We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced honor pay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of South Whidbey Island State Park

South Whidbey Island State Park
Smugglers Cove Rd., Whidbey Island, WA
(360) 331-4559 or (888) 226-7688
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Everett, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“over priced honor pay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Over priced honor pay. The state doesn't even take care of the trail but they still want me to donate my $10.00. Over priced honor pay. The state doesn't even take care of the trail but they still want me to donate my $10.00.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeland, Washington, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great camping!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This Washington State park is a truly hidden treasure. You can reserve a campsite above the bluffs overlooking Puget Sound, or choose a site among the old-growth trees of the park. There is a little known trail that you can hike through that takes you too 500+ year-old cedar and fir trees, saved by those "tree-huggers" who chained themselves to the trunks to stop the loggers. The peace and tranquility of the park is just wonderful. And, if you visit Whidbey Island in the winter, when the camping area is closed, you can walk all the roads in such deep peace and quiet that your heart will be renewed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always a Stop...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The park is a must stop place because of the big trees. Haven't been to the park since the pathway to the beach was ruined from a storm. The trek to the beach was always one of our favorite walks. Visitors to Whidbey will enjoy the drive through the park and seeing trees of a former time before the island was logged.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful location even in March”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

the 3 days we were there weather was fair, otherwise it was rainy we were told.
Deception Pass saw log rafts going through with tugs. ther is a sidewalk across the bridge which is 100'+ above the water. not to be missed! Many Bald and golden eagles, also eagle nests, very evident on Cell towers, but also in trees. The 20 minute ferry ride from Mukleteo to the Island is part of the experience. The local muscles are fantastic. I went sailing for an afternoon out of Anacortes on a 40 ' Beneteau Oceanis, great wind, beautiful islands.
From various vantage points on the western shore one can see the olympic mountains. on the eastern shore, the cascades.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing and beautiful View.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The sun was out and the sky was clear making it possible to see a great distance away. It was peaceful and soothing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Whidbey Island State Park also viewed

Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to South Whidbey Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Whidbey Island State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.