We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine coffee, small but worthy pastry selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocking Horse Bakery

Rocking Horse Bakery
265 Riverside Ave, Winthrop, WA 98862
+1 509-996-4241
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Delectable breads, pastries, Espresso drinks, sandwiches, salads and pizza....Featuring local ingredients, all handcrafted daily in Winthrop's favorite gathering spot!
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fine coffee, small but worthy pastry selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Very nice for a quick morning bite before setting out for activities. Espresso drinks done well. Lunch items available in the morning too if you need to stock up for the day.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    34
    12
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great spot for morning latte and...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This charming, slightly sophisticated bakery/coffee shop was just the thing for breakfast. Great espresso drinks and a fine assortment of fine breakfast pastries another stuff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Stop in here if you are in Winthrop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stopped in to see what we could take back to camp for breakfast in the morning. YUM! I bought almond butterhorns, and I still crave them... I also bought a small to go salad of yams, kale and caramelized red onions in a vinaigrette, which was amazing with the fresh trout from the lake :) the decor in the Rocking Horse is rustic, classy, and comfortable all at the same time. Careful, their coffee is served HOT :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A sweet bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Obviously a favorite with locals and tourists alike, the bakery was very busy the morning we were there. The coffee was great--very fresh and just-right for strength, the cases were filled with amazingly tempting baked goods, and the rooms were filled with happy chatter. My husband loved the breakfast sandwich and I found a perfect scone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“scones and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Bought some lemon poppyseed scones at the bakery and enjoyed them very much. I did not have time for more but the cases with baked goods were full and looked very appetizing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocking Horse Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Rocking Horse Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocking Horse Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.