We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok overall, look at a room first” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Idle-a-While Motel

Idle-a-While Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twisp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Idle-a-While Motel
Save
You added Idle-a-While Motel to your Saves list
505 N. Hwy 20, PO Box 667, Twisp, WA 98856   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Twisp
san fran
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“ok overall, look at a room first”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I guess the cabins are good but look at a room always before you decide. My room was ok for 60$
I wouldnt pay more than 65. The owners are burnt out. But this place is ok overall. I stopped down at some of the other cheap motels at the other end of town and they were dives. I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Biggest problem. NO HOT WATER for a shower! We were a party of 6 so had two rooms, one for a family of four, was basic with 2 double beds & bathroom, not even a coffee pot. The other two had a queen bed, sofa, chairs, kitchen fully equipped for 6. Hard to believe, but the basic 2 double beds cost quite a bit more money than the other better room which could also easily sleep four.
The person in the office was unfriendly & gruff, we all felt as though we were a problem, an inconvenience, in the way & disturbing her. She did not seem to like people at all, and about the worst personality for such a job.
In the morning, one of the 6 of us had the first shower which was lukewarm, this was at about 7.45 a.m. by the end the water turned icy cold. We went to the office to ask why and how or where we could get hot water for the rest of us to shower, We were told, by the surly person behind the desk that too many people were showering and the tank had run out!! This is a motel!! One that has been there years! People pay to stay there AND expect to shower, particularly when we'd paid over $100 for the 'privilege' of staying in a less than average room!! We were told to wait for the water to warm up, which would 'probably be sometime this morning' Obviously this was unacceptable as we wanted to get going. As it was of the 6 of us, only one got a cool shower, the rest of us couldn't stand the icy cold water, and I mean icy! When we asked it at the very least we could get a partial refund for the real inconvenience we were told absolutely not.
The Idle-a-while has no ice machine, we had to ask for ice at the office, & were told there may not be any, we actually had to ask her to check as she obviously had no intention of getting up. It was given grudgingly, and we had a hard time getting a second small container full. We were made to feel like naughty children asking for something we really shouldn't have or expect. It was ICE people!! We'd paid a great deal to stay there, more than our rooms were worth and ice, especially in hot weather is an expectation. We didn't need much, we weren't filling a cooler.
Our entire experience staying here was marred, we'd been in over 100 degree heat, we not only wanted a shower for ourselves, but for anyone we were going to come in contact with!! The expression 'you get what you pay for' did not apply at the Idle-a-while, had we paid half of what we did we'd have still felt the same, everything about the place had us feeling far from Idling-any-time-at-all. We will not be returning and of course, will not recommend it to anyone. There are plenty of places to stay that are far nicer for far less money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is right on the Cascade loop in Twisp, WA and is popular with motorcyclists. The buildings are older but clean and quiet. Beds are comfy and the rates are reasonable. The location is walking distance to the "downtown" with a great restaurant right across the bridge.

Room Tip: They give discounts to AAA members.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This place is a great place to stay in the budget category. AAA and AARP rates, plenty of ice, an outdoor BBQ for your use and an indoor pool. Clean, quiet (even though the highway is very close), located a ten minute walk from a nice pub. What's not to like?

I have no complaints at all and was surprised to read other reviews complaining of the rudeness of the staff. I've stayed here many times (at least five) and have never had anything but a nice interaction with the staff.

Oh, yeah, they like dogs and allow them in the room. I'm not sure if they charge extra or not, but your doggie will love all of the grass in front of the motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This was a last minute booking on Labor Day Weekend. The check in staff were friendly and efficient. The cabin wasn't luxurious but was very cute and charming. There were two beds, a double and a twin, which were reasonably comfortable if a little tight for two people around 6 feet tall. The bathroom was adequate with just a shower stall but there was plenty of hot water. The little kitchen was charming even though the refrigerator was in the living room. The air conditioner worked fine. There was a nice parking space out front and it was very quiet.

Not a four star hotel by any stretch of the imagination, but it was a nice place to stop for the night for the right price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We usually stay in Winthrop but decided to stay in Twisp instead. This motel is old but they do a good job of keeping it well maintained. We booked a cabin and it was spacious with a little living room, small kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. This place is not fancy so if your looking for something more refined, this is not for you. We liked the back porch where we could sit and look out onto the substantial property. The bed was comfortable and the towels and linens, while well used, were very clean and spotless.

We'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Each June we stay at the Idle-a-While when our vintage motorcycle club crosses the pass to Winthrop and Twisp. This isn't a fancy place but we find it charming and comfortable. It's a short walk to Twisp and a variety of restaurants and shops, yet on one visit we saw a deer bedded down in the heat of the day right behind our unit. There's ample room for parking. I have no other relationship with the place, but I do have a regard for fairness. If you want glitz and flash, keep looking. But most folks will enjoy the Idle-a-While.

Stayed June 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Idle-a-While Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idle-a-While Motel

Address: 505 N. Hwy 20, PO Box 667, Twisp, WA 98856
Location: United States > Washington > Twisp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Twisp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Idle-a-While Hotel Twisp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idle-a-While Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.