We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing after Scenic Mountain Drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chewuch Inn and Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winthrop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chewuch Inn and Cabins
223 White Avenue, Winthrop, WA 98862   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Winthrop B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
“Relaxing after Scenic Mountain Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Chewuch Inn offered us a perfectly relaxing, quiet evening after an all-day scenic drive with frequent stops along the North Cascades Hwy to take in the snowy peaks under picture-perfect blue skies.
The dining room's pleasant rustic decor and nice breakfast was what I best remembered from our first trip when we enjoyed one of ther cabins. This time we stayed in one of the spacious guest room where we appreciated their selection of free movies to watch on the large screen TV. We very much enjoyed sitting on the balcony, taking in the frequent visits to the feeder of a rufus hummingbird and looking out onto their garden (another great spot to sit and enjoy the evening). We didn't have enough time to enjoy their hot tub this time around but we certainly did on our first trip. We're sure to stop there again when we plan our next scenic North Cascades drive. The only things I missed in the guestroom was a microwave and a small fridge. Maybe next time they'll have those installed as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    37
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
133
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Cabins a great and the rooms are good as well but smaller, but that didn't bother us as we were out exploring the beauty of the methow valley most of our days there. Comes with an awesome breakfast each morning with quality baked goods, quiche, homemade granola, etc. Good hot tub to soak in. Nice DVD and huge old school VHS collection. Close to Winthrop and thus you can head out the door across the newly created pedestrian foot bridge across the Methow river to get to dwtn. Owners very knowledgeable about local spots to explore for hiking, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I agree with previous responses--I have never filled out a review because I have never been this impressed before--what a lovely, comfortable, well taken care of place--we only spent one night but will for sure be back--the minute we checked in Dan spent time giving us wonderful information on Winthrop and the history of the town and the highways- he gave us great recommendations on where to eat and what to see--Had a great breakfast and this time we spent talking to Sally and finding out more about the area--they both were very friendly and welcoming!!! We stayed in the dancing bears room which was a queen with a fireplace-the bed was so comfortable--sheets so soft and cozy-My husband just loved the shower--thank you for a wonderful experience-- oh one more thing we were barely out of town when I received a call stating we left our kindle in the room-we were able to make a quick turn around and pick it up--
thanks again!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What a great place! From the moment we walked in we knew this place was going to be special. We were greeted by the friendliest person and were made to feel right at home. We stayed at the Romantic King Suite and it was lovely. Sally and Dan have done a beautiful job with this property. They are involved in every detail and are so very nice. We plan on coming back and staying here again. We travel all over the United States and are very picky about where we stay so this review is based on our many hotel stays around the country.

Room Tip: Not much traffic and is fairly secluded so any room would be good depending on what size you are loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Not too often am I impressed enough to actually take the time to write a review. My husband and I literally just spent our anniversary weekend at the Chewuch; I mean to say that I haven't even unpacked yet. From the moment upon arrival we were greeted with friendly genuine conversation. This was a breath of fresh air from the schooled etiquette and customer service of the city. We were offered coffee, tea, scones and cookies, which are served fresh all day. The scones deserve special notice, as my husband formed quite a bond with them, leaving a frosted trail wherever he went. Making it to the cabin, we noticed how sweetly manicured each one was. Attention to detail gave this place that special something. Each cabin has it's own name and is strategically placed so that when sitting on the back porch you almost forget that you have neighbors. The kitchen was beautifully stocked with cooking utensils and dishes. We took advantage of sitting on the porch, grilling, sipping coffee and eating scones in the sunshine, all while watching deer munch on grass 10 feet away. Honestly, it couldn't get any better. Well, the next morning it did. Breakfast was heavenly with so much good food to speak of. The owners, Dan and Sally were the perfect hosts. Whether it was giving tips on neat places to see in the area or slipping a local bottle of wine into our room with a personal note; they both made our visit something we will not soon forget. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We've been coming to Methow since 2001 and Chewuch is by far our favorite place to stay. Dan and Sally are fantastic hosts. The rooms are a great value and the breakfast is top notch everyday! Dan can always give fantastic recommendations for recreational activities regardless of the season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good price; clean, comfortable, modern room; free WiFi; several unexpected amenities (e.g. hot chocolate/tea/coffee & cookies available all day, DVDs & books to borrow); very nice short walk (2 blocks?) into town -- better than staying on the noisy main street.

Very nice breakfast included. Great value! Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chewuch Inn and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewuch Inn and Cabins

Address: 223 White Avenue, Winthrop, WA 98862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chewuch Inn & Cabins lies in the beautiful Methow Valley in the town of Winthrop Washington. We offer lodging with a hearty breakfast and an outdoor spa. Cross Country skiing, mountain biking and other outdoor recreation is nearby. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chewuch Inn and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chewuch Inn and Cabins to your Saves list