We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice employees in spite of problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater to your Saves list
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 74th Avenue Southwest, Tumwater, WA 98512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tumwater
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice employees in spite of problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I really wanted to give this a higher rating than a 3, because the staff was really nice. But we had several problems. First our room wasn't ready, though we got there after 4:30 (check-in 3:00). They gave us a different room, but when we got went in, the smell was horrible. Kind of like baby diapers that had been left in bleach. The window was wide open, but that didn't help. They gave us another room, which was very nice - until I pulled back the covers and found a big, fresh looking blood stain on the sheet.
The breakfast was just okay - the waffle maker wasn't the best and everyone had to scrape off their waffles. The coffee was good and so were the pastries.
The indoor pool was nice and clean.
The mattress was really uncomfortable. It was nice having a refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    34
    25
    15
    8
See reviews for
35
35
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is well kept. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are large. I've stayed here twice, and found the experience consistent. My only gripe is with breakfast (and since it's free, I shouldn't complain much). They make the batter too thin for the waffle maker, and it would be really nice if they had yogurt.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southside, facing away from the main road to the North of the building should be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I recently stayed at the Guest House Inn and Suites while on travel for business. I was arriving late and leaving early, so I didn't want to spend a ton of $ on a hotel. The facilities are clean and well-maintained, the staff is exceptionally courteous, and I was overall very happy with my stay, particularly in consideration of the price. All rooms apparently are equipped with a fridge, microwave and kitchenette sink in an area separated by a countertop from the sleeping area. Approximately 5 minutes after arriving to my room, the young lady from the front desk called to ensure that the accommodations were suitable. Continental breakfast available from 6-9, so really about all one could ask for in such a bargain. Oh yeah, DirecTV including at least HBO (didn't look for other premiums). If I have the occasion to be overnight in Tumwater again, I would definitely stay here!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omak, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

WE love this place . Clean quiet, easy access to freeway, lots of available well kept spacious, rooms all at a wonderful affordable price. The staff, and in particular, EBONY, have been extremely helpful, accommodating, and of a very pleasant, sparkling and joyful spirit. My Wife and I want to take this short moment to thank all of you for such a wonderful hotel, well managed, and to us a small oasis, outside the hustle and flurry of our State Capitol. Scot High Omak, Wa.

Room Tip: easy access to parking on south side of building and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mr. High,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. All feedback from our guests, positive or negative, is very appreciated and helpful.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff we have here works extremely hard to make each guest feel welcome and important. It is always great to hear that guests recognize their efforts and appreciate them. I will make sure that Ebony is made aware of your wonderful comments and I would like to assure you that I will personally thank her for her outstanding work.

Thank you for choosing Guesthouse Inn & Suites Tumwater and I hope that we get to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Friendly front desk (just in from Colorado)... the room was clean but other than that it's pretty typical value for an interstate motel. Easy access of the I-5. Hard beds. Need more blankets. Beware of thin walls!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Jackie and Ebony did an excellent job making us feel welcome, we will return! Great breakfast and clean rooms, but again HAPPY FRIENDLY STAFF!! Thank you for making us feel at home during our stay, heather, laurel, ally

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater

Address: 1600 74th Avenue Southwest, Tumwater, WA 98512
Location: United States > Washington > Tumwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tumwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegantly appointed hotel nestled in the forests of Tumwater, yet minutes from the Washington State Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Inn & Suites Tumwater Hotel Tumwater
Guesthouse Inn And Suites Tumwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.