We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Beautifully updated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Tumwater - Olympia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Tumwater - Olympia to your Saves list
Motel 6 Tumwater - Olympia
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   400 W Lee St, Tumwater, WA 98501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tumwater
Victoria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Value Beautifully updated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Travelling with a dog limits our choices of accommodations so know we can always count on Motel 6. However, some of them have been not great but this property was a pleasant surprise.
I check tripadvisor first and saw favourable reviews. It didn't let me down - friendly staff and comfortable updated room. I would have given it more stars but the water pressure was actually not good at all. Taking a shower was a bit of a challenge but we managed. I do recommend this location. There is a Costco, super Walmart and fast food outlets all very close.Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    24
    18
    6
    10
See reviews for
9
11
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Needed a place in Olympia with very little warning and needed dog friendly.
Motel 6 to the rescue...the "pet" policy is stated up front and reasonable.
The room has hard-wood floors so no problem there. Nice property to walk the dog.

One complaint, it was labled as "non-smoking" (the dog doesn't smoke either) yet the room had a faint odor of a previous smoker.

room was clean, fairly quiet, inexpensive and 5 minutes away from my 8am appointment in Olympia the next morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I've stayed here 2 times, and both times the rooms were clean, staff friendly, and the price was right! Love how Motel 6 is remodeling to eco-friendly rooms. It makes so much sense to do away with carpet!! Think how much cleaner the floors are now! The extra bonus to us is their pet friendly policy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed at the Motel 6 Tumwater, WA again and it's still the best for your dollar if your in that area. The rooms had been upgraded since the last time I stayed here and it's a definite plus. I still bring my own sheets & towels I always have u might think it's weird but I feel better sleeping on my own sheets & using my own towels (their sheets & towels are not the best or cleanest I have to say) and I bring cleaning supplies (just comet or SOS pads for the bathroom I'm a clean freak lol!) And because well it is Motel 6 after all not a five star hotel and the maids don't clean THAT good.

The thing that hasn't changed (and I've been coming to this motel for some years now is the bed and the bathroom walls (at least in the rooms I stay in). The beds totally SUCK!! I actually had a back ache when I wake up. These have to be the same beds since from the time they opened this place! The bathroom walls need to be replaced around the bathtub. The funny part about it is it can't cost THAT much to do it! They could go to Lowes and buy the vinyl wall or whatever it's called and put it in ...they could even put it over the old wall and it would look better! They tried to half paint over it and it looked really tacky. The room itself was ok...and at least the bathroom was pretty clean as was the room.

I will always come back here because I'm close to where I need to be and every time I come the staff is great. They are really friendly and nice. I have never had a problem. And if I do they always take care of it. So if your in the area and need a cheap, decent and reasonable place to stay this is it. It's close to restaurants, the freeway, and downtown Olympia if ur wanting to do a little site seeing. Not really much to see in this area to me so I usually just go to Seattle for fun. So my review is Motel 6 in Tumwater is still ok by me :) 6 1/2 out of ten stars!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was really impressed with this Motel 6. Just happened upon this one as I was ready to call it a day after 12 hours of driving. After checking in I was pleasantly surprised at how modern the room was. The colors were fun and there was no carpet! You don't get all the amenities that other hotels may provide...coffee maker, blow dryer, shampoo, etc. but that's okay as it is a budget hotel and you can't beat the price. Wi-fi is an extra charge of $3.Did have a mini fridge which is a plus. The floor looked like bamboo but I think it was a vinyl type floor cover. Much cleaner than carpet so this was a real plus for me. Would like to see more hotels go in this direction. The only downside was the noise from above in the morning. I could really hear the person walking around. I would definitely stay here again. Room and grounds are clean and well maintained

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopefulp
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Wow, the renovations are nice. I've stayed at this location for years, especially 5 years ago when family member terminally ill. Feel cimfortable and at home here, especially in the rooms on the side of the office which doesn't face the large parking lot. Can hear interstate 5 traffic but find it lulling. $55.00 rate includes tax (Washington state must not over-tax tourism like some do) I'm loving all the Motel 6 I've visited this year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Cleaner than typical Motel 6. Usual efficiency and inexpensive. Really convienient for downtown Olympia! About 7 minutes! Non rush hour.But the free Wi-fi is not. This is the third Motel 6 that charged. They should change their website. Only $3, but free MacDonalds Wi-Fi 2 minutes away. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Tumwater - Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Tumwater - Olympia

Address: 400 W Lee St, Tumwater, WA 98501
Location: United States > Washington > Tumwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tumwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Tumwater - Olympia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Tumwater - Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Tumwater - Olympia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.