We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Tumwater

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Tumwater to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Tumwater
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 74th Ave. SW, Tumwater, WA 98501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tumwater
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

This is a great place to stay - very clean, large rooms, great customer service and fabulous breakfast. Our exit off the freeway was closed when we arrived at it at approximately 9PM.
It was dark and we didn't know how to get to the Comfort Inn from the next exit. Rhiannon was on the desk when we called and she gave us marvelous and very accurate directions which were quite complicated but worked perfectly.

The only thing we would have preferred was a room on the opposite side of the building as the noise from the freeway was quite loud. Otherwise, a great place!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTumwater, Sales Manager at Comfort Inn Tumwater, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Hello GreenGanesh,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. In response to your problems with the freeway exit near our hotel, allow me to elaborate. We have been working with the City of Tumwater for some time to alleviate the traffic situation at our exit. The first step in the process involved adding a new lane to the exit, which caused some temporary frustration with travelers in our area. Fortunately, the work has been completed and has had a very positive impact on the traffic and noise levels near our hotel. Hopefully any future projects will be equally successful. Again, thank you for your comments, and we hope to have the chance to accomodate you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    46
    23
    6
    11
See reviews for
42
33
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Really liked this spot. Comfortable bed, small sitting room, clean, nice appointments and tasty breakfast. I'll remember this one for the next time we go north.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTumwater, Sales Manager at Comfort Inn Tumwater, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Hello Sing4Mi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We're all very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, our customers are our top priority and it's always nice to hear about good experiences at our hotel. We hope that you choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

My wife and I don't travel very often but when we do we like to stay at comfort inns. We were very impressed with the customer service at this particular hotel. The young lady who checked us in was very pleasant. We were always greeted with a smile. Rhiannon keep up the good work. The woman who checked us out in the very early hours was also very nice. If you are looking for a nice quiet hotel this is your best bet. The room was very quiet away from traffic and the Elevator. And breakfast was excellent. best biscuits and gravy around. We well be staying here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTumwater, Sales Manager at Comfort Inn Tumwater, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Hello TheOldBallAndChain,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We're all so very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our front desk agent enjoyed the personal recognition you gave her. It's always nice for our staff to hear that guests appreciate them as much as we do. We're glad you've chosen to stay with us in the future, and we hope to hear back from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathey's Valley, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

Very good location, right off the freeway, and quiet despite the freeway being nearby. A little strange road situation getting in and out though. Desk check-in person could be a little more friendly instead of being so cold and uncaring; a smile and a few kind words would go a long way. Room was large and clean with a comfy bed and many TV channels (~70). Breakfast was very good and even included scrambled egg patties and sausage patties, plus the usual other items. Was also the best tasting OJ I've ever had out of those little OJ machines that all the hotels have--this one was very tasty and didn't have the usual mis-mixed mixture and grainy taste that most have. Check out went smooth and that desk person was very pleasant. Got a great rate with Choice's 60+ rate, you can't get that online, you have to call the 800 number and ask for it--it is always better than the 50+ rate they offer online.

Now for the only unpleasant item--the bathroom. The sink plunger wasn't working when we arrived, so they had to fix it. It broke again the next morning. Bathroom was somewhat dark, very low level lighting and didn't have that overhead bright "heat" type light that many hotels have. Fan worked only when the light switch was turned on and it was totally inefficient. The lock on the bathroom door didn't work. The shower was nice though.

If you eliminate the bathroom area, this hotel was very nice!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTumwater, Sales Manager at Comfort Inn Tumwater, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Hello YNP-CV,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The comments of our guests go a long way toward shaping our decisions regarding how best to serve our customers in the future. Due to your comments regarding your bathroom, our maintenance staff went through every bathroom in our hotel searching for broken plungers, inefficient and/or broken fans, and broken bathroom locks. We did find a few fans that needed to be replaced, along with a half-dozen or so plungers that needed to be fixed. The steps were taken to replace these items, and extra replacement pieces were ordered to expedite any future repairs. Though we didn't find any broken bathroom locks, we will instruct our housekeepers to check all locks daily for any that may need repairing. Again, thank you for your comments. We rely on what our guests see to help us make the hotel better for everyone. We hope that you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the Olympia/Tumwater area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

I'm a business traveler.

The Good: Relatively affordable, great location in a secluded area close to I-5, close to restaurants that offer edible food, Rhiannon at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful, the break fast was alright but they should add some things, nice pool and hit tub.

The Bad: The hotel looks modern but the inside seems dated, the floors squeak bad, loud footsteps above.

The Ugly: There was mildew (or mold) on the ceiling in the bathroom.

In conclusion, this is a good value for a one or two night stopover, but business travelers will likely be underwhelmed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTumwater, Sales Manager at Comfort Inn Tumwater, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Hello GreatYeti,

Thank you for choosing to review our hotel. We're pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience, but please allow me to address a few of your concerns. We have had several guests comment on what appears to be mold or mildew in our bathrooms. In actuality, our bathrooms have wallpaper that was installed using a non-waterproof glue. Over time, the steam in the bathroom has caused the glue to become soft and soak up some of the green coloring in the mold and water-resistant sheetrock. The green bleeds through the wallpaper in places and gives the appearance of mold or mildew. It's something that we plan to fix due to the poor image that it creates, but it is in no way harmful. We hope that this doesn't cause any hesitance on your part to stay with us again. If you have any ideas on how we can improve, please don't hesitate to inform us. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Puget Sound, WA.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

This was the third and last hotel we stayed in on our trip and was by far the most relaxing, comfortable, affordable, and cleanest. The lobby of the hotel is very nice, the staff was very friendly, the room (2 queen suite) was spacious, a good deal for the money, very clean, and comfortable. I didn't go down to the pool but my husband and son seemed to have enjoyed it. The hotel is coonveniently located near the freeway and it seems like a pretty safe area also. There's not really anything that I can possibly think to complain about with this hotel.

  • Liked — The bathroom- very large and very clean
  • Disliked — The view, it was just the adajacent hotel.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTumwater, Sales and Marketing Manager at Comfort Inn Tumwater, responded to this review, March 5, 2009
Dear Whispering Poet,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us and others about your experience at our hotel. We are constantly working to improve our hotel to give our guests the best service and value possible, and words like yours let us all know that our efforts are appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Washington State
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

We did not actually stay at this hotel. Stopped at 9pm to see if they had any rooms, as all hotels in surrounding cities were full. They did not, BUT, their employee Jordan spent considerable time calling many, many hotels in other close by cities and eventually found us a room. THANK YOU JORDAN!!!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTumwater, Sales Manager at Comfort Inn Tumwater, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Hello HappyTraveler97,

Thank you for posting a very positive review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! Though we're sorry we didn't get the chance to provide a room for you, we are glad that you had the ability to experience our excellent customer service. We hope that you choose to stay with us the next time that you are in the Olympia/Tumwater area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Tumwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Tumwater

Address: 1620 74th Ave. SW, Tumwater, WA 98501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tumwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tumwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Tumwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Tumwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Tumwater Hotel Tumwater
Tumwater Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Tumwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.