We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Motel staff in Yakima” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Country Inn Yakima

Save Saved
You added Sun Country Inn Yakima to your Saves list
Sun Country Inn Yakima
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun Country Inn Yakima
1700 North First Street, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendliest Motel staff in Yakima”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stay at this fine motel quite a bit. The front desk staff is awesome, they make you feel like one of the family and are always ready to "chat" with you and take an interest in what you are there for.

The location is pretty good too, near some nice restaurants, easy access to the Interstate, and not too far from shopping.

The grounds are kept very nicely. In front of every room, you will see either a lovely Blue Spruce or a huge Rhododendron. The architecture is really Northwest, has a mansard roof and wood siding, I would say it is the prettiest motel in the entire area.

I would recommend it to anyone who wants a nice, clean place to stay and also wants to be treated as a valuable human being.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
6
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We needed first floor unit- all they had was a 1 bedroom unit- the desk person let us have it for $1 more than a regular room-- the regular rate was $69 - If we ever need to stay in Yakima again- we would go to the same place and get the one bedroom unit- we loved it

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevue
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Having followed the urging of our son's soccer team parent to reserve at the same facility where others were staying, we reserve our family's 2-night state at Sun Country Inn. Unfamiliar with the area but knowing that since a youth soccer tournament was going to be in town for the weekend where availability might be limited, I asked about the pricing. I was told that the group rate was set with a surcharge to cover the added demands of the team. Again, not familiar with the process, I was forced to accept the arrangement. As it turned out, upon checking into their rooms, must families found them substandard and opted to find alternate arrangements and, in fact, did. Although we opted to stay, upon check out when challenged the surcharge when, as it turned out, we weren't part of a group. Regardless, since they claimed that they had to pay a commission on our expense they still needed to charge it. We will never stay in this facility again and will be smarter when arranging lodging with the team. The 2nd night was outrageously noisy, due to kids using the pool beyond operating hours.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Nicely convenient near the highway, clean room, pool, exercise room (small but it's there!) and VERY nice staff. When I explained I was exhausted after a day of meetings and needed to crash the nice woman at the desk offered me 2 keys to go see the rooms - I didn't even ask for that - and thought was a nice touch. Add in a good-sized breakfast (hard-boiled eggs, fruit, and lots of carbo options) this is an excellent choice for a solid traveler or budget traveler. Stay here - highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Went to Yakima for a Soccer tournament. Seems lots of tournaments going on and alot of hotels were full. Ended up booking at the Sun Country Inn (usually do Best Westerns or Courtyards). Yes, the hotel is on the older side. Yes, its not a Hilton or Embassy Suites. However, the staff were very friendly. The place was well taken care of. The rooms were clean. The beds were comforatable. And, being that it was full of sports kids, it was pretty quiet. I didn't use the pool, but my kids did and said it was nice. The breakfast was actually pretty good...a lot better than the usual free breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Although I was worried after reading some of the older review, I liked the price. We showed up and the the Front Desk Clerk was super friendly and quickly checked us in. While the rooms are obviously older, ours was bright and clean. The room had minifridge, microwave and hairdryer. The bed was very comfortable and when I requested extra pillows they are supplied right away. The shower was great also, lots of pressure and good spray pattern, and the hot water was almost instant and always available. The breakfast was good considering it was free, boiled eggs, frest fruit, bagles, bread, muffins, 4 kinds cereal, milk juice coffee and tea.
I highly recommend it and will stay there again next time I go to Yakima. It was next to a Best Western and the only difference in the BW had coffee makers in the room and Sun Country Inn was less than half the price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

If you're looking for no frills and just plain comfortable and clean rooms, this is the place. They have affordable prices and you really get your money's worth. They offer free internet, breakfast, and evening snacks. And the 24 hour front desk, always has someone available ready to help. Very friendly staff!

Our familiy definitely plan on coming back here again soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun Country Inn Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Country Inn Yakima

Address: 1700 North First Street, Yakima, WA 98901
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sun Country Inn Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Country Inn Yakima Hotel Yakima
Sun Country Hotel Yakima
Country Inn Yakima
Yakima Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Country Inn Yakima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.