We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality plus!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alderbrook Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
10 E. Alderbrook Drive, 10 E Alderbrook Drive, Union, WA 98592   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Escondido, California
1 review
“Quality plus!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were guests at Alderbrook for a special family celebration. We were in one of the cottages.
Which was beautifully outfitted with so many conveniences, and quality at every turn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All the necessities were available for us to prepare our own meals
in the cottage, but why? with choices of casual or fine dining, and the finest service , to
pamper us. Such natural beauty surrounds you there, Breathtaking views are at every turn.
Kudos to ownership, who has respected , refurbished and preserves such a memorable place
in the hearts of all who have know this exceptional spot over the past century. Thanks for our
memories!

Room Tip: We found the cottages to be roomy and exceptional in privacy , flexibitity, and beauty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
akity4su, Thank you for the kind review. Our owners, that your mentioned, will be thrilled to know that you noticed. We are coming up on our 100th year anniversary and really do cherish the history of Alderbrook. Thanks again. Hope to see you soon. ~Frank for Alderbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    132
    42
    32
    11
See reviews for
115
221
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed at Alderbrook for a professional conference. The room was large and comfortable, with a good desk, nice bed, and all the things you'd expect from a luxury resort. The food served during the conference was good. Service staff were all friendly and accommodating. I would not hesitate to stay here again for a get-away for myself. On top of all that, the grounds and the views are breathtaking. It is not very far from Seattle, but you feel worlds away in a peaceful little haven.

Room Tip: In some of the garden view rooms (cheaper) you still have a decent peekaboo view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
RoxEberle, Thank you so much for review. Sounds like you really enjoyed your stay and the business conference accommodations. Hope you don't us sharing your review with other conference organizers! ~Frank for Alderbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently spent three nights at Alderbrook on a short getaway from Seattle. The grounds are great to walk around. We had a King room with a view of the canal, it was worth upgrading to the view room as we spent a lot of time on the deck reading and relaxing.

If you are looking for a short getaway, this is a great option from Seattle. It's extremely scenic and quiet if your ideal vacation is getting away with a book or being close to hiking and the Olympic National Park then relaxing in a great room.

Room Tip: Ocean view equals Hood Canal view, worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
C_Tobin6, Thank you for the ratings and review. It sounds like you had a very relaxing time. We are glad you mentioned how close, yet far away we are, from Seattle. Portland too. Hope to see you again soon. ~Frank for Alderbrook Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake tahoe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I just spent 3 wonderful nights at Alderbrook in a King Oceanfront room. (the only room available for the nights we wanted) We were a liitle worried about noise but it was not a problem. The day we arived there were 5 weddings. All were beautiful and quiet by 9 P.M.
Food was a little pricey but very good. Scallops and the oysters were delicious!
Take the boat ride. A good way to learn some of the history of the surrounding area.
We also ate at Xinh in Shelton and hiked up by Cushman Lake.
Did not hear 1 child cry or dog bark. All were happy.
Would like to return in early Spring to gather oysters.
Be sure to ask for AAA price. No one mentioned it to us.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are pricey but we loved looking out to the water, sitting on deck and watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
tish s, Thank you so much for the thorough comments and review. Sounds like you made the most of your three days with us. Looking forward to seeing you next spring. ~Frank for Alderbrook Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelm, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in the cabin by the creek. It was quiet and relaxing. The grounds are great to walk around on - the open yard is also great for frisbee fans, BBQ or a game of football. The dining was amazing with wonderful service. It is also a 45 minute drive to shopping. The view is amazing - especially sunset.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Sasha Y, Thank you so much for the great review. We are very honored to have you stay to enjoy the grounds and all the various activities. Glad you were able to catch a sunset. They can be amazing at Alderbrook. ~Frank for Alderbrook resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We were here for a wedding weekend. Fantastic venue can't say enough about the resort. The only "stumbling" point was the bar service on Friday evening seemed a little overwhelmed. In the future rather than have one waiter for a large group, have a back-up waiter to assist the staffer.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
C M, Thank you for the comments. We appreciate the positive feedback on the resort and the constructive feedback. We are always striving for perfection. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. ~Frank for Alderbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

...but not in a good way! This was our second stay and I had previously given this resort a glowing review, titled "Hooked", well, no longer. When we checked into our cabin we had to re-wash all of the egg covered dishes. When we returned to the pool it reeked of urine, our cabin door was not sealed (there was a lare gap) so the seasonal mosquitoes flew into the cottage at night; half of the staff was quite rude. Stephanie, in guest services, may want to consider another career other than customer service. Other than that, the Hood Canal was perfect; warm and inviting. The dock provided lots of adventurous water sports and activities. The Olympic Peninsula remains a picture perfect setting. However, next time I visit I will try a different resort!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
sctsdlmom, Thank for your review. We had a management meeting about your comments and do appreciate your feedback. We are so sorry your stay wasn't all that it could have been. We strive to be the very best and this time it appears we came up short. We are very glad you enjoyed the surroundings. ~Frank for Alderbrook - ~Conde Nast Reader's Choice Award Winner for Top Mainland Resort and Top Ten Spa~ ~Voted #1 Resort in King 5's Evening Magazine's Best NW Escapes~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alderbrook Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Address: 10 E. Alderbrook Drive, 10 E Alderbrook Drive, Union, WA 98592
Location: United States > Washington > Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking hand in hand, you see an eagle soar overhead. You stop to skip stones across the water. Four, five, six skips. A perfect moment suspended in time. A story for dinner. This is the place where memories are made, where families come back year after year. Like having your own waterfront cottage, only better. Cartwheels on the grass. A game of badminton at sunset. Leather couches and a glass of Washington state Syrah. The sweet succulent bite of fresh oysters. Rooms that make you say “wow” when you open the door. Can this hotel be only two hours from Seattle? It can. Welcome to Alderbrook Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Alderbrook Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderbrook Resort And Spa
Alderbrook Resort Union
Alderbrook Hotel Union

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alderbrook Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.