We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Cascades Mountain Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winthrop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Cascades Mountain Hostel
209 Castle Avenue, Winthrop, WA 98862   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hostel is the way to go. I had an extended stay and always felt at home. Its location is prime, the kitchen has everything you could ask for, it is always clean, coffee and tea is available daily, and the manager is one of the nicest people you will ever meet. I couldn't have asked for better hospitality and loved meeting all the interesting people who came through. I have stayed at other lodges in Winthrop and will never go back as long as a spot is available in the hostel. I highly recommend this place if you want a guaranteed fun, memorable, and comfortable stay in the valley.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff there are awesome. The place is unique, clean and friendly. You can't beat the location. just a few steps from downtown Winthrop. plenty of entertainment and food. If your looking to go mountain biking there is a bike shop close by too. I would absolutely stay here again. Thanks everybody!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Wa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hostel couldn't be any better than it was. The owners super cool and friendly. The beds were so cozy I didn't want to get up in the morning. The kitchen clean and spacious. The location...one block from the heart beat of town. Nice heavy duty towel and private bathroom/shower. I am so gonna stay here again. If all hostels were this cozy and comfy...no one would ever stay in a motel/hotel again!!

Room Tip: Both rooms seems to be equally comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudreyJo, Owner at North Cascades Mountain Hostel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It was such a pleasure to meet you and have you at the Hostel! Super happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in this neck of the woods again soon! Thank you for the amazing review! Have a great Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

One minute walk to downtown Winthrop, clean and quiet, super friendly owners, great option for budget-minded travelers. The rooms are very comfortable with nice solid bunk beds and two seperate bathrooms with showers. I'll definitely be back again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great owners have done a fantastic job remodelling the place. Very close to town, but quiet. Nice layout with smaller bunk rooms gives a modicum of privacy. Nice kitchen facilities. Definitely the least expensive non-camping option and a fun way to meet people and connect with community events.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudreyJo, Owner at North Cascades Mountain Hostel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Glad you like it! Thanks for the kind words :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I wanted to spend a long weekend in the Methow and my husband couldn't join me. The N Cascades Mountain Hostel to the rescue! Price was very reasonable. The kitchen was big enough to for multiple cooks. Guests were quiet and considerate. (Most were too tired after a day of skiing to stay up late being rowdy!) I will definitely be a repeat customer!

The only thing I wish it had, that was sorely missing in a ski town, was a place to wax my skis, hence the 4-star rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudreyJo, Owner at North Cascades Mountain Hostel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review and comments. We are going to have a bicycle aid station available this summer and ski waxing station available in late fall. Looking forward to having you come through and stay with us again! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Cascades Mountain Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cascades Mountain Hostel

Address: 209 Castle Avenue, Winthrop, WA 98862
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty lodging in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NCMH provides affordable communal accommodation in downtown Winthrop to those seeking adventure in the North Cascades. Offering bunk beds, group/team accommodation, communal kitchens, bathrooms, showers, Free WIFI, and live music--North Cascades Mountain Hostel has something for everyone! Private Cabin accommodations coming soon!! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Cascades Mountain Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added North Cascades Mountain Hostel to your Saves list