We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokey smell in room 1831 and bra left in drawer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16500 Southcenter Pkwy., Tukwila, WA 98188-3388   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Tukwila
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Smokey smell in room 1831 and bra left in drawer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the Doubletree on the Remembrance Day long weekend with a shopping bus tour from Kelowna. We got our keys for 1831 and went upstairs. We opened the door and I was overwhelmed by cigarette smoke smell. I have asthma and I couldn't stay in there 10 seconds. After getting a second room (1801) we were a little disturbed when we found a bra in the drawer under the TV.
The salmon dinner we had on the Friday night was outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for staying with us recently over the Remembrance Holiday. I am sorry to hear that both of your rooms were not up to our standards. I will make sure to bring this matter up with our Housekeeping department. I am happy to hear that your salmon dinner was outstanding, and you were able to experience what we here at the DoubleTree can do. I hope you let us show you a better DoubleTree stay when you return again. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    226
    99
    29
    16
See reviews for
175
76
36
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Misawa, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The first time we stayed here was during the voluntary departures from Japan. The staff that took care of us from the pickup at the airport to checking us into our rooms then making sure there was enough staff to help with our bags were very understanding about handling a bunch of stressed out parents and anxious children. I will always remember my great experience with Double Tree, that is why I am so excited we will be staying there again on the 18 and 19th of this month, and I really cannot complain about the price because we got a great deal through a pick your own price site. So glad this time I may enjoy my stay a bit more, and this time it will be my whole family :) Thank you, Double Tree!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for your kind words and for staying with us again. We are so happy to hear you are coming back and this time bringing your family. I am sure this time will be more relaxing then before. You might be able to do some early holiday shopping across from us at the Westfield Mall. If there is anything you need when you are staying with us please let our staff know. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SACRAMENTO
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011 via mobile

We got a good rate online through hotels.com ($99 per night). Would advise travelers to check out other websites first tho- since they charged us for all 7 nights up front in order to get the $99 rate. This hotel also holds a security/amenities amount of $40 per day then reimburses you a few days after departure. Some aspects of room were old (bath tub and sink) and the heater did not work so well. Otherwise it was a comfortable spacious room. Tully's coffee in lobby was great. Walking distance to some restaurants and a huge mall with movie theater. Appreciated airport shuttle. Had to go to another Hilton hotel for laundry facility.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us recently. I am happy to hear that you were able to find a rate that was good for you. I’m sorry that the heater in your room was not working so well, but glad you found our rooms spacious. I hope you were able to enjoy that cup of Tully’s coffee with one of our warm chocolate chip cookies. They make a great pair. Having to do laundry on your vacation can be frustrating and I’m sorry we were unable to accommodate that need for you. I hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel was situated somewhat close to the airport. There was a lot of construction nearby when I stayed and while it was just off of I-5 it was kind of tucked away and hidden from the road. The room was average, nothing to write home about (or to TA!). I did not eat here and arrived fairly late; it was dark and I have no idea what was nearby. The beds were comfortable and the hotel was clean but nothing stood out to me as spectacular. Maybe I'm not giving it a fair shot since others seem to really love it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us recently. I completely understand about the construction nearby. This project is to be done by the end of November, so I hope the next time you are in the Seattle area you will give us another shot. There are plenty of things to do nearby with an REI a block north and tons of restaurants to walk too, I think you will find enough things to do. I am happy to hear that our beds were comfortable and clean for you. I look forward to the opportunity of having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is the kind of hotel at which you want to stay! The front desk staff is friendly, personable, and very welcoming--particularly Mona, Shelly, Steve, Teri Lynn, and Jeremy. I regularly stay at this hotel every time I am in the Seattle area (for graduate school) and always enjoy my Doubletree Southcenter experience. The highlight of my stays, however, are my interactions with the airport shuttle driver, Asman. He is one of the kindest human beings I've ever met--and I've met a lot of human beings all over the world! I find myself hoping Asman is working when the hotel shuttle arrives promptly to pick me up. He is from Ethiopia and is working very, very hard and his family is still back in Ethiopia. We discuss all sorts of things on our rides to and from the hotel. I even mentioned that I loved Ethiopian food and he said, "Oh, well, I'll have to make you some Ethiopian some time!" So the next day, he brought some homemade Ethiopian food to me in my room! I couldn't believe it and hope the hotel recognizes this is the kind of employee that hotels want for a good customer service experience. The entire Doubletree staff is great and I recommend this hotel to every customer looking for a great place to stay in the Seattle area.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the west of the hotel have a good view of the trees. The rooms on the east side sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Wow! Thank you for your kind and generous words. I appreciate your continuous stay with us and it makes me happy to hear we all were able to accommodate your needs. Mona, Shelly, Steve, Teri Lynn, and Jeremy are very friendly and I will pass along to them your kind remarks. Osman has been a long time employee here at the DoubleTree and we do value his amazing customer service. I will most definitely pass along to him your appreciation. Thank you again for your recommendations and we can’t wait to have you back with us, where the little things mean everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Top Contributor
406 reviews 406 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We arrived here on 10/22/2011 after a long driving experience. The in Hotel restaurant was closed as it was after the lunch hours. We were directed to the Bar that also serves food from the lunch menu. Our drink and lunch orders were take very fast. A short time latter our lunch arrived. It was very good with drink refills without request–a great sign of good service. Our room was big, an entry room with TV, microwave, refrigerator, bar area and convertible sofa bed. The main bedroom had the sink outside of the bathroom–a great thing when your wife drys her hair. The bathroom and rest of the suite was very clean with no issues detected. The soundproof walls and ceiling provides a quiet sleep environment that we enjoyed. During our stay, there were meetings and conferences being held that did not affect our quiet room. I would recommend this Hotel as it's all a traveler desires at a reasonable cost. The parking area is good but do not leave "stuff" visible in your vehicle. When in the area again, we would stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
I am sorry to hear you had such a long driving experience, but I’m glad we were able to make you feel more comfortable when you arrived. I’m always hungry after a long drive, so I’m happy to hear your lunch was so good. I hope you enjoyed our Sweet Dreams Pillows while getting a good nights sleep too. Thank you for your recommendation and we can’t wait to have you back when you visit Seattle again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed her for my birthday 2 years running. love the room setup. kids take the pull out and get their own tv and we take the bedroom. So close to shopping you can walk to everything. Check in is always easy and the kids love the warm cookies.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Happy Belated Birthday and thank you for staying with us on your special day. It’s always important to have that extra room for the kids so that you can have some peace and quite. I am happy to hear they enjoyed the warm cookies and I hope you too enjoy some warm chocolate goodness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter

Address: 16500 Southcenter Pkwy., Tukwila, WA 98188-3388
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tukwila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tukwila
#4 Family Hotel in Tukwila
#4 Business Hotel in Tukwila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tukwila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport – Southcenter, located only three miles from Seattle Tacoma International Airport (SEA), just south of the I-5 and I-405 intersection. Use the complimentary hotel airport shuttle bus service and ample parking facilities. You’ll receive a warm welcome to this Seattle airport hotel with a signature chocolate chip cookie and enjoy a wide range of amenities like high-speed internet access. The Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport – Southcenter is conveniently situated for access to Seattle, Tacoma, Bellevue and the Port of Seattle. If you’re a business traveler, you’ll enjoy the proximity to major Pacific Northwest industries and corporations like Boeing facilities, Alteon, Microsoft, Weyerhaeuser and Starbucks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Seattle Southcenter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.