We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Yakima” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1507 North First Street, Yakima, WA 98901 (Formerly Clarion Hotel & Conference Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebration Package!
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Waipahu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Best value in Yakima”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Delightful friendly staff and the accommodations were great, rooms are large with all the amenities needed for a comfortable safe stay. House keeping was awesome, and the front desk was the best I have ever encountered in any hotel, very helpful. These guys are truly on top of their game; for the value it would be hard to beat. I especially enjoyed the Hot breakfast and dinners.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolan W, General Manager at Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review of our property. We work hard to make your stay memorable, and our staff really appreciates your recognition. Please visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Nolan Watte
General Manager
Yakima Valley Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
5
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

I was booked here by friends who live in the area. I could not believe the value of what I was given. A huge room with a king bed and large tv, access to pool and spa, as well as free breakfast and dinner. Dinners were a single dish, but we're tasty and as they were self-serve, plentiful. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
My only suggestion when upgrading would be to provide walk-in showers instead of having to climb into the bath to shower, but I found the shower over the bath common in North America.

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolan W, General Manager at Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. It's wonderful that you noticed our customer service, and that you enjoyed the value of our rooms and amenities. Our guests really mean the most to us, as a traveler from outside the US you really bring a unique perspective with you're review. We most certainly appreciate it!
A tip if you ever travel to the states again; You can request a handicap accessible room that offers a walk in shower without the tub. Most hotels here have only the combination bath and shower in standard rooms that are not handicap accessible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We traveled from Seattle to Yakima the weekend of Oct. 4 - 6 to have one last encounter with summer, and this place did not disappoint. What I am looking for in a room is 1) a comfortable bed; 2) A clean room; 3) A great pool with a hot jacuzzi; 4) Refrigerator in the room, and 5) Powerful shower with lots of hot water. YES! to all of the above. What we got in addition was: 1) Complimentary Breakfast AND DINNER! all of which were delicious; 2) Comedy Club on premises, which cost us $5 each in cover charges; 3) Microwave in room; 4) Very thoughtfully stocked vending machines (with Energy drinks); 5) Complimentary Newspaper.

Do I care about the aging of the carpets or the fact that our meals were served on paper plates with plastic cutlery, or that they give us styrofoam & plastic glasses in our room? No! Because to have otherwise would mean these room would go for over $150 a night.

This is a non smoking premises, so I don't understand the "smoke in the hallway" review. The temperature of the hot tub was way too hot for a small child (sound of hands clapping!).

We enjoyed our stay here so much, we will put it on the calendar to return again next October. The only constructive thing I might have to offer is that when we checked in, there was only one person at the desk, who was overwhelmed. Please add staff support for busy times, especially on the weekends.

Folks, for less than $100/night for 2 adults, this is one of the best bargains out there. I almost wish that I could keep the secret to myself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolan W, General Manager at Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Yakima Valley Hotel & Conference Center. I really appreciate your taking the time to review our property. Our staff enjoyed hearing about your experience.
Yakima is certainly a good place to visit when you need some 80 degree weather in October. We're happy to be here for you. I do apologize for the long line at check in. Memorable customer service and comfort during your time with us is most important. I expect you will find an improvement during your next visit. Please enjoy the coming holiday season, we'll look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We have been here for an hour and the pool is filthy and hot tub is cold. We came to sit in the sun, jump in the pool (one of two is closed - the clean one) and the hot tub is cold. Worse, they don't seem to care.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolan W, General Manager at Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Your opinion and experience are important to us. Our staff is dedicated to giving you the best service and hospitality experience possible. Our pools have both been open in this unusually hot October weather, if you need help accessing them our staff members are available to assist you. I'd like to hear more about your experience, please give me a call any time at 509-248-7850 just ask for Nolan.

Sincerely,

Nolan Watte
GM
Yakima Valley Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Stayed there one night during the cannonball run. Very Nice Rooms and a great breakfast!
Didn't use the pool but it looked great...both of them. Good location for visiting Mt. Rainer and this area of Washington.

Room Tip: All were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolan W, General Manager at Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Thank you very much for leaving us a review and telling us about your stay. We really enjoyed having you. The Cannonball Group was a great bunch, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Nolan Watte
GM
Yakima Valley Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

I've stayed at this property many times over the years, when it was a Red Lion, then Doubletree, then Clarion. None of those chains invested much in keeping the property updated and now that it appears to be independent, that trend continues in spades. There is no longer a functioning restaurant, only a coffee shop. The bar is open only three nights a week and there is nowhere within walking distance to buy a drink. Not sure I would go walking after dark in any event; the neighborhood was always sketchy but now is depressingly rundown.

The hotel still has old cathode-ray television sets in its rooms, although flat panel TVs have been out for 20+ years. Trying to watch a baseball game on the sets is a trip back to a simpler era. There is no HBO offered, just basic cable. The carpet in the room is threadbare and badly stained. The beds were unusually firm, more like hard. The first three ice machines I visited were broken down.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolan W, General Manager at Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us,
We appreciate your patronage. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your first stay with us as a new business. We've been working steadily on improving the hotel since taking over in November 2013. As you said none of the previous chains invested much in updating the property. We've got a lot of work to do, and many improvements are planned for the future. Recently we've repainted and opened both of the pools and hot tub, and have done a lot of work in landscaping. Our hotel doesn't have a coffee shop, but we do have a dining area where we offer a complimentary hot breakfast & dinner for all of our guests. Since November we've also added to the security of the hotel by hiring the Phoenix Security Company.
A new independently owned and operated business has taken place of our lounge. The Laugh Lounge Comedy Club, Yakima's very first Comedy Club! Because they are a separate business they make their own hours, they are open only three nights a week. However if needed we do offer a shuttle between 9am to 10pm that can take you to bars in the area.
Our rooms are spacious, though admittedly dated. However the mattresses are new, and the rooms are clean. I do apologize that the ice machines you visited were not working correctly, our engineers will get those taken care of right away. Thank you for letting us know where we can do better. Your comfort matters to us, rest assured that we will be updating the rooms and inner hallways as we move forward.

Sincerely,

Nolan Watte
General Manager
Yakima Valley Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

This was our first time staying at the YVHCC since it was a Clarion. We typically come here once or twice a year to enjoy the sunshine and swimming pool. Decades ago this was built as a Red Lion and many of the rooms are very spacious. The buildings are showing their age but the new management is making improvements; the landscaping is improved and now both swimming pools are open. The pools are no longer heated so they are a bit chilly. The restaurant is now a free buffet for breakfast and dinner; don't get too excited, it's pretty average. We preferred to eat out for dinner. We keep coming back to this hotel, whether Clarion or YVHCC because of the spacious rooms, the swimming pools and the Yakima weather. This hotel is a good value and a very comfortable stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our only request would be to warm up at least one of the pools during the season.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolan W, General Manager at Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting the YVHCC, and submitting this review. It sounds like you were pretty familiar with the hotel as it was previously and we are so happy you've noticed the improvements. Our goal is to continue updating the facility outside and inside throughout the year. We'll look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Nolan Watte
General Manager
Yakima Valley Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1507 North First Street, Yakima, WA 98901 (Formerly Clarion Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 207 spacious guestrooms and almost 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, we are Yakima's largest hotel and conference center. Additional amenities include 2 outdoor seasonal pools, year-round outdoor hot tub, fitness room, breakfast and dinner buffet, and guest laundry. Excellent location near the Yakima Convention Center with ample free parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Yakima
Yakima Clarion
Clarion Yakima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.