We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe as a last resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Country Inn Yakima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Country Inn Yakima to your Saves list
Sun Country Inn Yakima
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 North First Street, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Kenmore, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maybe as a last resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

When I booked the room I was thinking how bad could it be. We just needed a room for the weekend while my son played in a baseball tournament. The rooms were relatively clean, but I still wasn't sure that I wanted to be walking around barefoot. I've never seen shampoo and conditioner provided in plastic pouches like katchup. How are three people supposed to use that? I've never seen linoleum sheet vinyl flooring used as a tub surround before. I supposed it is a much cheaper option than ceramic tile. The room stunk of cigarettes - I'm so used to being asked my preference that I didn't even think to specify. The pool was wonderful! But we were shocked when one of the tenents showed up with their two large dogs and got into the pool with them. What?! They did not have our reservation when we showed up. So lucky they still had rooms. I almost felt like someone should stay up and keep watch while the other slept. It's sad when you are having the conversation - wondering if your items are safer in your car or in your motel room. The staff if friendly enough, but this place could really use a little more care. I guess if you are only paying $35/night what do you really expect? It was loud with alot of people up all hours making noise inside and out.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room. However, they don't seem like they enforce the rules
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    3
    6
    5
See reviews for
13
6
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed one night over Memorial Day Weekend. It's a plain sort of run down motel right off the interstate. It is fine if you don't have high expectations and just need some sleep. Clean rooms overall. Hard beds. I was laughing at the front desk person's version of a "beautiful breakfast" to look forward to: sugar cereals, apples, very hard individually wrapped pastries and toaster waffles, yogurt, toast, coffee with powdered creamer, milk in the fridge and get this: a big pitcher of Tang!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Low room rates equal similar amenities. This is an older motel. Needs to be updated or retired. Great for low income or working people. Strong Oder of disinfectants. Matress and bed was clean and great!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Travelt Yakima twice a month every month on business and a few months ago I couldnt get a room at my usual Holiday Inn due to an event in town. Tried the Sun Country and found the staff to be wonderful. The yound blonde lady was so friendly and genuine that I decided to make Sun Country my new "home away from home". The tiny lady with the greying hair and the other blonde lady are also wonderful. This last trip I had to experience the yound black lady and man is she rude. Took all the niceness right out to this quaint little hotel. Back to the Holiday Inn for me.

Room Tip: If the black lady is working the front desk recommend you leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Relatively low price. A/C worked great. it was 103 degrees outside. pool was clean. room was clean. Not luxury but good value. Continental breakfast was OK but nothing to write home about. No loud parties going on at night so we were able to get some sleep. They allow pets for $10 extra. Cable TV worked well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I'm suspicious of any motel at $44.00 per night. I gave them a very good rating for overall value, but make no mistake, this is a two star motel.

The Good:
The room was very clean (I gave it the white glove inspection), recently remodeled, nice carpet fresh paint and quiet. Everything worked and the staff were pleasant. Nice swimming pool, free WiFi, and included breakfast. Good value for the money.

The downside:
Furniture was cheap (college dorm quality) and the 1.4 cf fridge with the mini microwave on top, was unattractive sitting on the floor and nearly unusable. You had to get down on your knees to use it, get a small stand for it. The electrical outlets were worn out and the plugs wouldn't stay in the sockets. Would cost less than $5 to replace them.

Unfortunately the price also attracts a few undesirable people, two hayseeds were racing an old pickup truck in an out of the parking lot. But not the motels fault.

I will use it again when needing an overnight accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We just needed a bed for the night and the sun county fit the bill. People were friendly and the bed was comfortable. Rooms clean and spacious.
Everything was very 80s in the room and the tiny desk was expertly mended with wood filler.
Minimal breakfast wide selection but not much that was hot or fresh. Stale bread.
Given the price no issues at all.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Yakima
Days Inn Yakima
#11 of 24 in Yakima
3.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
1.4 mi away
Guesthouse Intl. Inn
Guesthouse Intl. Inn
#12 of 24 in Yakima
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 24 in Yakima
3.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
1.9 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#4 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Country Inn Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Country Inn Yakima

Address: 1700 North First Street, Yakima, WA 98901
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Country Inn Yakima 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sun Country Inn Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Country Inn Yakima Hotel Yakima
Sun Country Hotel Yakima
Country Inn Yakima
Yakima Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Country Inn Yakima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.