We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Neighborhood Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pellegrino's Italian Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pellegrino's Italian Kitchen
205 Cleveland Avenue South East, Tumwater, WA 98501
360 709 9020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Tumwater
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Private Dining
OLYMPIA, WA USA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This restaurant never disappoints. Whatever you pick, it will be yummy. Starting with the great dipping bread and right on through the salad and pasta, you will like this basic Italian fare. The menu also features American items. If you like French fries, you should order fries here - the best around. The restaurant also serves a great breakfast. All menu items are reasonably priced and the waiters are well-trained and friendly.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Value - Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I eat here often. It's basic Italian food - but it's good and well priced. Staff is friendly. Service is fast / efficient. Good place to just chill.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fine Italian Dining?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We've been eating here for years. The food has been good ... not great ... but good. Recently I asked one of the staff (that was serving us) if their ground beef has 'pink slime' in it, she didn't know. She told me that they used Sysco food service, exclusively, as their supplier. I would have thought any restaurant that promotes itself as 'Fine Dining' would be using fresh ingredients, at a minimum, and from local producers. Not some corporate, frozen(?), food bin. Sysco does not make its own ground beef. It buys from a variety of producers that give it the best price.

With this in mind, the place is over priced. I expected a better value than that.

I understand wanting to save a buck. But charging $4.50 for a cup of slime meatball soup? What is in the rest of their 'meat' sauces? This is something I would expect from one of the chain restaurants, not a locally, family, owned 'Fine Dining' restaurant. Even if you're not concerned about slime in your food, the whole corporate food bin thing should make you think about the next 'Fine Dining' experience you want to pay for. Times are tough, money is at a premium. If we are going to be charged a high price, then we expect to get a value for our dollar. There are real 'Fine Dining' restaurants in the area, look them up and go there. We will not be going back to Pellegrino's.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

The food was awesome. Not crowded. Probably the best feticinni I have ever eaten. Pleasant staff. All in all was fabulous!!!!!! Outdid Olive Garden, hands down.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Itilian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Pellegrino's is wonderful. Not only do they have fantastic standard Italian food, they have excellent gluten free rice pasta with a variety of sauces. Management and wait staff are very professional and friendly. Dennis is the best : ) Thank you for bringing Italian back into my diet. They also serve a wonderful breakfast so don't miss that. I think it is served on Sat & Sun. This is our third visit this year (2012)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pellegrino's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Pellegrino's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pellegrino's Italian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.