We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not quite there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1507 North First Street, Yakima, WA 98901 (Formerly Clarion Hotel & Conference Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Tenino, Washington
1 review
“not quite there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

this hotel has the possibility of being an affordable destination hotel in Yakima. looks like some upgrading has been done, however the workmanship is horrific. Our air conditioning did not work in 107 temp. They fixed almost immediately with another ancient unit that worked. we were there for a conference so large amount of people eating at one time, they had DIFFICULTY keeping up. kitchen staff needs to be replaced. Food was low quality. Everything was standard or just below. Salad bar was bare bones. They are in an area that grows everything, but non was offered. In summation, this hotel has the possibilities to be a great place if there were a step up in quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
2
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

While the motel needs a lot of updating in areas, we found our room clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was ok. If you expect a full meal it might be best to go somewhere else. As far as a free beakfast , its about the normal fare. Never ate supper there so unable to say. I would stay here again, if I were ever back in the area. Very acceptable room rates.

Room Tip: Stay in a ground floor wing room. Ours was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, Idaho
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was excellent in terms of customer service, clean and friendly. Very helpful front desk and housekeeping. My only sideways comment is the use of plastic and paper in the coffee shop. I prefer the feel and texture of glass and stainless flatwares.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

THE GOOD: Easy check in. Lots of free parking. Nice breakfast. Convenient.
THE BAD: Filthy carpet-I kept my socks on the whole time. Terrible housekeeping- found the counters still sticky with some kind of red syrup; needs updating
Try the Best Western across the street. NOTE: if you've never been to Yakima, don't worry about getting around town. It's a small place and any hotel is only about 15 minutes from anywhere in town

Room Tip: None. All similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The staff was friendly and helpful and my room(s) clean. This establishment does not keep the air conditioning on and maintain a comfort level within the room. The day I checked in, it was 100+ in Yakima, and when I went in the room, it was very hot. I turned on the air conditioner and left to sit by the pool while the room cooled down. When I returned, I discovered the air conditioner was not working. I was given a second room and again, it was hot. Believe it or not, that air conditioner was also not working, so I had to move all my stuff yet again to a third room. It took until 1:00 am to get the room cooled down to 74 degrees, running the air conditioner at full blast. Needless to say, I did not have a good nights rest. However, the beds are comfortable. Dinner and breakfast buffets are offered, but if you are looking for healthy options, you won't find them here. Dinner consisted of frozen succotash, fried potatoes, fried chicken, and the salad bar not well stocked. The iceberg lettuce was brown, the spinach wilted and very few toppings. Breakfast options included cereal, eggs benedict (I think they were from the freezer section and heated up, but I didn't eat them so not sure), breakfast potatoes and sausage. All in all, my stay was a true disappointment and I won't return or recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watervliet, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First off let me say we are in week 3 of a 3 week vacation so we have stayed at a lot of motels. Incomparison the Yakima Valley Hotel does need some work. I'm going to list the pros and cons
Pros
Very spacious rooms
comfortable beds
free dinner and breakfast included in the room price which makes this a very reasonable place to stay.
walk out balcony on 2nd floor, and patio on 1st floor.
Nice pool
Rooms clean
Very pleasant staff

Cons
Needs to be updated. Rooms are dated.
It's a HUGE motel (this could also be a pro I suppose)
We had an issue with a few ants which we reported but I believe my husband gave them the wrong room number so we didn't see anything being done about them. It was not bad and it was not a deal breaker but I feel it must be mentioned. The young lady at the desk was very apologetic. I feel we were to blame for them not showing but it was not worth calling them again because it really was not that bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinnon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed at this establishment for almost a week, once a year, for eight years. I have now decided never to stay there again as it has declined. Last year was bad but I decided to give it one more year since they, apparently, changed ownership. Specific reasons: 1) When I first arrived for my five night stay decided to take a shower - no body wash, no soap anywhere in the room. Period. That was unacceptable; 2) On day three, when things had slowed down in my life, I noticed small ants crawling all over the bathroom floor and crawling up the bathtub. This tipped the scale into totally unacceptable. I will now find another establishment for my weekly trip to Yakima. I'm sorry to make this decision because the staff themselves are very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolan W, General Manager at Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your patronage through the years. Its great to hear from someone who has stayed and stayed again. I would be very sorry to lose your business, please contact me personally to talk about your experience. Either you can email me at nolanwatte@hotmail.com or call 509-248-7850 and ask for Nolan.

Sincerely,

Nolan Watte
Yakima Valley Hotel & Conference Center Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1507 North First Street, Yakima, WA 98901 (Formerly Clarion Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 207 spacious guestrooms and almost 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, we are Yakima's largest hotel and conference center. Additional amenities include 2 outdoor seasonal pools, year-round outdoor hot tub, fitness room, breakfast and dinner buffet, and guest laundry. Excellent location near the Yakima Convention Center with ample free parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Yakima
Yakima Clarion
Clarion Yakima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.