We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place near the North Cascades” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Run Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added River Run Inn to your Saves list
River Run Inn
27 Rader Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Winthrop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great place near the North Cascades”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The River Run Inn is a lovely place. Our room was comfortable, decorated in a cabin/country style. It had a kitchen and a great view of the river, with deer grazing near the water early in the morning. I with I had a chance to stay longer and would definitely choose to return.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    23
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We just needed a place to stay for one night on our way through Winthrop, and we found the River Run Inn on Google Maps.
We would have liked a 2-queen room, but only a 1-queen plus double pull-out was available. I was very surprised at how roomy it was, and we had plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 kids under 11.
The room was very clean and nicely finished. I loved the quilt on the bed!
The bathroom fixtures looked recently updated. Very nice. Lots of hot water.
The kitchenette was well stocked: mini-fridge, micro, toaster, coffee-maker, plug-in skillet, cutlery, dishes, glasses and dishcloths.
The kids enjoyed the pool. The hot tub was tiny - room for one person, or two if you knew them well!
Behind the rooms, there is a beautiful grassy area that overlooks the river with chairs, hammocks, and a large swing-set .
My only complaint is that the air conditioner was super loud.

Room Tip: There are regular motel-style rooms as well as some cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This place is about 100 yards outside of Winthrop or about 1/2 a mile to the town center. It has an inn and some cabins. We stayed in one of the 1 bedroom cabins and were very comfortable. There's a nice lawn, the river is just past the lawn and, the setting is very relaxing.

We found the whole experience of staying there very easy. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Cabin was clean and cozy. We borrowed a couple of the free DVDs and enjoyed them in the evening and also a board game.

The only issue we had, an a minor one at that, was the mosquitoes. There are screens on the doors and windows, but they aren't the highest quality screens and some have small gaps on the edges. Or it could just be the skeeters got in some other way.

OH yeah, and the swimming pool, while nice, needs a cleaning. It had the equivalent of bath tub scum all around its edge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We wanted a get away with our 6 year old granddaughter. We stayed in one of the cabins. The staff were so friendly. Pool was so relaxing, very clean, quiet, peaceful, Enjoyed seeing the deer around the grounds, I recommend, This was our first overnight to Winthrop and planning to visit River Run again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We have stayed at River Run several times, both in cabins and rooms. This is by far the quietest, most restful, immaculate place we've stayed, and when we have a few days off, our first thought is "River Run"! Rooms are spacious, and the cabins are wonderful (which is our first choice). Everyone who works there has been helpful and courteous, and gone out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We also have a dog, and it's one of the few places around Winthrop that will take dogs, so that's a bonus for us. It's fun to sit in the sun, watch the river--and fall asleep in one of their hammocks! It's just far enough away from the busy town of Winthrop to be quiet, yet close enough to walk to. It's a great place to stay while visiting the area, as it is centrally located. Our favorite time is when the aspens turn, and the touriist season has slowed. We haven't been here in the winter, but it must be beautiful then as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovedog26
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I stayed at the hotel about 5 years ago and remember how immaculate it was so when my sister and I got rained out of camping, I made sure to check on their rates. We had asked for hotel room with kitchenette, but they ran out of hot plates and offered to either buy one from the hardware store OR give us a cabin for the same price-of course we chose the cabin. We can't stop raving what a great stay this was for us-so relaxing, everything was immaculate (like the cabin was brand-new), and there was even a BBQ with charcoal and chimney for us to use! great deck, right on the river, and very spacious and even allowed us to bring our dog for an extra $15/night. all in all, the best cabin i've stayed in with friendly and welcoming customer service. Also a great value for the Methow Valley which has a lot of hit and miss lodging

Room Tip: cabins are amazing but so are the hotel rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

This was our first visit to Winthrop for some late season skiing, and I picked this inn based on reviews from tripadvisor. What a great place! Quiet, cozy, right on the river away from the main road, yet within walking distance to downtown. All rooms and cabins face the river. Our room was super clean, comfortable, and spacious...everything seemed new. There is a large well-kept lawn between the inn and the river..great for relaxing in the sun after a day of skiing. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to River Run Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Inn

Address: 27 Rader Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your River Run Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Run Hotel Winthrop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Run Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.