We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Southcenter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Southcenter to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Southcenter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Andover Park West, Tukwila, WA 98188   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Tukwila
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel was quite nice for the area. The Courtyard is located in Tukwila, WA. south of Seattle very near the airport. Across the street from a large mall and lots of shopping. Near many restaurants and entertainment. The area itself is okay being a single woman I did not walk out alone after dark but felt very comfortable during the day.

The hotel staff were great! The girl who checked me in remembered I was meeting friends and asked me if we had fun she even remembered me the next day and waved to me as I left for the day. Nice clean rooms. Ask for an even numbered room to be away from the street noises.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASC11, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Southcenter, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay. I am happy you found the location convenient to the shopping mall, many restaurant selections, and general things to do. I have passed your comments on to the front desk, since I'm unsure of the team member who acknowledged you several times during your trip. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you the next time you are in the Seattle area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    97
    23
    4
    11
See reviews for
82
41
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here recently and they totally ignored my Gold Status .. had a room on the first floor facing the road which was very loud.
I don't know what it is but every other Marriott Property whether a Springhill or a full fledge Marriott hotel will thank me for being a loyal traveler. Nada, nothing , then I thought my reservation did not contain my number ? Nope it was there ... then to get stuck with such a lousy room as icing on the cake. Parking here is pretty awful - hard to park close to your room - most of the parking is way out back . There are many other hotels in the area Id suggest you use on of them.

Room Tip: Get a room with a even number and you should be facing away from the road ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASC11, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Southcenter, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I apologize that your stay with us was not up to a standard for Marriott hotels. As a Gold member, you should always be acknowledged for your loyalty to the Marriott brand. I have taken your comments back to my team, so we can use it as a training tool to provide a higher level of service. Again, I apologize for the lack of acknowledgement during your stay, and I hope you would give us another opportunity to regain your confidence the next time you are in the Seattle area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, B.C.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was the first time we stayed at this property and will definitely return again. We stayed in the 2 bedroom loft. It was very comfy and lots of space. The area is set up like small apartment complexes with walkways between the units. Very quiet and we felt very safe. The reception staff were great, very friendly and helpful. The evening reception and breakfast was grear, very relaxed atmosphere and if you chose to take your meal back to your room to enjoy they had take out boxes. The pool was outside and water was warm.

Room Tip: Top units with loft very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASC11, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Southcenter, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments and feedback. We are glad you found your stay pleasant and enjoyable. We hope to see you again when you are in the Seattle area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel property is nice and the rooms are very comfortable and big. Nice set up. The hotel is currently under renovation but they managed to disturb the less possible. The staff is friendly and are always concern about you as a guest, they treat everyone as a valued customer. There is only one issue with this hotel and it is their unstable internet connection, aside from that, i like it very much!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I recently stayed at the courtyard for a shopping weekend away with a friend. The location was great - conveniently close to the mall, shops and restaurants. It was just a short walk away from everything. The room was clean and comfortable. Very quiet area - especially the rooms facing in to the courtyard. The people at the front desk were friendly, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASC11, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Southcenter, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments. I'm happy you were able to take advantage of the location of the hotel with its close proximity to the mall and local restaurants. It's all just a short walk in the nice Seattle weather. I have a great team at the hotel, and pleased to hear they were friendly, welcoming, and helpful during your time with us. We hope to see you again when you are in the Seattle area and looking for a nice quiet and conveniently located hotel.
Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was a standard Courtyard. It was clean and very convenient to a large mall and plenty of restaurants. A co-workers wife was with us and would walk to the mall and other stores while we worked. Very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASC11, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Southcenter, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel. One of the many conveniences of this Courtyard is its location, which is within walking distance to the mall and restaurants, as well as, away from the noisy highway and train tracks located next to other hotels in the area. One of the most important things regarding a guest's stay is to have a quiet night's sleep. Be assured you can get that here. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed for a single overnight at the Courtyard by Marriott located near the Southcenter mall in Tukwila (a suburb of Seattle relatively close to Seattle-Tacoma International Airport). Our stay was strictly a convenience for visiting friends on the Seattle area. Since we didn’t want to spend a lot of money on a room for a single overnight we used Priceline to name a price and our bid was accepted by this hotel.

I’ve stayed at many Courtyards over the years, with most of them varying from acceptable to excellent. This stay leans toward the excellent end of the spectrum. We arrived quite late from a late evening dinner with friends up north in Seattle proper. The night desk clerk was exceptionally efficient and friendly. The following has occurred to me on numerous occasions, but when we arrive quite late in the evening for a check in we tend to get rooms that are meant for the disabled. This is merely an observation. On this stay we were placed in a room with the extra large bathroom and oversized doors meant for accommodating a wheelchair.

The facility is not brand new; however it has been very recently remodeled, including some of the Courtyard brand touches, such as the giant info touch screen in the lobby and the bright pallet of secondary colors, like greens and oranges in the public spaces. The hotel has an onsite restaurant, but we didn’t choose to eat there during our stay.

Aside from the size of our room, we immediately noticed that new carpet smell. The room’s overall appearance indicated that it has been recently remodeled. Furniture had no scuff marks in typical places, such as low on the legs of night stands and desks, that you typically see in a hotel room that has been in use for a few years. The bathroom was immaculate and the tile work in the shower surround and the floor also had no stains and appeared to be nearly new. The biggest issue with getting an ADA equipped room is that the bathroom is huge, but there is no counter space. The vanity counter was just large enough for the toiletry tray, and a towel.

On the right side of the vanity was a tray that contained the in room coffee maker, mugs and coffee service. I’m kind of a clean freak, so having a coffee maker on a tray in a bathroom less than 2 feet from a toilet is a huge turn off. No way would I use that coffee maker or the mugs on that tray as they were in a bathroom in close proximity to a toilet. Gross! Looking around the hotel room, there was plenty of desk space on the chest of drawers and on the work desk for the coffee maker and accessories to live, so I couldn’t figure out why they were being stored in the bathroom on a small vanity.

Parking is free, so is wireless Internet. Be forewarned, you will be offered to “upgrade” your Internet to faster wireless Internet on the login page for the hotel’s Internet system. You don’t have to upgrade, but they indicate that the faster Internet is meant for those who will be watching streaming video or teleconferencing. We used the free wireless Internet and found it to work perfectly well, however we didn’t torture test it with streaming Netflix or any other high demand item.

The location is near the Southcenter mall, so finding food off site should be very easy as the mall has plenty of big chain dining options.

I would gladly stay here again, either as a Priceline booking or a direct booking with Marriott.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms face the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASC11, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Southcenter, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay. Your feedback is important to us to improve future overall guest service. I appreciate your thoughts regarding the coffee maker in close proximity to the bathroom. We will take your idea and move those items to a better location for future guests. Thank you again for the feedback, and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Seattle area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Southcenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Southcenter

Address: 400 Andover Park West, Tukwila, WA 98188
Location: United States > Washington > Tukwila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tukwila
#6 Business Hotel in Tukwila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Southcenter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Southcenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Seattle Southcenter Hotel Tukwila
Courtyard Hotel Tukwila
Courtyard Seattle Southcenter
Courtyard Tukwila
Tukwila Marriott
Tukwila Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Southcenter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.