We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated Motel That's More B&B, For Both Humans and Dogs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trout Lake Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trout Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trout Lake Valley Inn
Save
You added Trout Lake Valley Inn to your Saves list
2300 Highway 141, Trout Lake, WA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trout Lake
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Wa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Understated Motel That's More B&B, For Both Humans and Dogs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Great home base for exploring the mount adams area, which is just beautiful. This is not your average motel by the highway. This is more B&B/inn with that same homely and warm touch. Big, clean rooms and comfy beds, for both man/woman and dog alike! Our dog didn't even want to sleep in his own bed that we brought from home. Oh, the stars on the ceiling were a nice touch! And we woke up to birds chirping outside the rooms in front of open fields. And, we had a great breakfast spread waiting. Which we tucked into after we took the dog to the park just 10 steps from the inn, which had picnic tables, a hammock, and poo bags. And there's more, we didn't get to use the hot tub or the bbq pits! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
35
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

I am greatful for finding this awesome motel when they first opened. Took a chance because word of mouth from the man who helped build it. Have been there numerous times, mostly with girlfriends for a quick overnight getaway. But also took my husband twice. Have never been let down, My husband and I have traveled extensively and have never had such awesome hosts as with Dave & Carly. They have always accomodated our needs. There truly is nothing to do but relax and enjoy the calm. Although on our way there, we always stop at BZ Corner for their famous fried chicken. I never thought I'd stay at a "motel." But I wouldn't call this a motel, it's more like a lodge with a fabulous breakfast with personalized service. We will definitely return again soon.
David & Debra

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

My friends and I have traveled the world and came to the conclusion that this is one of the finest places we have ever stayed. The attention to detail paid by Dave, Carly and Sarah is unparalleled. Their warmth and energy pervade the place. The rooms are beautiful and impeccably clean, the breakfast they provide is delicious, and the little park across the parking lot is tranquil and inviting. We've never felt so pampered.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

Our two night stay at this Inn was absolutely delightful! Gorgeous area with very charming hosts!!

Sharon McElroy

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed two nights in large, comfortable rooms. The motel has only 13 rooms and provides a delicious, continental breakfast with waffels, upon request. The free internet connection is strong. The owners are very friendly and readily share information about the area. Trout Lake consists mainly of a General Store, a gas station and two eating establishments. Come prepared to enjoy the beautiful views of Mt. Adams, the hiking trails and the friendly people who live in the area. A small park and fast moving creek grace the grounds of the motel. We had a wonderful stay and particularly enjoyed picking wild huckleberries, for which the area is known.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

What a great little motel. We expected a "fixed up" older place, but in fact Dave and Carley and family have built a charming little home-away-from-home from scratch--neat, cute, comfy, welcoming! The log furnishings and decor, both in the rooms and on the porch, are truly fitting to the mountain setting. The little "park" on the creek was very relaxing. The sweet potato waffles were to die for! Dave and his daughter Sarah were friendly and helpful. Seemed more like B&B than motel. And for all this, the rates were more than reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selah, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

My 67 yr. old husband and our two teenage granddaughters wanted to climb Mt. Adams. I have more sense than that and the dog agreed with me. We could not have found any better place to wait for our climbers than the Trout Lake Motel. In all honesty, it didn't feel like staying in a motel. It felt like visiting relatives....the ones on your Mom's side that you really like....not the whacked out weirdos on your Dad's side that you don't admit you know! We had some moderate whining from our teens because there wasn't a swimming pool but they enjoyed the hot tub and the other whining teens therein. The dog loved her little bed in front of the fireplace and the "potty garden" across the parking lot. We had a wonderful two day stay and plan on spending more time there in the future. Now, that I've shared all our joy, please don't run out and book up all the rooms so that we never get to stay there again! Practice moderation and we can all enjoy what Dave and Carly have created!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trout Lake Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trout Lake Valley Inn

Address: 2300 Highway 141, Trout Lake, WA
Location: United States > Washington > Trout Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trout Lake
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Trout Lake Hotel Trout Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trout Lake Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.