We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun Mountain is the Grand Lodge for the North Cascades” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sun Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Sun Mountain Lodge
Patterson Lake Road, Winthrop, WA 98862   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Winthrop
Mazama, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sun Mountain is the Grand Lodge for the North Cascades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

First class hotels are as yet lacking around North Cascades National Park, except for Sun Mountain Lodge. This was partly by design, by the NGOs that established this park in "The American Alps." Not wanting over development, which plagues many national parks and ski areas, they even excluded the North Cascades Scenic Highway and most of what was National Forest from the Park itself. The Methow Valley, below Sun Mountain, is the eastern gateway to the park, but its "Early Winters" ski development even excludes lifts, and instead has become the best cross-country ski area on the continent. Its trails are equally used in the summer and the Scenic Highway is actually run by the National Park, even though it's technically a "Recreation Area." High alpine Wilderness Areas on the Forest adjacent to the Park provide the views from the lodge, and the trails surrounding it are run by the Methow Valley Sports Trail Association, which provides the cross-country skiing, and three members of the US Olympic team.

Room Tip: Patterson Lake cabins just below, and run by the Lodge, are handy to both swimming, canoeing, and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    65
    26
    18
    10
See reviews for
60
157
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a great time and plan to go back. Room: we stayed in a standard 2 Q bed room in the main lodge. We took advantage of their three nights for the price of two plus free breakfast Spring special. The room had a large dresser, small table w/two chairs, and a safe, but no TV, micro, or refrigerator. The bathroom was large and had extra touches like a full length mirror and two bathrobes, which we used when we went to the jacuzzi. The large closet easily accommodated our suitcases and large totes. Breakfast: We were able to order any entree of our choice off he menu. Our free breakfast included in the Spring special consisted of our choice of coffee or tea, plus juice, tax and gratuity. My husband had steak and eggs, and I had the oatmeal service. The food was very good, but the sweeping view of the valley was fantastic. We enjoyed watching the swallows, turkey vultures, and Western Tanagers. Amenities: The lodge has a game room with two pool tables, a Foosball table, and paddle tennis. It also had an onsite gallery, fitness room, and reading room w/ a TV (bring your own books unless you enjoy reading textbooks) tennis courts and other extras, We spent our time hiking and relaxing. Kevin in the activity shop recommended a hike that fit our requirements and loaned me a backpack because I forgot mine. There are mosquitoes by Beaver Pond, so bring repellant. The person who recommended the place to me spoke very highly of their horses and horse trails and lake activities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Sun Mountain Lodge was having a great Mother's Day special on lodging with brunch included, which was SO great. The price was so reasonable, they accommodated our early check-in request, and our room had a great balcony with a beautiful view. The customer service was great. We had our 2-year-old son with us, and accommodations were great for him as well. They have a playground, and we went to the horse corral so he could check out the horses. We went on a short hike around Beaver Pond, and spent some time in Winthrop. Our stay was short but there were plenty of activities to keep us busy- no WiFi and no TV did not hinder our ability to enjoy ourselves. I think we ate 3 meals at the lodge facilities, and they were all GREAT.

Room Tip: If you can stay in the Mt. Robinson Lodging, that is the BEST. I've stayed there before and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, WA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I love Sun Mountain Lodge. I've stayed in the Mt. Robinson and Gardner rooms, but my absolute favorite place to stay is in the cabins on Patterson Lake. The cabins are beautiful, comfortable little homes that contain a full kitchen, a separate full-sized dining room, a living room with a river-rock faced gas-burning fireplace, and a separate bedroom. They are beautifully appointed in a rustic theme and since I first stayed in one of these cabins I have never stayed anywhere else on the property. The housekeeping and maintenance staff, Lori and Dave, are the nicest people you'll ever meet, but I didn't expect anything less because of the experiences I've had working with the people at the front desk, reservations, ski shop, gift shop, spa, Wolf Creek Bar and Grill, the restaurant, Group Services, and Sales. This place is comfortable, quiet, and the staff takes good care of you when you need them. I visit here annually and plan to continue doing so for several more years...

There's one odd little thing to note... I don't sleep well, or sometimes not at all it seems, and I can sleep here, in the cabins.

Room Tip: Choose a Patterson Lake cabin if you're traveling with your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I adore this lodge during the snow season, its magnificent setting with magical views in every direction, architecture that expresses the spirit of this magnificent place, warm and friendly fire in the huge fireplace in the lounge. If you love wilderness and want to see art and nature in perfect balance go here. The lodge expresses the spirit of the place exactly, timeless and authentic, and the staff is very helpful and friendly.

The rooms are very comfortable and restful. The dining room has a spectacular view of the valley and sitting there is a moment of grace. The bar next door also is very nice, I find meals at this lodge a bit overrated and overpriced, though, but have paid willingly because of the very special setting. After dark there is not much of the valley view to enjoy, though.

We have been coming here for years, it never disappoints. There are limitless things to do here, both outdoors and in, just glorious.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just spent 3 days here and had a wonderful time. It was my first time Cross country skiing and had a blast. The staff in the ski shop were very helpful and gave us great information about the numerous trails. We were given an upgrade to a room that had a wood burning fireplace in it; very romantic with the fire roaring and the snow falling over the mountains, from our window view. Soaking in the hot tub with snow falling one night, or after skiing looking out across the valley and mountains was a great way to soothe aching muscles.
The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The small fridge was nice to keep beer cold. We ate in the bar and found the food very good; the chicken curry soup was really good. Breakfast was varied and filling. We were sat promptly and every day had a table by the window.
Did not miss tv and there is a TV room and TV in the bar area. The games room and reading room were nice touches.I did not have any problem accessing WiFi from the room, but figured that you are in the mountains, so any service is a bonus.
Would love to come back in the Fall and access the hiking.
My only concern would be the signs to the resort are not lit at night and so are really hard to see. Took us a couple of tries to find it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Beautiful rooms, with an amazing view, very quiet, private and romantic. The food is extremely good, everything, my portions seemed a little small, but allowed for desert. The 2 pools are so nice. Even if your not staying overnight, you have to take to senic drive up to the hotel, take a look or have lunch.

Room Tip: Check out the live web cam online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Mountain Lodge

Address: Patterson Lake Road, Winthrop, WA 98862
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Sun Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Mountain Hotel Winthrop
Sun Mountain Resort
Sun Mountain Winthrop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.