We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a B&B in WA wine country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchfield Manor Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yakima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birchfield Manor Country Inn
Save
You added Birchfield Manor Country Inn to your Saves list
2018 Birchfield Road, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Yakima B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gem of a B&B in WA wine country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

What a great place to stay for a visit to WA wine country! I inquired through email about a one night stay at Birchfield and received a response back quickly. I made a follow up call with their concierge who proved very helpful and informative. He took my info over the phone and when I asked him for suggestions as to wineries he would recommend my bf and I visit, he was more than happy to include suggestions in his confirmation email to me. We stayed in the Victoria room in the Main house. Our room was clean and very well kept. Each room, including ours, had its own private bathroom with shower. The next morning's breakfast was filling and delicious! A great way to start the second day of our wine touring. During breakfast, we found the staff very informative as to the history of the Manor. Overall, the hospitality of the staff, the accomodations, and the included breakfast added to an already amazing visit to wine country and made it all that more exceptional! I would highly recommend Birchfield Manor Inn! I know we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This inn is located in a lovely country setting, perfect for a wine country getaway. The staff and service are wonderful. We stayed in one of the cottage rooms in an adjacent building. There was a nice deck with a view of the pond and grounds and the room was spacious. I like the country charm feel, but I think it might be time for a bit of a refresh. All of the dusty, fake plants and flowers need to go. They could use an upgrade on the linens too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have stayed here twice while visiting wine country and absolutely love it. The hospitality of the staff is unparalleled. The manager, Tim was a delight...visiting with all the quests and going out of his way to make our stay memorable. We stayed on a busy weekend and unfortunately they were booked for dinner, but upon our return to the inn after a day of wine tasting we really didn't want to go into town. Instead, Tim and his staff set up a table outside for our party to enjoy!!! So nice! We stayed in the Sunset Rose room in the cottage...it was perfect with a nice little deck outside overlooking the pond. The breakfasts are amazing...for those put off by the 8:30 breakfast time note that you have the option to eat breakfast in your room. Also, appetizers are available in the evening as well, although we didn't order any. Also we never had any trouble with hot water and another poster complained about the lack a fridge or ice...yes, a fridge would have been ideal, but all we had to do was ask Tim and he brought us a bucket of ice. Not a big deal at all. We look forward to returning for many years to come!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here Aug 23. The occasion was dinner for a good friend's retirement party. We stayed in the Sunrise room in the annex and was a delight. Breakfast was awesome, a havarti cheese and chive omlett and figs with a balsamic reduction.
The pool area was nice and good balance with sun and shade. It is so quiet there, in a pastoral setting.
Dinner was a whole another matter. 11 on a 1-10 scale.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

I began frequenting this place when it first opened and I lived in the area, although back then I just went for fabulous dinners on special occasions. It has since grown but the service and charm are still there, as well as great food. This is located a little outside Yakima in the heart of the agricultural area which adds its own interest. The service is laid back and the staff very helpful for those who are not familiar with the area. I highly recommend the salmon in pastry for dinner!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed at the Birchfield Manor based on the ratings in Fodor's and we definitely were not disappointed. We were visiting wine country in the Yakima area, and wanted to stay close, but not in town. This was a great decision. We stayed in the Sunset Cottage and it was lovely. The highlight, was the wonderful breakfasts served by one of the owners, Brad. What a treat to be able to have breakfast in your cottage in your jammies, when you wanted it. The owner was extremely hospitable and helpful. This was one of our best B&B experiences, and we plan to be back next year. We missed the opportunity to enjoy their dinners, as we were staying on days dinner was not served at the Manor, but we got a recommendation for great restaurants in town. These folks know hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Stayed in the guest cottage, room was large and clean enough, hot tub is a nice touch. Small balcony to overlook the surrounding fields. Quiet and restful at the property. It is a bit of a drive to Yakima downtown. Breakfast the next morning was served at one sitting time only, everyone sat at long tables together and food was served at once. Food was fine. As it was a rural location we were hoping for more areas to walk around, but the actual property grounds are quite small from what we experienced. For those with kids, note their website says they "are not suitable for children under 8".

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchfield Manor Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchfield Manor Country Inn

Address: 2018 Birchfield Road, Yakima, WA 98901
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1910 farmhouse ran by chef/owner. Surrounded by hop fields and vineyard two miles East of Yakima. In the heart of wine country. 11 guest rooms to choose from, all with private bath and shower. Most with double Jacuzzi tubs. Multi-course Gourmet dining available on weekends nights. wonderful selection of local wines. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchfield Manor Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.