We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   510 North First Street, Yakima, WA 98901 (Formerly Rodeway Inn & Suites Yakima)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Looking for an inexpensive stop, that was part of a chain, to gain points. Found a worn property with a very pleasant desk clerk who went an extra mile to allow me to use the pool and explained the early morning hours. Hotel room was clean and tidy. Had a nice couch and a an extra lounge chair. Ask for a second floor room, apparently a bit nicer ( I agree)' as well as a bit of a view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The front desk gentleman was very nice however, This hotel is not in a safe area. The locals call the area "The Hole" come to find out. The rooms were cheap and that's why we booked at this hotel while on our motorcycle trip. We had some issue's with our bikes in the parking lot and decided to leave after three hours and go somewhere else. If this hotel was in a different safer area we might return. The rooms seemed to be price appropriate and the overall condition was fair. My previous review of this hotel was rejected so I'm trying to clean it up. But I think it's important to inform people of safety issues if they do not know the area like us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

This was a last minute find, booked from my phone about 2 hours before arriving. We had two adults, three teens/pre teens. Booked a king bed, with a pull out sofa and a roll away bed.
We were greeted by the friendly front desk person in the driveway. Got checked in quick. Kids had been in car for 15 hours, and were eager to get in pool, clerk said he'd let them stay as long as they wanted, just to not get rowdy or too loud.

The room seemed spacious, large bathroom and large closet area. It was older, and therefore didn't look as clean as a new hotel. We had a larger mini-fridge, and unexpected bonus.

Our only complaint was the people staying next door. They were drinking, and going from an outdoor patio back and forth past our room to thier room. The more they drank, the more they kept falling into our door and raising voices. After 2-3 hours of this, finally called front desk, and things seemed to calm down. But, the desk isn't far away, I wonder how they didn't hear it all, when it was waking us from sleep with ear plugs in.

Lastly, there wasn't enough room to pull the sofa bed out. It got 2/3 out, and the final third would sit on the king size bed. We adapted, and they did bring us extra sheets and blankets.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had the room with no adjoining rooms so nice & quiet. Nice staff. Gave me a ride to & from Harley shop to get my bike fixed. Fridge, micro & 27" TV, comfy beds, hot showetr, nice 80degree pool and sunny. Got sick at Mel's Diner. Free WIFI. Better deal than Motel 6.Had a camera to watch my bike from office altho it was right outside my window.

Room Tip: 2 rooms on other side of parking lot have no adjoining rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We will never stay here again, we should of never stayed the 1st night, Our room was a NS room which stunk so bad like smoke, I went to the office and told them. They said the room below us was smoking but, I don't think our room would of stunk that bad from the room below. I asked for some room spray, it didn't help. The fridge stunk so bad we couldn't use it. We could not plug in our chargers because the plug ins were so old, they kept falling right out. It just felt dirty. I searched on line before bed, found a room down the street same price. We were up at 8 am packing, we were very happy with our new place! Lesson learned, look at the room first if you've never stayed before!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The best I can say is that the room appeared to be clean, and there were no bugs. It was not so bad to cause me to go elsewhere for one night, but I'll never stay there again. It was within walking distance of Mel's Diner, which has pretty decent food.

Room Tip: To get the best room, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

A tired and shabby mess of a place. This place needs a major overhaul. I felt like I needed a wash after we left. Worst of all myself and my wife felt unsafe, although that might have something more to do with Yakima than this particular motel.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 510 North First Street, Yakima, WA 98901 (Formerly Rodeway Inn & Suites Yakima)
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Yakima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.