We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS PLACE NEEDS AN UPDATE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Inn Yakima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oxford Inn Yakima to your Saves list
Oxford Inn Yakima
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1603 E Yakima Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - Save 10%
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“THIS PLACE NEEDS AN UPDATE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed in room 150, it was on the first floor (wood floors in our room) at the end of the building - good room location, close enough to the ice-maker, which is very loud (Rm. 139) and easy parking lot access. All the rooms have sliding glass doors (our screen door was broken/bent and hard to slide) to a patio/balcony (enjoy the yard and pool access and stay on the 1st floor if you have kids). This hotel would be so much better if they replaced the old school drapes, mirrors, shower curtains, etc -- which I think they MIGHT be in the process of.... the hallway carpet was so gross that it left a bad taste in my mouth and gives the hotel a bit of a "smell". The landscaping leaves a lot to be desired and if you want privacy on your back patio, get a room on an upper floor b/c there is no separation on the first level, but no one was out when we were (every morning from 7:30 - 9). My kids enjoyed the pool but said the pool drain was really dirty - gross, and the lounge chairs were uncomfortable. The smoke alarms went off in the hall at 5am one morning - not a nice way to wake up -- no apologies or compensations were offered. The breakfast was okay and the service staff left something to be desired -cranky at night, nice in the daytime. I'm not saying it is a bad option, just don't expect too much!

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor if you want access to the back yard. Stay upstairs if you want more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Inn Yakima, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and will follow up with our team on the specific issues you addressed. You are correct that we are in the process of making some improvements. Should you visit Yakima again in the future, you may find that you would be more comfortable at our sister hotel, the Oxford Suites Yakima, which is a 3 diamond hotel with the corresponding levels of amenities. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to have another opportunity to serve your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    106
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
73
77
9
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is the fifth year of staying here as it has become our favorite place to stay.
We have had to make adaptations for my Mom and Dad as the only ADA rooms (four with King Beds) are not with a joining room. Love the fact we are so close to the Yakima River as they have given us the same rooms we know the view! Thank you for the great food for breakfast.
The pool and hot tub are the extras.
Daily paper keeps one informed.
Love to go and visit the breweries and wineries in the area.
This month we are going for three days as my Great Aunt is turning 101!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the Yakima River and the restaurants are minutes away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

OK, Yakima may not be as great as the signs say, but we have been staying at the Oxford Inn annually for many years. It could use some updating to the hotel itself and to the breakfast but it's still a good value and the staff are always friendly and helpful. Nice location overlooking the river and walking path. You do get some small flying biting bugs in this area (and if you leave your screen door open, you may get some in the room as one reviewer noted), but I think they are more in the grass between the hotel and walking path than in the hotel itself. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We did not enjoy our stay at all. Our room was totally infested with bugs from the river and it was so gross. We were unable to sleep and I have never seen so many bugs in a hotel room before. The location on the river is nice but if it attracts all of those bugs, then forget it! The pool is the only nice thing about the hotel. Breakfast is weak. Location is easy access to downtown. But did I mention that the room had bugs???? We will never return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Inn Yakima, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are always willing to move our guests to a different room, when available, if they have any concerns or are unhappy in any way. But we realize that can cause some disruption and, therefore, understood when you chose not to move rooms. Being by the beautiful Yakima River has many other benefits, including the quiet atmosphere and sweet sounds of the moving water, which can be heard or viewed through our screened windows. We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay. Thanks again for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, WA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

While the rooms do need some updating, the location and value trump any other shortcomings. The hotel backs the Yakima River and Greenway with walking paths and parks, excellent for morning jogs or evening strolls. The hotel is located within walking distance of the Yakima Convention Center (caution: I like long walks). The hotel was quiet, especially during mid-week. Room rates were also $30-$80 less per night than other hotels in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a great hotel in Yakima. It is one of very few that have an outdoor pool and hot-tub. While somewhat small the entire deck and pool area were very clean! The pics look like the hotel is very orange and dated on the outside and while it is in the tan family it is not bright orange and the inside is clean and well appointed. Every staff member was professional, courteous and genuinely interested in a good experience. Room was great too.

Room Tip: bed was adequately comfortable and the linens and bedspread are cotton and NOT cheap polyester!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

The front desk staff was very friendly and professional. She was helpful in anticipating my needs and ensuring that I was satisfied before sending me off to my room. The bed was surprisingly comfortable. Even more so than higher end hotels I've stayed at in the past. I didn't get a chance to enjoy the hot breakfast, but it looked and smelled wonderful! Oh - and very important to me as well - the shower had excellent water pressure.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Inn Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Inn Yakima

Address: 1603 E Yakima Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yakima
#4 Family Hotel in Yakima
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oxford Inn Yakima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Overlooking the Yakima River, enjoy easy access to Downtown Yakima and the Yakima Greenway Trail. We are pet friendly! Complimentary amenities include Breakfast Buffet featuring Belgian Waffles, High Speed WiFi, Parking, Outdoor Pool & Spa, and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oxford Inn Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Yakima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Inn Yakima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.