We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing some age but still a nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Inn Yakima

Save Saved
You added Oxford Inn Yakima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oxford Inn Yakima
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1603 E Yakima Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off - Book Direct
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
South Weber, Utah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Showing some age but still a nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our third stay in about 10 years. It is holding up okay but is starting to age. The ice machine by our room was broken but there was one very close, the AC was a bit noisy.

We didn't leave as much of a tip as normal because there was quite a bit of hair in the tub and on the floor. The room itself was clean and as pet owners we are not overly picky about stuff like that but it did impact the tip and I used tissue to get the hair up. I have a lot of hair and I know it's sometimes hard to get every single one when you are cleaning but this wasn't one, it was several.

The staff is nice and gave us a room on the top floor that we had requested for the best views of the river. Take your binoculars, there are a lot of birds and we saw a deer across the river. Bring your walking shoes and enjoy the biking path that runs behind the hotel by the river.

This is convenient enough I will stay here again but I do hope they are paying attention and do some fine tuning.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Inn Yakima, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We appreciate your feedback and offer our sincerest apologies. Please do not hesitate to contact the front desk if you find your room needing attention. We are more than happy to correct the problem. Thank you again and we look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    88
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
58
71
7
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 10 nights at the Oxford Inn, Yakima. We were in town to visit family nearby. Enjoyed our stay, staff friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed the balcony overlooking the river and walkway. Breakfast was fine, the same everyday. The outdoor pool water was too cold to swim, but we used the hot tub. Appreciated the big bowl of Yakima apples all day. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Location is convenient. We will stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I were traveling to drop off our daughter and her friend at the Sasquatch music festival, so needed accommodation near The Gorge Amphitheater. The Oxford Inn had just what we needed: two adjoining rooms overlooking the Yakima River, with a gym and pool, a running path right outside, all at a reasonable price.

We found the evening and morning staff on the desk to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel is far from new, but the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and everything works. The breakfast was about average for a chain hotel.

All of the rooms face the river, not the highway, and are very quiet. We had a 3rd floor room and left the patio door open at night so we could get some fresh air and hear the river.

We would certainly return to the Oxford on our next trip to Yakima.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This isnt a 4 star hotel, but if you are in Yakima this was a nice place for the price. I was so unexpectedly surprised by this older, smaller hotel right off of 82. The rooms are small but each one has a nice view of the river and great trail to run. The rooms are clean and the breakfast was just enough. I was here for a basketball tournament so lots of boys meant lots of noise, but the staff shut it all down promptly at 10:00. Plus, you can get anywhere from here. Two restaurants within steps (OK one was Burger King). The only negative was that the elevator was slow, but it is only 4 stories so walking up was easy. And maybe all those boys pushing buttons didn't help!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

For the price (we paid about $78 per night), this hotel is hard to beat. It's located about 3 minute drive away from downtown Yakima, with easy access to I-82. Even better, it's located on the Yakima River right by the Yakima Greenway trail which you can use to bike or walk for miles. The building is sensibly built so that all rooms face the water rather than the parking lot. Though it's right by the freeway, the rooms are quiet, though the freeway noise out on the balcony can get a bit much after a while.

The room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast had a decent number of options. For some reason, the maid service didn't make our beds, but did replace the towels. I figured it was an oversight, but since we only stayed a couple of nights, didn't have a chance to see if that was the case.

We would definitely stay again at the Oxford Inn next time we're in Yakima.

Room Tip: This hotel is pet friendly, so we requested a room on the 3rd floor to avoid being next to a potenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were in town for a drill/dance team competition the weekend of March 21-22. It is an older hotel which looked like it was undergoing renovation - signs of carpet installation in theparking lot, a contractor on site, and some remodeling equipment noise one of the days,

We got a room on the third floor. First thing we noticed is the 'smoke' smell in the hallway upstairs. Like as if it was residual smell from people smoking embedded in the carpet. One thing we were relieved to know is, the room wasn't facing the busy street where there are fast foodplaces, a car dealership and a Walmart in the the immediate vicinity. The front facade is the outer wall of the hallway. All rooms face the river where there is a paved walk along the river greenway which we took a stroll on one morning. It was a nice contrast to the busy traffic interchange next to the hotel. Although the road was noisy, the room amazingly was quiet. Our room was a single queen with nice bedding and comfortable mattress, new carpet ??(new smell odor still present) with a sink vanity in the room and a separate bathroom. There is also a little frig under the sink. We did notice that the walls were a tad thin as we could hear the next room's TV when we were about to go to sleep, but not enough to keep us from going to sleep. The room's heater (older style) fan also made a bit of noise when on. Something we also heard from the next room as well.

The hotel staff is very helpful and cheerful. It also offers a complimentary hot breakfast buffet with make your own belgian waffles, the featured item. The fresh biscuits and sausage gravy are also delicious. Nice variety of other cold items i.e. bagels, yogurts, boiled eggs,canned fruit, juices and of course, coffee and tea.

We felt that the $99/night was a bit high as the facilities seemed rather basic and older.
If it weren't for the breakfast and good customer service, we probably would have stayed elsewhere. Another note - this hotel seems to cater to business travelers (quite a few staying there) rather than families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a no nonsense hotel. The price was very reasonable with beautiful view of the raging river. We had a large king bedroom with flat screen tv, refrigerator and microwave. The wi-fi was free. The bed was very comfortable with cushy pillows. We had free breakfast (waffles, biscuits and gravy, pastries, fruit...) The services were great and everyone was friendly and helpful. We will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for an ADA room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Inn Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Inn Yakima

Address: 1603 E Yakima Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Yakima
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yakima
#3 Family Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oxford Inn Yakima 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Overlooking the Yakima River, enjoy easy access to Downtown Yakima and the Yakima Greenway Trail. We are pet friendly! Complimentary amenities include Breakfast Buffet featuring Belgian Waffles, High Speed WiFi, Parking, Outdoor Pool & Spa, and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Oxford Inn Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Yakima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Inn Yakima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.