at the correct temperature. The wine list is exceptional. Breakfasts are served at joined tables so we get to meet fellow guests - and I would call the breakfasts non-traditional, but scrumptuous. Don't waste your money going to a regular hotel because they have free breakfast - this place completely out-performs any other place and it truly is a breakfast of unequaled quality. Same kitchen staff for about 30 years! Amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived to find a wedding about to start. It felt like we were intruding and we were just handed the keys to our room, pointed to the building outside and said 'go up the stairs, that is where your room is'. Not exactly a warm reception. We stayed in the Vineyard Room and although it was clean, it was very dated. Skylights are a bad idea --- puts a glare on the TV and in the morning the sun was right in our eye as it is just above the bed. The shower was 'deafening' --- most unpleasant shower I have ever had. It was so loud and hot/cold fluctuation was crazy. The mattresses need to be replaced as they are broke down. The rooms in the Cottage have jacuzzi tubs --- which unfortunately you get to listen to if anyone in the surrounding rooms used theirs. The floor/walls vibrated for a good hour. Then the guest in the other room decided to leave their bathroom fan running most of the night. When that went off, we had the pleasure of listening to someone snore. Not too much sound proofing in that building.
Breakfast tasted good and the guests who attended were pleasant company.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you stay here I recommend staying in the newer building called the cottages. I was in the main house in the Victoria room. The bathroom is small with not enough shelving. The closet has hooks, no bar for hanging clothes. The carpets need cleaning. The plumbing needs upgrading. You spend most of your time in the shower fixing the changing temperature. Sometimes the flow reduces to drips and you stand and wait for the water to come back on. The staff is friendly and helped me take my bags upstairs. The air conditioning is very good. There is no wi-fi and if you must have a TV, I think they are also just in the cottages. Breakfast is good. I met very nice people at breakfast because you all sit at the same table. Do book one dinner there. That is the best thing about the stay. There is an outdoor pool, but be sure to ask if there is an event scheduled that would preclude your using it.

Room Tip: If you need TV, stay in the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Charming and very comfortable country estate in Washington Wine Country affording quick and easy access to Yakima Valley wineries. The staff could not have been more welcoming or attentive. But my thoughts keep drifting to dining... Should you be fortunate enough to stay at the inn over a weekend, DEFINITELY book a table for dinner - on both Friday and Saturday evenings if possible! The chef provides a truly five-star experience: local food and produce are featured in classic European presentations. From appetizer to home-made chocolates - perfection! And the wine selection is (understandably) quite impressive. Breakfast easily follows suit with an impressive menu . BIrchfield Manor raises the B&B "bar" very high indeed...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed last weekend at Birchfield Manor. What a perfectly delightful weekend. The rooms charming...ours, The Jenny featured not only a spa size bathroom with loads of natural light, jacuzzi tub but also a lovely window seat. ( came in handy to watch a desert rain storm arrive over the mountains). The cuisine each evening and morning was so amazing featuring incredible flavors and stunning presentation. Tim Newbury the perfect host and so knowledgeable about food, wine nd the area. Can't wait to return!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The inn has a good location in the Yakima Valley. It's just outside of Yakima and offers a convenient 20-30 minute drive to wineries down the valley as well as a very short trip to downtown Yakima for dinner and drinks. Our room was clean and small, but could use a bit of updating. Overall very comfortable, convenient, and friendly service!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

What a great place to stay for a visit to WA wine country! I inquired through email about a one night stay at Birchfield and received a response back quickly. I made a follow up call with their concierge who proved very helpful and informative. He took my info over the phone and when I asked him for suggestions as to wineries he would recommend my bf and I visit, he was more than happy to include suggestions in his confirmation email to me. We stayed in the Victoria room in the Main house. Our room was clean and very well kept. Each room, including ours, had its own private bathroom with shower. The next morning's breakfast was filling and delicious! A great way to start the second day of our wine touring. During breakfast, we found the staff very informative as to the history of the Manor. Overall, the hospitality of the staff, the accomodations, and the included breakfast added to an already amazing visit to wine country and made it all that more exceptional! I would highly recommend Birchfield Manor Inn! I know we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchfield Manor Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchfield Manor Country Inn

Address: 2018 Birchfield Road, Yakima, WA 98901
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1910 farmhouse ran by chef/owner. Surrounded by hop fields and vineyard two miles East of Yakima. In the heart of wine country. 11 guest rooms to choose from, all with private bath and shower. Most with double Jacuzzi tubs. Multi-course Gourmet dining available on weekends nights. wonderful selection of local wines. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchfield Manor Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.