We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Cafe

Rainforest Cafe
290 Southcenter Mall, Tukwila, WA 98188-2807
206 248 8882
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 117 Restaurants in Tukwila
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Place for Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The food is nothing special, but the draw is the jungle setting with animated animals, waterfalls, and tropical storms. That's what you go there for. Our kids (and my husband if we are honest) love it. This was our third visit. The staff are friendly and efficient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    24
    25
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ridiculously expensive for poor quality food and lackey service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Kind of our own fault for not noticing the menu with prices listed in the enterance area. Had we seen the ridiculous costs, example a chicken salad sandwich on a crossaint without sides or a drink @ $13.39 we would never have sat down. Once seated with our special needs little guy the effort to back out seemed more trouble for others who were seated around us afterward, who would have been displaced while we tried to maneuver around so we stayed.

To begin seating is tight. The spaces available for views of chattering animals, fish tanks and the water fountain are limited. The idea of splurging at this chain is entertainment for children. You would believe some thought would have went into design to make the extra expense worth the visit. Seems the frasnchise is not forward thinking enough of providing an experience to bring back customers.

Beverages are crazy costly. We allowed our daughter to order an orange sherbet smoothie which we were told came in a light up cup for $7.99. The drink arrived watered down in a simple plastic cafeteria type cup. Later when we mentioned to the waitress the taste of the drink suggesting she advise whoever is making them they are not using enough frozen sherbet she said she was to blame for letting the drink sit to long after it was made before bringing it to our table. The waitress had no concern for quality. Her laziness was reflected in her tip.

Truly walking around the store is more than enough of the Rainforest Cafe experience. If you feel you just have to try the restaurant, once....a kids meal is around $7.00 with a drink. You could easily get in and out for under $20 if you chose not to order an adult meal which start at $16.00. We won't be returning yet if we knew then what we know now we would have just gotten a couple kids meals, let them snack while watching the lights flicker for 30 minute and went across the street to the Cheesecake Factory where $16.00 actually buys a decent meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Place that makes the kids smile.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Chain food but serve in a fun place and the kids loved it so it always a hit if the kids are happy and mom and dad are ok with the food....

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Layover/Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This place has an incredible atmosphere, food is pretty good too. Kids loved it. Jungle type setting in the mall.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It was ok, kids will love it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We used to love going to the Tukwila Rainforest Cafe. It's amazingly stashed into a corner location in a mall, and the premise is awesome, a themed restaurant with the moving fake animals. Then we ruined it by eating at the RC at Disneyland. Now everytime we walk into the Tukwila RC, we feel it is uninspired, dirty, and disorganized. The food sounds good on the menu, but is often bland and a cut below other mall restaurants. The one selling point is that the grandkids still find it a lot of fun......so grandma and grandpa cave in.

Long overdue for an update, both in decor and food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.