We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Sea-Tac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Sea-Tac to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Sea-Tac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16038 West Valley Highway, Tukwila, WA 98188   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tukwila
Tigard, Oregon
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Have stayed here on other occasions and find the location close to many restaurants as well as ease in getting into Seattle. Front desk personnel always have been personable and welcoming. Rooms have seen some upgrades in terms of mini-fridges and microwave. No complaints. Good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    103
    48
    25
    9
See reviews for
60
61
30
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

First off this hotel isn't bad, but it is outdated compared to other courtyard properties in the area and throughout the nation. First off this hotel is probably the cheapest in the area in terms of price per night. The exterior of the hotel is nice and so is the lobby. The rooms themselves are quite different, the beds are against a main wall and turned opposite how a normal bed would be in any hotel room and the back up against the closet near the bathroom. Great so you don't hear possible noisy neighbors, but hard to watch TV at an angle from the bed with it on the small dresser, the TV does rotate but it is at an awkward angle.

My problem with this hotel was upon check out, I had mentioned to the front desk agent about a couple of items of annoyance with the room. First off the tub/shower when you are taking a shower would plug up and you would be standing in the water as it did not drain out very quickly or as quickly as one would like. Secondly, the AC/Heater (side unit), like most rooms was very noisy and got louder as it continually ran whether on heat or A/C. As well as it made a loud banging noise when it shut off like someone slammed the door across the hall multiple times. She said thanks for mentioning it, and that was all she did. Sure I wasn't asking for money off my stay or something in general. But she did not even write anything down or details of the problem to which I mentioned she just went about her business and got my receipt. I have had issues in the past with other Marriott properties and they were quick to note on my hotel stay and a piece of paper the issues and were very sincere about it but yet this hotel and agent did not seem to care. Moreover I am a frequent Marriott guest as well as Rewards member so I believe this situation should have been handled more carefully.

In the end regards to staying at this hotel... I think I would skip staying at this hotel next time and pay a little more for the Residence Inn across the street or the other updated Courtyard a mile away in the same city.

Room Tip: Get a Room AWAY from the Tracks! Very Noisy throughout the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Farnsworth, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Sea-Tac, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
We appreciate all of the feedback we receive from our guests as the information is essential for letting us know what we are doing right and where we may need to make improvements. Since our guest rooms were recently renovated and we want to make certain they remain in the best condition possible, our front desk staff routinely completes work orders to alert both our housekeeping and engineering departments of any needed repairs. Occasionally the associates may complete these orders after the guest leaves the front desk area, as we do want to make certain that we are giving each guest our personal attention. I urge you to please contact me directly with your stay information so that I may double-check on the issues you reported to confirm that they have been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

BE AWARE!!!! We stayed here for one night and left our car here for a week while we were on vacation. He paid for it to stay there and watched while we were on vacation. We came back a week later and our car was gone. Someone had stolen our car. The hotel was unaware of this happening and did not do regular checks on the cars that were there. There are no security cameras set up to monitor activity. All they could do for us was reimburse us with the money we paid to have our car "watched" and parked there. Never again will I park my car in this hotel parking lot nor stay here in fear of another car getting stolen. It was hard earned money that we can never get back. The service and people were great but we can never get our car back. I hope this changes the way they take care of cars that stay there.

Room Tip: Don't park your car there!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Farnsworth, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Sea-Tac, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
I can’t begin to express how upsetting it was to hear that a car had been taken from our parking lot. Like many other hotels, we do offer a park and fly package but we rarely see this type of situation happen. Guests do register their cars with us and we make every attempt to help our guests keep their cars and belongings safe. We also partner with the local police department to help deter any criminal activity on our property, but unfortunately, it is impossible to completely stop it. We do understand how shocked and disappointed our guest must have been to discover their car missing and we hope that the help and assistance that we provided conveyed our sincere concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Room was laid out differently from other hotel rooms making it fresh and new. Despite being in the flight pattern for Sea-Tac, you could not hear the jets anywhere in the hotel nor could we hear any noise from rooms on either side or above (hotel was full) Very, very quiet. Front desk staff was friendly and always willing to help with directions. Would like to see the business center expanded to several computer stations, maybe in a room rather than in the lounge. Would definitely stay again...and again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for one night since it is so close to the airport. From check in to check out everything was perfect. The room was beautiful and had a great balcony. Very spacious!! There is a train track behind the hotel. My room faced it. There is noise from it but I am sure
if you ask for a room facing the front...they would accommodate as their staff is wonderful!! The train didn't bother me but I could see where it could bother some. The mall is very close as is ikea! I would highly recommend thus hotel to anyone needing to be by the airport or a great location for a weekend shopping trip!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The staff were professional and I enjoyed the dinner that room service delivered. However, the one time out of 80+ hotel night stays this year so far across Canada and the USA that I actually needed to ask for deodorant and toothpaste I was surprised that it wasn't offered for free as part of basic hospitality. Otherwise the bedroom (facing the street) was very quiet and comfortable, the location excellent and the price good (online deal).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Shuttle from airport to hotel was very fast. Our room was ready when we arrived at 11:AM. Off to a great start. Nothing special about the hotel. Doesn't have any wow factor anywhere. Was clean but not in the usual Marriott brand type clean. Room was functional but again, boring and just not quite as clean as expected. Bed wasn't Marriott quality and the sheets have seen better days.

Took advantage of the free shuttle to nearby stores. Waited about 10 minutes in the lobby and then on our way. As instructed we called when we were ready. Long story short - 1 hour and 45 minutes later the hotel sent a taxi to get us (at the hotel's expense).

While the staff was friendly, they seemed harried and overworked. Every time we called the hotel, from the airport upon arrival and then during the time we were stranded at Target, we received a thank you for calling and then an abrupt "please hold". Every single time on hold. Long hold times - so long you would hang up thinking you had been forgotten. Of course, only to be placed on hold again.

While the hotel did pick up the taxi expense, no real apology given for the long wait or for the misleading explanations given during our calls asking for updates. We were very tired after travelling cross-country and sitting on a metal bench outside Target for 90+ minutes was not what we had in mind for the afternoon. When we finally returned to the hotel they should have offered us something such as some snacks or something. Anything. But they were busy answering (well placing on hold) the phones.

It is true, the hotel does sit right next to railroad tracks and our room was on the back side of the hotel facing the tracks. Fairly good soundproofing from the trains but still noticeable. Same can't be said for the slamming hallway doors.

Note, there is a convenience store right next door. You do not have to walk along the road to get to it. Go out the side parking lot behind the car wash (you will see that I mean if you are there). Wendy's, Taco Bell, and Jack in the Box about 2 blocks away.

Breakfast was very ordinary. First plate I picked up was covered with dried egg or something orange in color. Again, not great. Hampton Inn has better breakfast as does SpringHill Suites. And you don't pay extra at those properties.

We had originally booked at Embassy Suites(right next store) but switched to Courtyard thinking we would have Marriott Brand standards. We should have stayed at Embassy Suites or the Hampton Inn just down the road.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies. See if you can get one (not facing the tracks).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Sea-Tac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Sea-Tac

Address: 16038 West Valley Highway, Tukwila, WA 98188
Location: United States > Washington > Tukwila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tukwila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Sea-Tac 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Sea-Tac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Seattle Sea-Tac Hotel Tukwila
Courtyard Hotel Tukwila
Courtyard Tukwila
Tukwila Courtyard
Tukwila Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Sea-Tac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.