We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay value+” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1675 Mottman Road SW, Tumwater, WA 98512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Tumwater
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth a stay value+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Best value is if you stay for a week or longer. Probems while rare for me have always been quickly remedied, especially by Emily or Victoria at the front desk. Location is good right off the 101 and I-5. While the trip to JBLM is a little long it is direct and quick.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
The team and I appreciate your positive remarks. I am so glad that the staff was attentive to your needs and quickly corrected any issues that arose during your stay, especially Emily and Victoria. As well, I am happy that you enjoyed our convenient location.

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
6
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here in April, Our room had been renovated save for the kitchen area. The rest of the room had fresh paint, carpeting, linens, upholstery, etc. The bed was firm but must have been comfortable because I slept well. The entire room was very clean. The checkout process was slightly cumbersome, as the front desk clerk had to navigate through many screens in order to close out the bill. The "grab & go" breakfast consisted of things like apples, cereal, coffee and small prepackaged muffins. Some Costco-type, fresher muffins would be an easy improvement, along with another type of fruit like oranges or bananas. The hotel should also look into their employee scheduling - the same clerk that was working as late as 11pm was also there at about 6am the next morning.... We were planning on staying here again, but now that the prices have gone up over $20.00/nt., we will reconsider. The room is not worth $100.00/nt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Scarlett - I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am so pleased to know that you where happy with our renovations. As well, I am glad you found your room to be clean and that you enjoyed our grab-and-go breakfast. Lastly, please know, the overnight shift for our staff is from 11:00pm to 7:00am, so that would by why you saw the same agent assisting with your needs.

Once more, we truly appreciate your remarks. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for a week and were very pleased. The beds are a little too firm, but other than that not bad. We had an issue with the shower and it was handled quickly and expertly. We used the guest laundry a couple of times and the only suggestion I would have is to install a change machine. The hotel is clean and the room was quiet. We had an issue with some kids that were staying upstairs (jumping off the beds and other running around) when we first arrived and the desk handled it immediately. We will be staying here on our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Sue - Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I am glad to read that you were pleased with your overall stay, especially your clean, quiet room. Please accept my apologies for any issue you experienced; however, I am happy to know we were able to correct them quickly and to your satisfaction.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catlin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Called to reserve room while on the road with no problem. Visiting daughter for 1 week and stayed at this hotel at her recommendation. Front desk staff were always helpful and courteous.
Room was comfortable. Bed was on the firm side! Used the guest laundry twice during the week.
Hotel was busy, but was never bothered by noise from other guests. Would definitely stay again.
Was our please home away fro home for 7 days

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for writing such great things about how helpful and courteous the front desk staff was during your stay. We are delighted we were able to make your visit with your daughter a peaceful one.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you plan on staying here do not expect much.....The staff could care less if there is a problem and they will treat your issue as if it is a chore to deal with. Also make sure you double check the rates that they tell you and what you are actually charged. It seemed that each employee had a different set of rules and rates that they would charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel was clean and quiet but the front desk was clueless and often absent. Due to confusion the room was only cleaned on the last day of an 8 day stay. The desk disabled our card keys in order to collect a pet fee which they weren't ready to collect because they were busy on the computer. Personnel kept blaming others saying they "just came on".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Harry - I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that there was some confusion in regards to the housekeeping service you wanted to receive and the pet fee. Please know, at check-in, part of the communication is about our housekeeping service which is provided when you stay eight or more nights. I am sorry this was not conveyed to you and will speak with the staff directly to ensure this does not happen again. As well, I will be coaching them on professionalism and how to provide better customer service.

We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. Please feel free to contact me directly, at olt@extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, T
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Extended Stay America in Tumwater while visiting my daughter because of its proximity to Evergreen State College. The property has been renovated and the common areas are all clean and attractive. Desk staff were pleasant and professional.
Our room was very comfortable with plenty of space. We knew the Extended Stay did not provide daily housekeeping service, but the staff did come by to see if we needed clean towels or trash service which was much appreciated. We did use the kitchen - mostly for snacks and cold drinks but one evening to cook a full dinner. The kitchen was equiped with plates, pans and utensils for a basic meal, which was all we needed. The grab-and-go breakfast is a nice amenity. This included individually packaged muffins and fruit along with coffee or tea. The muffins were moist and surprisingly good. There is also a fast food restaurant next door.
It is a bit tricky to navigate in and out. It is easily visible from the highway as it sits on a hill. It's not difficult to reach from the access road, but if you want to head west out of the hotel, you must cross through a corner gas station/convenience stop which can be crowded.
Overall, a nice, well-kept property and a great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for writing such good things about the staff and the facility. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the in-room kitchen and our newest feature, the grab and go breakfast as well as our friendly staff. We truly enjoyed having you stay with us and hope you had a good time visiting Evergreen State College!

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater

Address: 1675 Mottman Road SW, Tumwater, WA 98512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tumwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Tumwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Tumwater
Extended Stay Tumwater
Tumwater Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.