We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most of the staff are great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Country Inn Yakima

Save Saved
You added Sun Country Inn Yakima to your Saves list
Sun Country Inn Yakima
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun Country Inn Yakima
1700 North First Street, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most of the staff are great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Travelt Yakima twice a month every month on business and a few months ago I couldnt get a room at my usual Holiday Inn due to an event in town. Tried the Sun Country and found the staff to be wonderful. The yound blonde lady was so friendly and genuine that I decided to make Sun Country my new "home away from home". The tiny lady with the greying hair and the other blonde lady are also wonderful. This last trip I had to experience the yound black lady and man is she rude. Took all the niceness right out to this quaint little hotel. Back to the Holiday Inn for me.

Room Tip: If the black lady is working the front desk recommend you leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    2
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
6
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Relatively low price. A/C worked great. it was 103 degrees outside. pool was clean. room was clean. Not luxury but good value. Continental breakfast was OK but nothing to write home about. No loud parties going on at night so we were able to get some sleep. They allow pets for $10 extra. Cable TV worked well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I'm suspicious of any motel at $44.00 per night. I gave them a very good rating for overall value, but make no mistake, this is a two star motel.

The Good:
The room was very clean (I gave it the white glove inspection), recently remodeled, nice carpet fresh paint and quiet. Everything worked and the staff were pleasant. Nice swimming pool, free WiFi, and included breakfast. Good value for the money.

The downside:
Furniture was cheap (college dorm quality) and the 1.4 cf fridge with the mini microwave on top, was unattractive sitting on the floor and nearly unusable. You had to get down on your knees to use it, get a small stand for it. The electrical outlets were worn out and the plugs wouldn't stay in the sockets. Would cost less than $5 to replace them.

Unfortunately the price also attracts a few undesirable people, two hayseeds were racing an old pickup truck in an out of the parking lot. But not the motels fault.

I will use it again when needing an overnight accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We just needed a bed for the night and the sun county fit the bill. People were friendly and the bed was comfortable. Rooms clean and spacious.
Everything was very 80s in the room and the tiny desk was expertly mended with wood filler.
Minimal breakfast wide selection but not much that was hot or fresh. Stale bread.
Given the price no issues at all.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

The lady working at the front desk took one look at my license, found out I was 19 and said, "I'm going to rent the room to you, but I'm gonna tell you right now, I don't want any trouble" inferring that I was some sort of gang member or druggy. Then the room had ants all over the floor (both dead and alive) and wreaked of cigarette smoke. At that point my girlfriend no longer wished to stay there, but when we left, stating that the room was smelly and dirty the same lady acted as though I trashed the room and was trying to say it was like that when I got there. So without a refund for my nasty 2hr visit, I left. I was so terribly offended I will never go back and hope nobody else does either.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stay at this fine motel quite a bit. The front desk staff is awesome, they make you feel like one of the family and are always ready to "chat" with you and take an interest in what you are there for.

The location is pretty good too, near some nice restaurants, easy access to the Interstate, and not too far from shopping.

The grounds are kept very nicely. In front of every room, you will see either a lovely Blue Spruce or a huge Rhododendron. The architecture is really Northwest, has a mansard roof and wood siding, I would say it is the prettiest motel in the entire area.

I would recommend it to anyone who wants a nice, clean place to stay and also wants to be treated as a valuable human being.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We needed first floor unit- all they had was a 1 bedroom unit- the desk person let us have it for $1 more than a regular room-- the regular rate was $69 - If we ever need to stay in Yakima again- we would go to the same place and get the one bedroom unit- we loved it

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun Country Inn Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Country Inn Yakima

Address: 1700 North First Street, Yakima, WA 98901
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sun Country Inn Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Country Inn Yakima Hotel Yakima
Sun Country Hotel Yakima
Country Inn Yakima
Yakima Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Country Inn Yakima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.