We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go out of your way to eat here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Hernandez

Los Hernandez
3706 Main St, Union Gap, WA 98903-1948
509-457-6003
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Union Gap
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Go out of your way to eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We did and it was well worth it. Best and freshest Tamales ever!!! The lady on duty when we visited was very nice and enjoys chatting while she continues to create their offerings. We were winding our way around Washington state when I read about this place and headed my husband in their direction as tamales are one of his favorite foods. During the same trip, we also stayed in the yurts and ate at Cave B Inn and Spa so you can tell we are very ecumenical in our tastes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Best Tamales EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We hadn't read any reviews of Los Hernandez, consequently we were unaware of their reputation. They have been featured in numerous publications and have been a favorite of travelers and locals for years. We just stopped because my husband loves tamales and it looked like the kind of place that would be good. They are fantastic! We were still able to get an asparagus tamale(seasonal). It was awesome-moist corn, melting cheese, little bits of asparagus and a chili kick! They also make pork or chicken (both were great). If we lived in the Yakima Valley this would be a weekly treat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Visit Number Four”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Good place to visit for a great tamale, a low dollar out of the way location and a down home atmosphere.
The food and the service is a treat. Asparagus tamales when in season is what its all about.
Chicken or pork are the other options, love the salsa. I do not visit Yakima without stopping here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect balance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great tamales! Perfect balance of masa and meat, these are by far the best tamales I have ever eaten! Keep up the good work Phil and June! And just so everyone knows....these are definitely "home style"! Love them!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“The best tamales in the Northwest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Superb tamales here, both pork and chicken. Great service in a very small shop. These folks know what they are doing. Great stuff, highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Hernandez also viewed

 

Been to Los Hernandez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Hernandez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.