We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny but Happily Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Inn Yakima

Save Saved
You added Oxford Inn Yakima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oxford Inn Yakima
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1603 E Yakima Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off - Book Direct
Ranked #4 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tiny but Happily Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This isnt a 4 star hotel, but if you are in Yakima this was a nice place for the price. I was so unexpectedly surprised by this older, smaller hotel right off of 82. The rooms are small but each one has a nice view of the river and great trail to run. The rooms are clean and the breakfast was just enough. I was here for a basketball tournament so lots of boys meant lots of noise, but the staff shut it all down promptly at 10:00. Plus, you can get anywhere from here. Two restaurants within steps (OK one was Burger King). The only negative was that the elevator was slow, but it is only 4 stories so walking up was easy. And maybe all those boys pushing buttons didn't help!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    68
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
46
61
5
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

For the price (we paid about $78 per night), this hotel is hard to beat. It's located about 3 minute drive away from downtown Yakima, with easy access to I-82. Even better, it's located on the Yakima River right by the Yakima Greenway trail which you can use to bike or walk for miles. The building is sensibly built so that all rooms face the water rather than the parking lot. Though it's right by the freeway, the rooms are quiet, though the freeway noise out on the balcony can get a bit much after a while.

The room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast had a decent number of options. For some reason, the maid service didn't make our beds, but did replace the towels. I figured it was an oversight, but since we only stayed a couple of nights, didn't have a chance to see if that was the case.

We would definitely stay again at the Oxford Inn next time we're in Yakima.

Room Tip: This hotel is pet friendly, so we requested a room on the 3rd floor to avoid being next to a potenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were in town for a drill/dance team competition the weekend of March 21-22. It is an older hotel which looked like it was undergoing renovation - signs of carpet installation in theparking lot, a contractor on site, and some remodeling equipment noise one of the days,

We got a room on the third floor. First thing we noticed is the 'smoke' smell in the hallway upstairs. Like as if it was residual smell from people smoking embedded in the carpet. One thing we were relieved to know is, the room wasn't facing the busy street where there are fast foodplaces, a car dealership and a Walmart in the the immediate vicinity. The front facade is the outer wall of the hallway. All rooms face the river where there is a paved walk along the river greenway which we took a stroll on one morning. It was a nice contrast to the busy traffic interchange next to the hotel. Although the road was noisy, the room amazingly was quiet. Our room was a single queen with nice bedding and comfortable mattress, new carpet ??(new smell odor still present) with a sink vanity in the room and a separate bathroom. There is also a little frig under the sink. We did notice that the walls were a tad thin as we could hear the next room's TV when we were about to go to sleep, but not enough to keep us from going to sleep. The room's heater (older style) fan also made a bit of noise when on. Something we also heard from the next room as well.

The hotel staff is very helpful and cheerful. It also offers a complimentary hot breakfast buffet with make your own belgian waffles, the featured item. The fresh biscuits and sausage gravy are also delicious. Nice variety of other cold items i.e. bagels, yogurts, boiled eggs,canned fruit, juices and of course, coffee and tea.

We felt that the $99/night was a bit high as the facilities seemed rather basic and older.
If it weren't for the breakfast and good customer service, we probably would have stayed elsewhere. Another note - this hotel seems to cater to business travelers (quite a few staying there) rather than families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a no nonsense hotel. The price was very reasonable with beautiful view of the raging river. We had a large king bedroom with flat screen tv, refrigerator and microwave. The wi-fi was free. The bed was very comfortable with cushy pillows. We had free breakfast (waffles, biscuits and gravy, pastries, fruit...) The services were great and everyone was friendly and helpful. We will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for an ADA room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The public restroom was dirty. The bedding was also dirty. The rooms are dated but the view of the river is nice. The location is also centrally located and right by the highway without being able to hear road noise.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Inn Yakima, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your observations. We are quite concerned with your comments and would like to follow up with you. We are truly sorry and hope to convey our apologies directly. Can you please contact our General Manager, Christina Barnes, at 800-521-3050 as soon as possible? Because we service our hotel daily, we would like to better understand your comments, especially regarding the linens. We would encourage our guests to alert us immediately should our facilities or amenities be in need of attention, so as to allow us the opportunity to solve any problems quickly. Again, we apologize and hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I travel quite a bit and $105 (before taxes) for this location I think was too much. Probably increased due to lots of goings on last weekend in the town, I still think the price was too high for the property. There are many options in Yakima, consider your needs when choosing a hotel.

Yes it is pet friendly but be prepared to pay $25 per animal plus taxes on that! Yes there is a refrigerator but our was set to thaw and was leaking on the floor when we checked in. The bathroom smelled musty and the liquid soap was not that great for soaping up. Parking spots were very narrow and any larger car spanned from line to line leaving no room to open a door without dinging or getting dinged.
The floors and walls are thin unless we had gymnasts above our room who were practicing and the man next door was a smoker and I could smell it in our room. Hot tub was not working and available for use.

The positives were a decent breakfast and easy to find right off the highway on Yakima Ave. The river and walking trail are right behind the building. Very easy access and very nicely maintained.

I feel this property is overpriced for what you get compared to what else is around. The location and pet welcome treats are not enough to justify it for me. I would not go so far as to say it is a place to avoid...just that there are other options to look into.

Room Tip: I would look for a higher floor so not to get anyone above you stomping around. I would check to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was recently on vacation and stopped by Yakima, WA with my two daughters and we stayed at Oxford Inn where the front desk guy name Tony was very nice and gave good recommendations of where to eat at. Anyhow, the Oxford in is very clean and welcoming! I loved the nice breakfast that they offer you in the mornings! I think this is a wonderful place to stay at if you are one that appreciates good customer service and a cozy clean room! Thank you!

Room Tip: We had a nice quiet room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oxford Inn Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Inn Yakima

Address: 1603 E Yakima Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Yakima
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yakima
#5 Family Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oxford Inn Yakima 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Overlooking the Yakima River, enjoy easy access to Downtown Yakima and the Yakima Greenway Trail. We are pet friendly! Complimentary amenities include Breakfast Buffet featuring Belgian Waffles, High Speed WiFi, Parking, Outdoor Pool & Spa, and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Oxford Inn Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Yakima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Inn Yakima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.