We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Yakima

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Yakima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Yakima
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1001 East A Street, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 24 hotels in Yakima
West Richland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Clean and quiet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in the Yakima and this one was definitely the quietest and cleanest. The rooms are big with a well laid out open floor plan. They provide hot food throughout the day for example a hot breakfast with a very large assortment of menu items and potato soup in the evening. The biggest draw back is the tiny fitness center that only has three cardio machines and nothing else. Nice pool though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Yakima, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Timothy L.
We are very pleased to know that your experience at the Holiday Inn Express in Yakima was very pleasant. I am happy to hear you got to enjoy many of our wonderful amenities and that you enjoy the comfort and cleanliness of your room. Thank you so much for your feedback, I informed my housekeeping department of your feedback and they were very pleased to hear they're doing a great job.
Thank you and we hope you come and stay with us again!
sincerely,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
19
15
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have for a long time avoided booking Holiday Inn Express. The reason is that their prices seem to always be higher than other hotels within the same star level. But, I have always wanted to try Holiday Inn Express.
My recent trip gave me a chance. Their price was competitive in Yakima, WA.
Check-in was smooth and courteous. There was a microwave and a small refrigerator in the room. The room was O.K., with some exceptions.
The Express Start breakfast was similar to other hotels. Nothing greater than some other hotels while at the same time not any worse.
The exceptions: T.V. was not mounted straight. The chair at the desk was worn and ripped with foam padding bulging through the split. Water minerals were collecting on the commode and an ugly streak was beginning to show (an indication, to me, of shoddy cleaning).
The doors to the room and the bathroom were in disrepair. The luan paneled doors were peeling off at the bottom (not a desirable appearance for a nice hotel).
This is what floored me - After a day of touring, we returned late (after dinner time) one afternoon and found that the room had not been cleaned. We reported this to the front desk. The front desk offered to have someone clean the room (but it was too late for us - we were tried and wanted to rest without any disturbance). So, we did not accept the offer to clean. The person at the front desk NEVER apologized. Instead they made an excuse that the room number written on the work sheet looked like 222.
The next morning we checked-out. I told the front desk about my desires to try Holiday Inn Express. I mentioned the problem we had about the room not being cleaned and that I was disappointed with Holiday Inn Express. She listened and had no response. It’s amazing to me that NO ONE apologized for not cleaning the room.
I would choose another hotel if I were to return to Yakima.

Room Tip: Google shows a route to the hotel off I-82 via N 11th St., be aware this is through a shopping cente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Yakima, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear trvlg4ever:
I am very sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our hotel during your stay. It is unacceptable you did not received an apology for the inconveniences you experienced. I personally wants to apologize for all of this and want to assure you my staff was informed about this review, Housekeeping and maintenance. It is my upmost concern to always provide great customer service to all of our guests. I am so sorry.
Sincerely,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for a baseball tournament over the past weekend and I have to say it was GREAT. Staff was helpful, breakfast was ok and what I expected from a hotel breakfast and the rooms were clean. The hotel was also quiet - I know at least 2 teams of 15 year old boys were staying there.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor (main floor for walking in) and it was nicely located
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Yakima, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Seattle_review:
I am so delighted to hear that you had a great experience during your stay at our hotel. It has always been our goal to provide great customer service and it is always wonderful to hear through feed back how are we doing. I passed this along to the rest of my staff and they are delighted as well to make our guests happy. Thank you and we hope to see you again,
Sincerely,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I usually enjoy the HI Express properties. This one wasn't up to par. The bedding/pillows were very low end - probably the worst I've had in quite some time. The A/C was hot/cold and very loud. I just couldn't get my room cool enough even though the night temps in this area are about 65 degrees.

The eggs on the breakfast buffet were very mysterious! They resembled an egg-like substance but were not good at all. I understand that it is more efficient to microwave some sort of egg-like mixture but this was not good...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Yakima, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear FLJtodd,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your review of your recent experience at our property. This feedback is very helpful to us as we establish our best path to providing successful guest satisfaction.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The day we arrived in Yakima, it was 107 degrees. The room a/c cooled the room off very nicely without a lot of extra noise. The room was very clean, and the bed in the king suite was very comfortable. The wifi worked very well and was fast and easy to use. The breakfast on each of four days we ate there was good, and the staff kept it restocked.

During the days, I saw the cleaning staff working constantly. They obviously take pride in their work! Staff was friendly, too.

On weeknights, the hotel served soup at 6:30 p.m., and cookies and milk at 7:00 p.m., which we enjoyed several times.

My only complaint was a small issue with the bathroom floor: the tiles/flooring were very squeaky when we walked on them, as if the underlayment beneath them had not been installed properly. The faucet on the shower had also been broken, and had been "temporarily" fixed by driving a screw into it, which made it more difficult to use. With the record-breaking heat the week of July 4, the hallway on the 4th floor was incredibly hot, even with the a/c working (though my room stayed cool).

We stayed on the 4th floor, and it was very quiet, though I'm guessing the squeaky floor could probably be heard by the room below us.

TIP: Stay on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Although we didn't experience any significant problems during our 1-night stay, we weren't particularly impressed. Front desk staff was reasonably friendly but not especially welcoming, helpful or professional. Wifi did not connect as instructions in room indicated, so a trip to the desk for walk-thru for correct connection method was needed. Breakfast was good, no attendant present when we ate breakfast (didn't need assistance, but appreciate an attendant for questions, quick refills of low-running items, etc.) Room/bed was clean/comfortable, nice Bath & Body Works toiletries. Views from the hotel/neighborhood not great--walls oft-painted-over to cover graffiti, etc. Although hotel seemed to full or nearly-full, it was quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Yakima, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Kathy T,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We're so glad you liked the cleanliness of the room accommodations you had. We would like to apologize you were not well satisfied with the service you received and for the challenges you had with our WiFi services was less than satisfactory. We're sorry the view of the neighborhood from our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed two nights during 4th of July on a third floor. Clean and comfortable room (King+sofa bed), nice breakfast choices with hot items (pancake, bacon, scramble eggs) + standard continental breakfast items, friendly and helpful staff, nice swimming pool+hot tub, great location close to shopping, restaurants, and easy access to freeway.

Everything is great. The only problem we had wast that the room above us was very loud on our second night. We didn't hear voice from next doors, BUT could also hear showering and flushing from the next door very clearly!

Overall, great experience, and will definitely consider HIE if we come to Yakima next time.

Room Tip: Maybe try the top floor to avoid jumping and running noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Yakima

Address: 1001 East A Street, Yakima, WA 98901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Yakima 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Yakima Hotel!Ideally located near the heart of downtown Yakima, we are just one block from the Yakima Convention Center, with quick freeway access. The Holiday Inn Express Yakima is your 'Gateway to Wine Country', with numerous local wineries to choose from throughout our Valley.While staying at the Holiday Inn Express Yakima Hotel, you will enjoy our complimentary, expanded deluxe continental breakfast, featuring hot and cold food selections, such as omelets, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruits, cereals, and of course, our famous cinnamon rolls!This Yakima hotel will help maintain your exercise regime in our fitness center. Swim year round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub.Whether you are staying with us for business, pleasure, or both, you will find our free, wireless, high-speed Internet access convenient for any situation.Attractions near hotel: Yakima Convention Center, Yakima Valley Wineries, Yakima Sundome, Apple Tree Golf Course and the Seasons Performance Hall.The Holiday Inn Express Yakima. Stay Smart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Yakima Hotel Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
Yakima Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Yakima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.