We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Yakima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Yakima to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Yakima
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1001 East A Street, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Mebane, North Carolina
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

I thought this was a really nice hotel. The renovations that others mentioned are almost complete, just finishing the coverered car area by the front desk. Rooms were nice, with flat screen tvs. Breakfast was OK, internet worked well, and the staff were good. Location is nice, withing walking distance to a Target and restaurant. The only drawback is that the hotel is kind of hard to find. If are going, print directions, as it is kind of tucked away.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
21
17
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

I got my arrival date crossed up with the Manger. She thought Tuesday, I said Wednesday. I didn't get an email to confirm so it was my word against hers. Even though I didn't stay the night my credit card was charged. The Manager (January) was very short and unreasonable with me. Customer service was just as bad; the customer is not right when you work with the Holiday Inn Folks! I suggest you stay at the Fairfield by Marriot or the Oxford Inn when in Yakima; I will in the future.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

Property was being remodeled during my stay. Even so, I had no problems with noise. Rooms were decent, clean, and safe, and included hairdryer, small frig, and microwave. My only complaint with the room was if you turned the water on full blast at the sink, there was splash-back from the angle of the water hitting the stopper (it went all over the counter). Other than that, I had a great stay. The front desk clerk gave me good directions to restaurants and nearby stores. Even though the front lobby was being remodeled, breakfast was available each day.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
now
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

You know what you're going to get with a HIE - comfy beds, toiletries that smell kindof like a lemon vanilla cookie and decent rooms with fridges and microwaves. Nice pool at this location. Good location with a Target close by and close access to the bike trail/walking trail that goes along the river. The surprise at this HIE is that even though I booked on line and fully disclosed the number of people in our room, the front desk tacked on a $10 charge because we had 2 adults and 2 kids in a room with 2 queen beds. Huh? And the minion at the front desk acted as if she was completely unempowered to make it right. Book this one by calling the hotel directly.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

First of all...we had intended to fly to Portland, but the flights were full, so I called Holdiay Inn Express In Yakima the night before and the hotel clerk was so very helpful....I wanted to use my points, but priority club was not open, but he checked for a room and told me they would have one clean and reay for us in the morning! Most hotels woudl make you wait for a check-in time, but they weren't very full yet, and we got there and we were in our room by 10:00 in the morning. Very professional, courteous staff, and the rooms and the grounds were very clean. Also, we noticed security patroled the hotel area at night. The pool was great and the hotel clerk was helpful gving us directions.
All I can say is that it was a nice experience...there is a Target walking disntace and a liquor store close by and the room had a fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

It's not the Ritz, but a good solid value. Clean, comfortable, breakfast as expected at HIE. I don't know where many of the others who have written reviews stayed! My only recommendation is to stay away from rooms just over the exit on the 1st floor. It's where the smokers congregate and if cigarette smoke bothers you it will get in your room.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Smokers
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

We've been staying at hotels in Yakima frequently this past year, and have always unsatisfied with the hotel experience. Two weeks ago we tried the holiday inn express for the first time and finally felt we had found a great place we can keep coming back to. Everything was of good quality from the wireless service, to the bed (none of those yucky hotel comforters), to the showers, the pool, and breakfast. We even extended our stay another night & usually we're counting the hours until we can be home again. I'd recommend this to a friend.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Yakima

Address: 1001 East A Street, Yakima, WA 98901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Yakima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Yakima Hotel!Ideally located near the heart of downtown Yakima, we are just one block from the Yakima Convention Center, with quick freeway access. The Holiday Inn Express Yakima is your 'Gateway to Wine Country', with numerous local wineries to choose from throughout our Valley.While staying at the Holiday Inn Express Yakima Hotel, you will enjoy our complimentary, expanded deluxe continental breakfast, featuring hot and cold food selections, such as omelets, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruits, cereals, and of course, our famous cinnamon rolls!This Yakima hotel will help maintain your exercise regime in our fitness center. Swim year round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub.Whether you are staying with us for business, pleasure, or both, you will find our free, wireless, high-speed Internet access convenient for any situation.Attractions near hotel: Yakima Convention Center, Yakima Valley Wineries, Yakima Sundome, Apple Tree Golf Course and the Seasons Performance Hall.The Holiday Inn Express Yakima. Stay Smart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Yakima Hotel Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
Yakima Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Yakima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.