We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater to your Saves list
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 74th Avenue Southwest, Tumwater, WA 98512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tumwater
Fremont, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed one night at GuestHouse in Tumwater, WA. We arrived late, got a great room, got to use the pool to relax and woke up to enjoy a hot breakfast. This was a perfect stay for our long journey back to California!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    34
    25
    15
    8
See reviews for
36
35
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Very reasonable price for a king on the 3rd floor. Considering how close you are to #5 it was very, very quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the room clean. I had never stayed with this chain before and am very thankful for other people's reviews.
We will absolutely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our stay at the GuestHouse was great. The staff was very friendly. Rooms were clean and bed very comfortable. Pool/hot tub was great too. Location was perfect, tucked away from the busy I5 in the trees so we didn't hear the cars/trucks out there at all. Although we had a few small issues, they were promptly taken care of and everyone was happy, Manager Mike was right on top of it and handled the situation. Breakfast area proved to be a little small on some days were eveyone decided to come at once, but food was good. Ebony was always running to keep things stocked, she was awesome. Only thing I would say is that the place could use a fresh coat of paint on some of the walls in the rooms/halls, but other than that everything was good. If I go back to that area, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our stay at Guest House was great. The staff was 100% friendly and helpful. The room was clean, beds were only average. There was a fridge and microwave. The suite/room has a half wall between a small area with a couch, coffee table and regular table with 2 chairs and the bed area. The extra square footage was appreciated with room to spread out as we had just disembarked from a cruise. The bathroom sink needs to be replaced. The area around the drain was peeling off, the rim had been caulked and the faucet sprayed water everywhere and was hard to control the temperature and the flow.
The pool and hot tub are indoors and clean. There is a guest laundry with 2 each (very small) washer and dryer.
The location was convenient to the freeway without being too close. There were no surrounding businesses so a car is essential.
We were there on a Sunday morning as well as Mon and Tues. On Sunday the breakfast area was SWAMPED!. No where to sit, waiting in line for everything. It is very small and badly arranged. Despite the attentions of the staff, the coffee was empty, the waffle batter was empty, the biscuits were gone etc. They worked to fill each as they were informed of its lack but couldn't keep up with demand. Monday and Tuesday were better but the waffle maker stuck even with spraying and the seating area was full so we had to take our choices to the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The pictures do not do this place justice. The room is clean and comfortable. Breakfast is offered in a small area so it may be a good idea to ask when is the least crowded time to enjoy breakfast. The hot tub and pool are inside which makes that area steamy. The staff is delightful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Clean & nicely furnished. Friendly staff. Located far enough off of I5 so that traffic noise is not a problem. No services within walking distance but it's not a far drive to restaurants and stores. The hotel is surrounded by trees and shrubs which shields it nicely from traffic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I really wanted to give this a higher rating than a 3, because the staff was really nice. But we had several problems. First our room wasn't ready, though we got there after 4:30 (check-in 3:00). They gave us a different room, but when we got went in, the smell was horrible. Kind of like baby diapers that had been left in bleach. The window was wide open, but that didn't help. They gave us another room, which was very nice - until I pulled back the covers and found a big, fresh looking blood stain on the sheet.
The breakfast was just okay - the waffle maker wasn't the best and everyone had to scrape off their waffles. The coffee was good and so were the pastries.
The indoor pool was nice and clean.
The mattress was really uncomfortable. It was nice having a refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater

Address: 1600 74th Avenue Southwest, Tumwater, WA 98512
Location: United States > Washington > Tumwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tumwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegantly appointed hotel nestled in the forests of Tumwater, yet minutes from the Washington State Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Inn & Suites Tumwater Hotel Tumwater
Guesthouse Inn And Suites Tumwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.