We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chewuch Inn and Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winthrop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chewuch Inn and Cabins
Save
You added Chewuch Inn and Cabins to your Saves list
223 White Avenue, Winthrop, WA 98862   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Winthrop B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Not too often am I impressed enough to actually take the time to write a review. My husband and I literally just spent our anniversary weekend at the Chewuch; I mean to say that I haven't even unpacked yet. From the moment upon arrival we were greeted with friendly genuine conversation. This was a breath of fresh air from the schooled etiquette and customer service of the city. We were offered coffee, tea, scones and cookies, which are served fresh all day. The scones deserve special notice, as my husband formed quite a bond with them, leaving a frosted trail wherever he went. Making it to the cabin, we noticed how sweetly manicured each one was. Attention to detail gave this place that special something. Each cabin has it's own name and is strategically placed so that when sitting on the back porch you almost forget that you have neighbors. The kitchen was beautifully stocked with cooking utensils and dishes. We took advantage of sitting on the porch, grilling, sipping coffee and eating scones in the sunshine, all while watching deer munch on grass 10 feet away. Honestly, it couldn't get any better. Well, the next morning it did. Breakfast was heavenly with so much good food to speak of. The owners, Dan and Sally were the perfect hosts. Whether it was giving tips on neat places to see in the area or slipping a local bottle of wine into our room with a personal note; they both made our visit something we will not soon forget. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    38
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
151
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We've been coming to Methow since 2001 and Chewuch is by far our favorite place to stay. Dan and Sally are fantastic hosts. The rooms are a great value and the breakfast is top notch everyday! Dan can always give fantastic recommendations for recreational activities regardless of the season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good price; clean, comfortable, modern room; free WiFi; several unexpected amenities (e.g. hot chocolate/tea/coffee & cookies available all day, DVDs & books to borrow); very nice short walk (2 blocks?) into town -- better than staying on the noisy main street.

Very nice breakfast included. Great value! Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights, non-consecutive, during the quiet season. We had stayed here several years ago during the busy season, and this time were delighted to find that all the wonderful things about this inn are just the same as before! Great location, great hot tub under the stars, quiet rooms and one of the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in! The beds and furnishings include lots of antiques and special touches. Although we sadly had to miss the great breakfast the second day, we will look forward to staying here again in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Corral room this time. It is located above the staff quarters, but that is not a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was our 4th time to stay here and as usual it was wonderful. We have stayed in 4 different rooms here and loved them all, and most recently stayed in Corral and it was perfect. The rooms are all clean and cozy, with comfortable beds, flat screen TV's and free wireless internet. Dan and Sally are wonderful hosts, and their staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is delicious, from the homemade granola, quiches/omelets, waffles, and pastries. The homemade granola is my favorite. Depending on the time of year, you can hike, bike, snowshoe or ski, and the walk into town for lunch or dinner is scenic and enjoyable. Thank you Dan and Sally. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend out of town. The whole place is great. From the time you arrive the main lodge is inviting and warm. We stayed in one of the cabins, which are AMAZING. I could have just stayed in the cabin for the weekend. Bed is extremely comfortable, exquisite bath, kitchenette, fireplace and radio with a docking station and free wifi. The breakfasts were one of the highlights also. Dan and Sally do a great job preparing delicious foods for all. If you have dietary needs, let them know, they will do all they can to accommodate. I eat gluten free and there was plenty every day to eat. A must stay location when in the Methow Valley.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Chewuch Inn and we had a wonderful experience! The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious! The rooms were clean, cozy and well kept. The location of the Inn to downtown was also wonderful. We were able to have a nice walk to town in 10 minutes. They also have a very large and up to date selection of DVD's that are free to watch in the rooms. Overall, Chewuch Inn offered us a great stay in a lovely town!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chewuch Inn and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewuch Inn and Cabins

Address: 223 White Avenue, Winthrop, WA 98862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chewuch Inn & Cabins lies in the beautiful Methow Valley in the town of Winthrop Washington on the East slope of the North Cascades Mountains. We offer unique accommodations with a hearty breakfast in a lodge atmosphere. Restaurants and shops an easy walk with Alpine and Cross Country skiing, ice skating, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, mountain biking, hiking, river rafting, horse back riding and plenty of scenic drives. A small mountain town setting with big adventure around every turn! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chewuch Inn and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.