We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find another hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 North Wenatchee Ave., Wenatchee, WA 98801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Wenatchee
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Find another hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The location is good, but the hotel is old, run down and smelly. We were there for a conference and some rooms had bugs. The toilet in mine had to be flushed two or three times to empty it. Housekeeping didn't vacuum the room while I was there. The rooms were nonsmoking but my reeked of cigarettes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property! I apologize that you were disappointed with your stay. Although our property is mature, we take pride in providing great service along with clean and comfortable rooms. We appreciate your feedback and are addressing the issues you pointed out with regard to the toilet in your room and the cigarette smell. In addition, we have a routine preventative pest elimination program in place and have not been made aware of any issues. Nevertheless, be assured that we are following up on that situation as well. Thank you again for your comments. We would be delighted to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    88
    62
    27
    14
See reviews for
76
68
16
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a few times. The staff is always nice and pleasant. We left an item in the room after we left and the staff was so cooperative in shipping it back to us. I would like to specifically thank Mike Gonzales for keeping on top of the shipping and keeping me informed when it would get delivered to our house.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property! I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also, for your kind words about our staff, and specifically, Mike Gonzales, who helped you out with an item that was left behind. Please be assured that we have passed along your comments to Mike and the entire staff. We are looking forward to serving you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend while we were "playing around" in Leavenworth. I was very impressed! The room was HUGE! (We had a room with a king bed) It had a balcony that faced the pool and a nice view of the hills. I really liked the "powder room" area (not sure what to call it!) That had a vanity and sink seperate from the bathroom. The bathroom itself had its own sink. The hotel was full when we stayed and it was very very quiet, you would never have known that the building was full. The room had a TV, microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker which are nice touches. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast buffet wasn't spectacular, just average breakfast fare of potatoes, bacon, sausage, eggs, fruit, cereal and several varieties of bread/english muffins. We would definetly stay here again!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Red Lion Hotel in Wenatchee. We truly appreciate your comments and kind words. We were delighted to have you as our guests and look forward to serving you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel has been renovated recently - carpet, paint, wallpaper - but sadly she is showing her age. The doors, door knobs bathroom fixture all show the wrinkles of this old lady. It's been a while since I've seen a TV as old as was in our room. A rounded screen CRT TV in this day and age quite a surprise! We arrived early but they were able to find a clean room for us to check in. The toilet never stopped flushing in the ten minutes that we spent in the room. Rather than waiting for the maintenance person to fix the toilet, we opted for another room. The breakfast buffet at $6.95 was a bad joke - after a quick once over, we opted to go out. Paying for a poor version of the complimentary breakfast available in so many other motels just didn't seem worth it. Next time we are in Wenatchee we will find an other option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property! I apologize that your stay was less than you expected. We sincerely appreciate your comments, and will use this information to improve our product and services for all of our guests.Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We would be delighted to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked the Red Lion in Wenatchee for a central business location and I was asked to book a place with a bar, there are only a couple of options in Wenatchee. My room was fine, I slept fine, and it was quiet, I overlooked the pool which my son would've enjoyed had he been with me. The room does feel dated, and I'm always surprised when I DON'T find a flat screen t.v. in a hotel room. Overall, the room could use a pick me up, as could the hallways.

The front desk staff was nice and courteous, when we got there, there were a few people ahead of us but she moved quickly and got us checked in right away.

We went to a nice dinner, and were going to call a taxi and then the shuttle driver said she was going that way and could drop us off. She said it doesn't always work, but from time to time - we were very appreciative.

The Red Lion bar was okay, a bit dark, we were the only ones in there at first and it felt cavernous with its big dance floor. A few people strolled in which helped make it feel smaller.

I would stay there again, but would also look at rates of some newer properties as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Used to stay at a hotel down the road but, tried the Red Lion tonight and I can say I most likely wont go back to the last hotel. They upgraded me to a courtyard room being a red lion member and it was very quiet and nice view of the pool. Had a bit of a problem with some ants in my room (really) its summer! It was ok but,Called the desk and Maintanence was down quick to take care of the problem. TIM the Maint guy went out of his way to spray my room which I didn't want to leave, and wiped down everything! GREAT JOB TIM. I slept better. No more ants and he also went out of his way to get a new coffee pot, ect and luggage rack. NO maint person has ever gone that far for anything!!! ANYWHERE!! Great JOB TIM!
Also Lynn was Very friendly and outgoing! Will be back to this hotel when in the area again!

Room Tip: Walked around hotel, Its quite big so if you have issues just ask and I'm sure they will accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

It was the last room in town this past Labor Day and we were lucky to find it only a few days prior since there was a cancellation. We ended up with a queen bed with balcony facing parking lot. It was a very quiet room, walls are thicker than some hotels we've been in. The room had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and hair dryer. The shower ceiling had mold but that was the worst obvious clue to age of the room. The other apparent age issue was our electronic door swipe lock broke (coincidently with a few others this last weekend) but the maintenance man was there immediately and it wasn't a huge inconvenience since we were in the pool for a few hours while he fixed it. It did act up again later that night upon returning for dinner, but a quick trip to the front desk for a new card fixed that. And the lobby and hallway decor is dated as well. We were on floor two and unfortunately the ice maker was broken causing a long walk and doing stairs to find another. The queen bed was cushy but our friends that had stayed the night before at Comfort Suites and then at the Red Lion said they loved the their two queen beds much more.
We were there for sun and pool and a cheap quick get away. The pool was semi large and outside. The biggest issue was the lack of shade. Some guests crowded by the fence and used their towels over the backs of their chairs for shade. There was an area outside of the pool area that offered a few tables with umbrellas and we were brave enough to carry one of those with the heavy stand up into the pool area for the first day. Needless to say the next day it was being used when we returned until those guests left. Then we were able to use it for a couple hours. When we were leaving another couple moved into our area to use it. I highly recommend the management providing more umbrellas in the pool area. A big plus was the staff not being overbearing and scolding us when we did this as well as bringing our large lunch cooler into the area as well. The last thing we appreciate on vacation is being nagged about drinks or food by the pool when we aren't bothering anyone - thank you!
Breakfast was offered 7-10 for $7ea. Your basic buffet of eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits & gravy, cold cereals, breads to be toasted and three juices. We hit it late with 10 minutes to go and were warned so we dished up quick. Instead of rushing us though, an employee came over after 10:10 and offered to pour us more coffee - a nice touch to ease our concerns of being asked to leave. In fact, the staff was very nice. From the maintenance man fixing the locks, the breakfast staff to the front desk staff with the ease of checking in and giving us great recommendations to McGlinns and checking out. Btw- we loved the late checkout at 12! It made us feel we could enjoy our last day of vacation at ease and we did so by the pool until 2.
I'd recommend this hotel because of the enjoyment of the pool and the great staff - everything else was very tolerable considering we were very relaxed and had the right attitude to begin with. We would return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee

Address: 1225 North Wenatchee Ave., Wenatchee, WA 98801
Location: United States > Washington > Wenatchee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Wenatchee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located In the heart of Washington's apple country, the Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee is on the main thoroughfare through town, next to Highway 2 and just minutes from Leavenworth, Washington and Pangborn Airport. During your stay, you will want to tour the Aplets & Cotlets Candy Factory and our hydro-electric dams and enjoy recreation on the Columbia River. The Gorge Amphitheatre (40 min), Lake Chelan (35 min), the Bavarian Village of Leavenworth, Washington (20 min) and the Cascade Loop are all close by. Wenatchee Valley College is less than 1-1/2 miles from the hotel.Our 149 spacious guest rooms, including one suite, feature all of the services and amenities you would expect of a first-class hotel, including Thoughtful comforts include Red Lion's plush pillowtop beds, amenities featuring Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), free wi-fi, microwave and refrigerators, telephone and laundry valet service. Kick back and relax in our seasonal outdoor pool and whirlpool or work out in our fitness center. Packages are available for golf at Desert Canyon and Highlander Golf Courses and skiing at Mission Ridge. Also nearby you can enjoy waterskiing, beaches, river rafting and tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Wenatchee
Wenatchee Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.