We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville
Woodinville, WA
425-483-7129
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 96 Restaurants in Woodinville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NE 145th St.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“High Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Visited another branch of this eatery in less than a week. That in in itself speaks about how good this place is.

On this lunch visit, we both had meal sized salads consisting of fresh locally raised greens. My salad was topped with sliced steak and my wife's had hers with grilled salmon. Both were done perfectly and mixed greens were crisp and fresh.

Iced Tea glasses were never emptied as servers were always attentive and friendly.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    74
    17
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I loved this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was my first time to Purple. We went to dinner here before the Jeff Bridges concert at the Chateau Michelle Winery. We had 2 amazing appetizers , clams and a shrimp dish then we shared the chop chop salad and the chicken sandwich! It was all done beautifully and we all were satisfied! I can hardly wait to visit the one in downtown Seattle next week!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the $100 tab for two”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Just came back from dinner and decided it wasn't worth the $100 we spent. We waited about a half hour until our wine flight got served, and the entre was served immediately after that. No time to enjoy a few sips before the meal. Chicken salad was mostly apples. Chicken Marsala was dry. Was expecting a better experience for such a highly rated place.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“This is the other "celebration spot" for us in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

It's busy, it's noisy, it's not very expensive for good food, and the wine list is what it's all about. It's "Purple" for a reason, they specialize in wines, especially red wines. There have been a few times that the service has been slow, but it's been due to pure workload.

I've had one 'not quite right' desert in maybe 20 trips there. Everything else is spot on, and try out the tomato soup. No kidding. Try the appetizers, too.

Portions are on the light side, but not by any means tiny.

I dinged the "atmosphere" for "loud".

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forchheim, Germany
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Disappointing wine flights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Last night we visited this Café in a small roadside strip mall. They had heaters on so we could sit outside. The place was busy but our waitress was on the spot. We ordered from their cheese board and liked most of them. Also we tried a flight of 4 local white wines they offer and another one with 4 reds. Don´t know why they selected those wines. There was only a Sauvignon Blanc I could agree with. All the other ones were pretty flat wines with no distinct character. We asked the waitress and she said they leave the bottles open only for a maximum of 2 days. Strange!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville also viewed

 

Been to Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.