We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16201 West Valley Highway, Tukwila, WA 98188   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Tukwila
Reno, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at this Residence Inn, Nov 8 - 11, 2012. Our room was very nice and roomy - we felt like we had our own little apartment. The staff were friendly and attentive. The included breakfast every morning was satisfying and plentiful. There was always a close place to park in conjunction with our room. There are quite a few restaurants and fast food eateries in the area and its an easy 15-20 minute drive to downtown Seattle. We opted to stay outside of Seattle to save money and appreciated that parking was included with our stay. We would definitely stay at this location again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TukwilaGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the style and layout of our rooms. Please think of us next time your travels bring you back to Seattle.

Best regards,

David Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    27
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
32
25
3
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My stay at the Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila was an absolute joy. The staff was very friendly and willing to help with whatever. Their shuttle was very useful with getting where I needed to get and they were very accommodating. Everyone was very friendly and the environment of the hotel was very professional yet extremely friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone who was staying in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TukwilaGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Jessica,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and hope to see you again in for your future travels.

Best regards,

David Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this Residence Inn for an (extremely) extended stay this fall. I can't say enough good things about this place. The staff is excellent, the rooms are spotless and very comfortable. The fact that there's a full kitchen (cooktop AND oven) in the unit is excellent. The breakfast buffet has an excellent selection, and the dinner reception is great, as well. Everyone was awesome here, and I'll definitely be staying here when I'm back in the Seattle area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TukwilaGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you chose our hotel for your extended stay trip to Seattle. I shared your comments with our staff today and they were thrilled to know we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again if your travels bring you back to the area.

Safe travels!

David Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Va
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stay in a lot of Residence Inns and generally enjoy them. This one is one of the best I have stayed in. We stayed Friday-Monday. I started to list all the staff who were helpful, but actually they all were. Everyone had a friendly greeting and were willing to answer any question. The hotel actually runs its shuttle to take you back and forth from the light rail station going downtown! No parking hassle etc. They have an above average breakfast buffet and are very good at keeping everything stocked even at the busiest times. They have take-out boxes and even some cups for juice with tops that several kids were useing. Rooms were typical to slightly better and they are very near the airport with shuttle service. No need for a car if you are coming in from Sea-Tac and intend to explore downtown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TukwilaGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I look forward to reviewing feedback and comments from our guests. I'm happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We hope to see you again next time you're in the Seattle area.

Best regards,

David Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
166 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
403 helpful votes 403 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

And by location, I mean nearby (walking distance) things of interest. Less than a mile away are Southcenter Mall (you might as well walk; we literally couldn't find a place to park there on a Saturday; had to leave), Target, Olive Garden and tons of other shops.
You can take the light rail from Tukwila to downtown Seattle, and enjoy the tourist offerings there, also.
But, I digress. The hotel is the mid-80s variety Residence Inn, which looks like an apartment complex, and is comprised of several two-story apartment units. The outside is somewhat offputting, since it is behind a 7/11, in what looks like a strip mall - but the rooms are immaculate, and really well appointed. A full stove AND oven, as well as the microwave and full-sized refrigerator.
The staff, was without exception, friendly, helpful and genuine.
The only thing that troubled us was the QUEEN sized bed in the studio; don't get me wrong, the studio was plenty large for the two of us, and had a wonderful fireplace (it was COOOLLLLLDD), but we have a definite preference for a king-sized bed.
This hotel would definitely be our property of choice in the SeaTac area.
As an aside, a short drive away, one can find a Trader Joe's (Burien), and a Fred Meyer (Renton).
We hope to return.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor, and request a second floor room. We elected for the ground floor, and had to de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TukwilaGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review for our hotel. I'm glad to hear you liked our central location, and friendly staff. I hope to see you again next time your travels bring you to Seattle.

Safe travels,

David Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was on business in the Tukwila area for one month. The outside did not look the best but when I got inside I was pleasantly surprised at all of the modern upgrades. It was just myself and I stayed in a studio. There was plenty of room and the staff were awesome. I am used to those efficiency type kitchens with the tiny ovens and small refrigerators but this place had full size appliances and they were all new. Its in a pretty great location too. Close to the mall and a ton of restaurants. The gym is kind of a joke. One treadmill and I think a pair of 5lb dumbbells but I went down the street (less than a mile) to the LA Fitness and paid about 40 dollars for the month. It was a good experience and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would make sure and stay on the second floor so you dont have people stomping around above you all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TukwilaGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I'm glad that you liked our updated spacious suites!! We hope that you stay with us next time your travels bring you to the Seattle area.

Safe travels!

David Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A rare find today -great staff, a real breakfast and a warm and hearty manager's reception. Always greeted by a smile. Their courtesy shuttle van is fantastic - due to the service and their driver Doug. Stayed here on our way to Alaska and again on the way home - a great find - wish all could be like this Residence Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be equal - some a bit farter than others from the office - however easily accessib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TukwilaGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I always look forward to reading reviews especially when employees are mentioned by name! Doug is definitely one of our superstars!

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next time your travels bring you to the Seattle area.

Safe travels!

David Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila

Address: 16201 West Valley Highway, Tukwila, WA 98188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tukwila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tukwila
#3 Family Hotel in Tukwila
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tukwila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re traveling to Seattle for business or leisure, the Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle South/Tukwila offers you the perfect ‘Home away from Home’. Our renovated all-suite property features new 37” HD flat screen TVs and has fully equipped kitchens in each guest room featuring granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, full-size refrigerators, 4-burner stove, oven, and microwave. Join us each morning for a complimentary hot breakfast buffet featuring a variety of healthy and indulgent items. Unwind at our Evening Social held Monday through Thursday featuring a light dinner with beer, wine and soda. Stay connected with our business center and complimentary WI-FI throughout our hotel. Residence Inn Seattle South/Tukwila is conveniently located close to Seattle Tacoma International Airport and only 15 minutes to downtown Seattle. Minutes from the Museum of Flight, Starfire Sports complex, and the largest mall in Washington State, Westfield Southcenter Mall, it’s the perfect location for shopping, dining and entertainment. Boeing Training and Flight Services and Boeing Field and Delivery Center are also just down the street, providing a hassle-free commute for our corporate travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila Hotel Tukwila
Residence Inn Tukwila
Tukwila Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.