We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a resort??” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alderbrook Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
7101 East State Highway 106, Union, WA 98592   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This is a resort??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Okay, so we stayed in a (small) 2- bedroom cabin - but that doesn't mean that we shouldn't expect quality accomodations considering this is a "resort" and the price we paid. First of all, housekeeping sure missed a few things - like the dirty washcloth and crumbs left in the bathroom, crumbs in the cracks of the kitchen table, and bed linens/blanket for the sofa bed (which they knew we would be using). The cabin itself could use some updating as it still sported an early vintage orange striped utilitarian carpet, Goodwill quality coffee table, etc. That being said, the view was nice, the food in the restaurant was great and the massages were wonderful (although they wouldn't let us use their changing room the next morning after we had been in the pool even though we had spent mucho bucks in spa services!) Pool bathroom/changing room very small with only one shower and no real area for dressing so when a family of children had the space we were left to wait it out... Don't think I'd choose to go to Alderbrook again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    125
    39
    32
    11
See reviews for
106
211
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful stay at Alderbrook Resort & Spa. We stayed in a canal view room which was just amazing--the beds were cozy and comfortable and the view was breathtaking. We both enjoyed the spa while we were there--sooo relaxing--I highly recommend the hot stone massage to anyone!! After our treatments we were able to continue our relaxation in the sauna and indoor hot tub that overlooked the canal. . .we didn't want to leave but had reservations in the restaurant. Our food was absolutely delicious. We can't wait for another little romantic getaway to Alderbrook Resort & Spa hopefully soon!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011 via mobile

The staff is so helpful and friendly. They upgraded our room just because it was our anniversary. We had a bottle of wine and chocolate dipped strawberries as an ammenity and they were wonderful. The restaurant has wonderful breakfast, lunch, and dinner menus. Dinner is more upscale but the food is worth the money. Then we visited the spa and had a wonderful couples massage. I highly recommend Alderbrook to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Man people - how can you complain so much about such an amazing place? One thing goes wrong and it's 1 star for the resort.

Alderbrook is a classy, relaxing, and beautiful place. I really have nothing negative to say about it. Everything here has always been amazing, from the food, to the drinks, to the service, to the rooms, to the lobby. Amazing.

I stayed here over Valentine's Day, and it was phenomenal, as usual. We got a great deal - $239 for a garden view room (you can see the water from garden view rooms...at least from ours you could), a dozen roses, a bottle of wine, $70 dinner voucher, and valet parking. They have deals like this all the time - we might go again this month!

The ooonly thing I would say is that the restaurant is really pricey. Great food, but just seems a little too expensive. Maybe I'm just a penny pincher.

If you really want to be impressed - stay in the honeymoon suite!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

My Mom and I stayed here during the middle of the week. We needed a get away after the illness and death of a family member. We booked our room five days in advance for the middle of the week. This was during March. However, when I called to make appointments in the spa for a manicure and pedicure, I was first asked to choose the type of services I wanted, and then, the gal went to schedule told me, "Oh, they didn't have any appointments available." This was five days out before we were to arrive. Five days. In the middle of the week. In March. Not even high summer wedding season.

For a place that sells itself on it's spa facilities, and when it's out in the middle of nowhere, and the reason we were going was because of the spa, you'd think there would be more availability in the spa. It's not unreasonable to try and book spa appointments five days out.

Disappointed and wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forks, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

My family and I came out to the resort for the weekend this last year and I have to say it was incredible. The mountains that you can see from the most of the rooms as well as the restaurant are just magical! It looks like a picture from national geographic. I have never seen this side of the canal since I'm from up north and it is just wonderful! The hotel was clean and beautiful and the staff were so great! The food was incredible! A little high priced but it was worth it. We got a great deal on the room. The spa was to die for! I would recommend the spa above all!

The only problem (if you can call it a problem) was how cold it was. Our room was only accessible from an outside balcony. Although it was December, I'm sure in the summer it is not even an issue.
We will be coming back again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

If you are looking for a short day trip from Seattle, Alderbrook Resort & Spa is great. A short Ferry ride from Seattle to Bremerton, then a short drive to Union will lead you to a peaceful sanctuary. This resort has been remodeled since first opened and the grounds are relaxing and interesting. The Spa is AMAZING and the resort restaurant is quite good. Better to stay at the resort since the town of Union is just so so. Beautiful scenery, wildlife and trails make it special.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alderbrook Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Address: 7101 East State Highway 106, Union, WA 98592
Location: United States > Washington > Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking hand in hand, you see an eagle soar overhead. You stop to skip stones across the water. Four, five, six skips. A perfect moment suspended in time. A story for dinner. This is the place where memories are made, where families come back year after year. Like having your own waterfront cottage, only better. Cartwheels on the grass. A game of badminton at sunset. Leather couches and a glass of Washington state Syrah. The sweet succulent bite of fresh oysters. Rooms that make you say “wow” when you open the door. Can this hotel be only two hours from Seattle? It can. Welcome to Alderbrook Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Alderbrook Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderbrook Resort And Spa
Alderbrook Resort Union
Alderbrook Hotel Union

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alderbrook Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.