We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful haven in a cowboy town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added River's Edge Resort to your Saves list
River's Edge Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   115 Riverside Avenue / P. O. Box 968, Winthrop, WA 98862   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful haven in a cowboy town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

From the moment we arrived we felt that we were in the right place! The staff were friendly and helpful and we were looking forward to our three bedroom lodge after a very long drive. We were not disappointed!

We were directed to Lodge 19 and were thrilled with it from the moment we opened the front door! It had a very large living area with modern kitchen, large dining table and comfortable seating area.

Downstairs there was a large double and upstairs a twin room and a lovely double on the mezzanine. The décor was very attractive and the whole place immaculately clean.

There were two very large bathrooms, one up and one downstairs. The upstairs one had a large shower and the downstairs one a shower over a bath. It also house the large washing machine and drier which was easy to use and very useful!

Out on your very own deck, overlooking the creek there was a table and benches, a bbq and a large hot tub! There was nothing better than sitting in the hot tub and looking up at the stars while listening to the creek go by!

Because of the open nature of the mezzanine and the large windows to the very top of the apex it was a joy each morning to wake up and open my eyes to look out and see the creek and trees without raising my head from the pillow!

Reception have a selection of dvds that you can borrow for free and they are more than helpful when asking for directions and ideas for trails etc.

We even saw a marmot on the banking opposite on the last morning!

The lodges are right at the end of the main street in Winthrop - a delightful town - and you can walk to shops and restaurants in just a few minutes.

I would happily have stayed there much longer than the 4 nights we stayed. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: The three bedroom lodges are the ones with the decks overlooking the creek. The smaller cosy lodges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    17
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
33
84
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Be sure to get a cabin on the lake with a hot tub! Everything was very nice here. Easy walking distance to lots of shops and places to eat but off the beaten path some. Furnishings were really great and had everything you would need. The bonus was the washer and dryer right in the unit! I can't tell you how much we appreciated doing laundry without having to sit and read a book while waiting for it to complete. Detergent and dryer sheets were even provided! The one and only thing I would change here are the beds. They were not very comfortable. Other than that, everything else was top notch! Thank you!

Room Tip: Get a room on the river with a hot tub on the deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forks
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Unfortunately we only spent one night at this beautiful property. We stayed in cabin #18 which is a 3 bedroom 2 bath cabin. Upon arrival the woman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful recommending a few different places for dinner and breakfast. The cabin was beautifully furnished complete with everything and anything we needed. The main floor sported a king sized bedroom, bathroom with a large shower and washer & dryer. The kitchen and livingroom were very well appointed, spacious and clean. The upstairs had a bedroom with two twin beds another full bathroom and the open "loft "space had a queen sized . There was air conditioning. (And with the temps hovering around 102) we put it to immediate use. The upstairs rooms were a bit stuffy even with the a /c and a ceiling fan but not too bad. We did not use the private hot tub (just too hot outside) but we did sit out on the deck which overlooked the river. We saw wildlife across the river which was fun. This rental property is walking distance to all eateries. I would highly recommend this property. We all decided to go back and spend more than one night next time!

Room Tip: Cabin 18 has a private riverfront deck and hot tub. Very well appointed, clean and spacious. Excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family has stayed here several times on trips to Winthrop. The location could not be better! It's right along the picturesque Chewuch River (our cabin had a balcony overlooking the river). It's sort of near the end fo the main street, which makes it a little quieter than properties right on the main tourist street. Easy walking distance to all the sites (Winthrop isn't that big, after all). The cabin was simply decorated and very comfortable. I am sure we will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We just spent a delightful couple of days at River's Edge this past weekend while in Winthrop for our niece's wedding. We loved the resort: our cabin was spotless and appealing, the staff were unfailingly welcoming and efficient, and the location was superb. I had actually expected to be affected by street noise, as our cabin was one of the smaller units right on the street; but we were completely unaware of any activity or clamor outside, even though our visit fell during the extended Fourth of July weekend. Winthrop is so small that virtually any hotel or resort is going to be well situated; but River's Edge is ideal, being so close to wonderful coffee shops and restaurants, and the enchanting foot bridge across the river. If you are headed to the Methow Valley, put River's Edge at the top of your list.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We just stayed at Rivers Edge 6/21-6/23. It was our anniversary and when we checked in the lady at the front desk(can't remember her name) said she wanted to meet #1. I thought hum. When we got to our cabin there was a sign on the door saying Happy anniversary and inside were flowers and a gift certificate to local restaurant. I guess a friend of ours had called Rivers Edge and they helped coordinate all of the above. Once again we were totally excited about our stay. The employees, the cabin, the river, the hot tub, the weather and of course the town of Winthrop always make our stays comfortable and enjoyable. Thanks again Rivers Edge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I found ourselves in Winthrop, needing a place to stay. We were attracted to River's Edge immediately. The cabins/chalets appeared cozy and well kept and in an incredible setting on a little river running through town.

The cabin was most reasonably priced and upon entering the front door we just couldn't believe our eyes. I travel a lot and I know what you basically get in this price range. The cabin was huge with a tall peaked ceiling in the great room. The entire wall was glass, looking out over a beautiful deck, complete with hot tub, to the river running right past us. Beyond the river was a tall hill, with deer grazing on it!!

The kitchen was better equipped than mine at home. There was a canister full of fresh coffee beside the coffee pot. There was a full and well appointed spice rack on the wall. Honestly, the kitchen was truly amazing.

In the living room were two very comfortable, new looking couches, coffee table and a little propane pot belly type stove. In the corner beside a bookcase full of books and games, was a giant flat screen tv and dvd player.

There were two beautiful bedrooms, one had a queen bed, and the other a king. Both were made of logs, complete with quilted quilts on the beds.

The bathroom was well equipped as was the laundry room. There was a full container of laundry soap, dryer sheets and ironing supplies. Amazing!!!

We immediately got into the hot tub, easy to use, clean and so hot and felt so good!!!

This was one of the best places we have ever stayed. I do believe that my husband and I are going to make this a yearly retreat, staying longer next time! Winthrop is just the most amazing little town to visit too. So much fun and so much to do!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Resort

Address: 115 Riverside Avenue / P. O. Box 968, Winthrop, WA 98862
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River's Edge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to River's Edge Resort, a unique lodging experience, located Downtown in the Old Western town of Winthrop, Washington.Tucked in along the Chewuch River, our One, Two and Three-Bedroom Riverside Chalets feature private, deck hot tubs with river views, well-appointed kitchens, laundry, dining and spacious living rooms with 42" flat-screen televisions.On the same property, but not along the river we offer, One-Bedroom Cozy Cabins featuring private, outdoor hot tubs, kitchenettes, dining and comfortable living rooms with 37" flat-screen televisions.We have been Welcoming guests since 1996 and have made many, many wonderful friends. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, River's Edge Resort hopes to be your first lodging choice when visiting Winthrop, Washington.River's Edge Resort is a 2014 TripAdvisor, "Certificate of Excellence" award recipient ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your River's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Winthrop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Edge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.