We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but not for a romantic getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly's Trout Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trout Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kelly's Trout Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Kelly's Trout Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
25 Mt. Adams Road, Trout Lake, WA 98650   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Trout Lake B&B and Inns
New York City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Nice place, but not for a romantic getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

My boyfriend and I had both been working very hard and wanted to have a quiet, romantic weekend together, and get some hiking in, as well. We chose Kelly's because of the proximity to good hiking. Kelly's is a cute place to stay. We stayed in the victorian room, which had a private bathroom and was decorated according to the theme. We loved the hot tub, and the breakfast was spectacular. We were also treated to some leftover pie, which was delicious. It is a great value for the price.

The main problem was that the owner, Kelly, was so friendly and chatty, that we found ourselves politely listening to him talk about music for over an hour, when we were trying to read quietly in front of the fire. I should add that we really weren't part of the conversation. He was just telling us story after story, and even made us listen to songs off of his favorite CDs. We eventually retreated to our room, just to have some privacy and quiet, but it was too early to go to bed and we would have loved to be snuggling in front of the fire in the living room. The next morning, we enjoyed our breakfast and were ready to get on our way, and again we found ourselves entangled in a lengthy conversation with Kelly, when we really just wanted to get to the hiking trails. I feel bad leaving a negative review, because Kelly and Marilyn were both so nice. I just think it should be stated that this is a great place to bring the family, and a nice place to spend the night while passing through, but not a good romantic getaway spot, as we had been hoping for.

I will also say that since we stayed there in the off-season and we were the only guests, Kelly may have been more chatty than usual, as none of the other reviewers seem to mention having this problem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Kelly and his wife, Marilyn are really great hosts. Marilyn cooked an amazing breakfast of quiche, potatoes, sausage, fresh fruit, and huckleberry-zucchini pancakes...delicious!! Kelly is great to talk to and the grounds are beautiful. We stayed in the Creekside Suite and although there was a shared bathroom, we never had a problem getting into the bathroom when we needed it as the other room on the floor had a 1/2 bath. The bed, although from first glance, I was worried that it was old and uncomfortable, was actually one of the most comfy beds I have slept on in a B&B. There is a really great restaurant down the street called Serenity's if you are looking for a very nice, romantic meal. It was a lovely way to spend our anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

The B&B is an excellent, quiet location for playing on/around Mt. Adams, the breakfasts were outstanding, and the setting is very beautiful next to the creek which cascades down into little pools beside the yard. Kelly & Marilyn were great hosts, and it was a very memorable stay with them. Thoroughly enjoyed: general friendly atmosphere, food, Marilyn's dried floral artwork, Kelly's music collection/knowledge, info provided on local hiking/activities, and beautiful Mt. Adams. Hated: Mosquitoes. Bring plenty of reliable bug repellent!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Stayed for just one night en route to Mount Hood, travelling from the UK. We were met by Kelly who is a great host, very welcoming and friendly; he clearly enjoys meeting new people and particularly discussing music taste and concerts. We had the largest room which overlooks the creek and it was lovely. For when it got dark our room had a video and loads of films. The inn is a very old building and is charming. Marilyn cooked an extensive breakfast in the morning, lovely and very filling! Hot tub adjacent to the stream and Wi-fi in rooms.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

I came here for a reunion with a couple of childhood friends. We had a great time having our dinner on the patio right next to the lovely creek. Not only was the inn charming and clean, but I was really surprised to have free wireless internet in my room!! Marilyn and Kelly make a great team running the place, and their kitchen craft is formidable. We'll certainly be back.

Also, the most expensive room is $70, which is less than the average price quoted here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We went for an event in Trout Lake and discovered a little piece of heaven. We arrived to a friendly greeting by Kelly, were given the tour and pretty much were astounded by their Inn. Kelly was not only the friendliest host I have ever encountered but made my wife and I feel comfortable and welcomed (which is not a familiar feeling these days; i.e. customer service). Anyway, we enjoyed the hot tub while watching the roaring stream roll by (which is about 20 feet from the hot tub), we listened to wonderful music and were given a very friendly run down of the goings on around their parts. Each morning we were there we were treated to the best breakfast we had ever had. It was huckleberry pancakes one day, cherry turnover the next, eggs and fresh fruits everyday. The coffee is always brewing and if you need anything they are there to help you. We will definately stay there again.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

We spent two wonderful days and nights in the tranquil surroundings of Kelly's B&B in Trout Lake. We took a day trip down to the Columbia River (we did the half day river cruise) and stopped for a tour of Bonneville Dam (we watched the salmon climb the ladders through the underwater windows!). Our days started off with a fantastic breakfast prepared by Marilyn and enjoyed in the cozy dining room with several other guests. All and all, Kelly's is a real "find" for travelers to the beautiful Mt. Adams area of Washington.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kelly's Trout Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's Trout Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 25 Mt. Adams Road, Trout Lake, WA 98650
Location: United States > Washington > Trout Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Trout Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly's Trout Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.