We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up, up an away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Glory Balloon Tours

Morning Glory Balloon Tours
960 Hwy 20, Winthrop, WA
509 997-1700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 19 Attractions in Winthrop
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Up, up an away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had signed up for balloon trips before, but always ended up with weather cancellations. We finally got our trip with Kurt and Melinda, and it was worth the wait. We watched the sunrise over the valley on a beautiful, crisp fall morning. We spent a lovely hour plus traveling down the Methow valley, looking at the surrounding rivers and mountains. So calm and glorious. We finished with sparkling wine, homemade goodies, and a toast to our successful flight - all part of the package. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
methow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“This is the BEST way to see Winthrop to Twisp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What did I like about this...... Everything
1) The Views (this area of the North Cascades is a bit of heaven on earth. Seeing things that I'm quite familiar with - from the air - all the usual landmarks look totally different.
2) The sensation of lifting off the ground in the big basket - not like anything I've ever done before.
3) The Pilot - he's the best too...... very friendly AND competent.
We did this with friends the first time (in May) and liked it so much that we took our daughter & son in law (in March).
If you've never gone in a balloon before, don't worry about being too cold - even in March layering kept us plenty warm.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
2 reviews
“Wonderful Balloon Ride over Methow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Kurt, Melinda and crew are experienced and top notch Balloonists. The ride was absolutely awesome over the Methow valley. These people make the trip exciting and easy. They instill great confidence and make the whole trip fun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bucket List MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Even if you are afraid of heights, DO THIS! The feeling of rising up in a balloon is like nothing else in the world. There is no feeling of movement. You move up and up until the land looks like a photograph. Kurt, owner and pilot, has YEARS of flying the valley and is very funny. Melinda, ground crew and wife, inflates the ship, insures a perfect launch and then chases down the balloon to the landing place with a pick up and crazy cross-county skill. The view is undescrib-able. You have to get up early to insure the perfect no-wind air. It is TOTALLY worth it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We arrived early in the morning to find Aeronaut Kurt checking the winds while the balloon was just starting to get filled up. That gave us an opportunity to take pictures and see the balloon up close. The flight itself, seeing the river, the patchwork of farmer's fields and mountains in the background was just gorgeous.

Kurt and Melinda were excellent hosts and the Mimosas, scones and stories after we landed were almost as good as the flight itself. Great time, great people, highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Glory Balloon Tours also viewed

 

Been to Morning Glory Balloon Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Glory Balloon Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.