We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past Its Prime - Feels Very Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Willows Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Willows Lodge to your Saves list
Willows Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   14580 NE 145th St, Woodinville, WA 98072   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodinville
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Past Its Prime - Feels Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed at the Willows a few weeks after it first opened in 2001, and boy it's showing its age now after almost no updates in 13 years. In fact, it feels quite average. The staff is great still, but the facilities tired. The most noticeable, and arguably easy (and therefore perplexing) area where the hotel is showing its age is with the bedding. The mattresses are saggy, wiggly and in desperate need of replacement. The pillows -- 2 feather (standard size, not king) and 3 poly (but odd big squares) were terrible; the 2 small (not king even tho a king room) were flat, lumpy and ready for the garbage bin. I asked for 2 additional pillows, and got 2 lumpy poly standard pillows. I had such a bad night sleep the first night that I asked for a room with a newer mattress. The staff, while very obliging and eager to please, asserted they had no idea of the age of the mattresses, but would find me a new room. I asserted that I didn't want to move for the sake of moving if all the beds were indeed the same age/condition. After inspecting a few additional rooms, I realized they were indeed all the same. Even after adding a board under the mattress, I had another terrible night and checked out a few days earlier than planned that next a.m.

Some other rather mid-grade items included: Starbucks coffee in decanters in the lobby in the a.m. - while complimentary coffee is a nice touch, surely they could find a local roaster/organic brew that would be a bit more interesting than Starbucks. The shower, while novel in 2001 (digital temp) is now more annoying than anything -- the shower head is in the corner nearest the shower-door/curtain-free opening which forces you to stand almost at the opening with one should on the wall to get under the stream (not to mention water goes all over the bathroom). The carpets in the room were frayed and soiled, and the upholstered chair just seemed sad.

All in all felt very much like a mid-grade Marriott experience with 5-star staff. Certainly not worth the rates they're charging in my opinion.

There are other far more luxurious places around that deliver better value, and more comfort. The Woodmark and Heathman are the 2 I will pick over the Willows until I hear they've renovated and then I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Willows Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Zim_Travlin_Guy -

Thank you so very much for your return visit! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We also appreciate the compliments to the team who are the most important element of creating the experience that we aspire to at the lodge.

Thank you for the candid comments on the facility. The Lodge has been a favorite getaway for 13 years now and some areas are well loved and therefore being updated as we speak including the recent completion of new Lobby Bar, refreshed carpets, and more updates coming all the time.

Bedding is very personal choice and although we have very fresh high end beds that overall receive amazing feedback we clearly did not meet your requests on this front. I have made notes in your history for us find you the right fit upon you next stay. I will personally look into the rooms that you visited to ensure that is we do have a challenge it will be resolved.

Warm regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    74
    32
    14
    6
See reviews for
33
343
18
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

At check in we were told we were getting an upgraded room. This is not our first time at Willows Lodge so we were expecting something even nicer than our previous stays. Unfortunately, their was a huge recycle container outside of our sliding door causing us to keep our curtains closed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Willows Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello Nancy M - Thank you so very much for your return visit to the Lodge. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time enough to return.

The room you stayed in is an upgraded room with the added feature of the jetted tub ( all rooms have tubs this one has the jetted tub) and normally a very nice look at our grounds. You are however very correct that we should have handled this room differently while we have a temporary dumpster parked there to help us upgrade our carpet and kitchen. Thank you for reminder of this and it will help us improve.

We look forward to your next return.

Warm regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sitka, ak
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here for two nights and there was absolutely nothing to complain about. Service was great, room inbelievable, everything was perfect. If I am ever in the area again I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Willows Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
lsledweler -

Thank you for the great review and for staying at Willows Lodge. We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at Willows lodge for a little overnight getaway and found it to be one of the best vacations we have taken. The rooms were fantastic, the service was amazing, and the food was to die for. We also took a wine tour with Andrew and Ben, and I would go back just for that! We had such a great time, and great company, and loved getting to meet the venders and taste great wine. The spa was also wonderful, one of the best massages we got. It was a little difficult making an appointment, but after finally getting in, I can see why they are so overbooked. If you plan on getting any spa treatments I would try to make them as early in advance as you can. Otherwise great food, great people, great trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Willows Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello Nicole B -

Thank you so much for the nice words about the Lodge, the team, spa and your time here. We look forward to welcoming you back and appreciate that you took the time to share with the Trip Advisor community.

Best,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This has to be one of the best hotels I have been to. The rooms are heavenly, service is great and they welcome you with hot cider, at least in the wintertime. Next time I want to try thier spa, I am definitely going back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Willows Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Tenlee B -

I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your time and we agree it is beautiful place. ( We are of course totally bias though)

We will look forward to hearing about your next visit and your first trip to our spa!
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed while traveilng for business - overall the lodge itself is a little old and needing a renovation. Bathrooms seem like they would have been very modern in 1997. But the fireplaces in the rooms are nice and the hot tub at the spa is great.

What really makes the place awesome is the restaurants. The Barking Frog for breakfast and for dinner was fabulous - just delicious with excellent wine. I'd recommend at least eating here even if you stay elsewhere. The vibe here is definitely not a total leisure hotel - more of a mix. Also found the service to be a little forced at times - nice to the point of being pretty fake.

Had the worst massage of my life here, let the hotel know both at check out and in an email afterwords and they did nothing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Willows Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Lubecm - Thank you so much for staying at the lodge and for the very kind words about the Barking Frog and Fireside. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience in the spa and your opinion that we could use a renovation.

A massage is a very personal experience and preference driven. We have a team that does an amazing job overall of catering to individual needs, clearly we missed the mark in your case. For that I apologize.

We maintain this facility to the highest of standards and the rustic luxury is part of the charm of the lodge. As we do daily we will take a very hard look at the room you were you stayed to make sure that it receives any TLC that is needed.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My significant other and I spent the weekend of February 8th - 9th at Willows Lodge for a relaxing getaway
and had a wonderful time. We went on the wine tour on Saturday and can't say enough great things about Andrew. He was knowledgeable, friendly, had a great sense of humor and did a great job of making sure we all had a great time. Thanks Andrew!! The room was comfortable and the room service food excellent. All the staff members we encountered were helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Willows Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Eliza M -

Thank you and your significant other for joining us at the lodge. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on "Wineventure" with Andrew and had the chance to see a different and unique side Woodinville Wine country. Please do return and thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip advisor community.

Warm regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willows Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willows Lodge

Address: 14580 NE 145th St, Woodinville, WA 98072
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Woodinville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodinville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Willows Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willows Lodge is an 84-room Pacific Northwest-style lodge located in the heart of Woodinville Wine Country. There are over 100 wineries and tasting rooms in close proximity to the lodge, with over 30 of them within walking distance. Willows Lodge is home to two highly-acclaimed restaurants. Its own Barking Frog restaurant features American cuisine with Pacific Northwest influences and is open for breakfast and lunch Monday-Friday, brunch Saturday-Sunday, and dinner seven nights a week. The 5-diamond, Herbfarm Restaurant, features a 9-course wine paired menu Thursday-Sunday evenings. The lively lobby bar, Fireside, opens at 4pm daily and features live entertainment Thursday-Sunday evenings. The award-winning Spa at Willows Lodge features an outdoor relaxation pool, indoor steam room and an array of treatments including facials, massage, body and nail treatments. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Willows Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willows Hotel Woodinville
Willows Resort Woodinville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willows Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.