We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One size doesn't fit all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount St. Helens Adventures Tours Eco-Park and Tent & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toutle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount St. Helens Adventures Tours Eco-Park and Tent & Breakfast
Save
You added Mount St. Helens Adventures Tours Eco-Park and Tent & Breakfast to your Saves list
14000 Spirit Lake Hwy. (P.O. Box 149), Toutle, WA 98649   |  
Hotel amenities
holland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One size doesn't fit all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Might be OK if you are tenting. We stayed here as nearest accommodation with places available & in easy reach Mt St Helens. We ere in one of the cabins - OK but no cook facilities, and a trudge through the dark to rest roooms. The gates close very early (8pm) so difficult to eat out as there's nowehre near, yet the on-site cafe closes EARLY. The menu was pretty sparse and absolutely could not cater for vegetarians. Front desk was a bit haphazrd. Splendid location, but if you don't want to camp, you may as well find somewhere say 30 miles further out from teh mountain and have more convenience for sake of half hour drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Fun and best way to rough it without the inconvenience of having to do it all yourself. Nice cabin and facilities but overwhelmed by the professionalism of the people owning and running the park. Quiet and no nonsense and great food. I cannot imagine visiting this area without staying here again. The best thing is the little hike from the park to the volcano debris field - we saw about 75 elk at twilight, and it was among the best travel experiences we've ever had. Next time, we will stay more than 1 night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chimacum, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a reservation elsewhere and ended up not checking in after driving through the other "park". We did not have a reservation at Eco Park but drove in and inquired about a tent site or cabin for the night. Mark the owner was in the resturaunt and was more than happy to help us pick our lodging for the night. The owners run a tight ship NO loud partying here which is what we wanted quiet .... The cabin we stayed in was quaint with gas lights a nice table for dining and a nice "backyard" off the back porch with a swing. The tent sites are seperated, have lush well kept grass. Their "comfort" stations are small building with bathrooms, two cabins to each one. They are equiped with a propane shower, a toilet and sink. What a neat place, we are looking forward to staying again. There are plenty of activities, we chose a short hour hike (round trip) that was easy to the mud flats....Mark was exceptionaly helpful and his wife Donna is an absolute kick in the pants. Thank you we are coming back and soon!
The only drawback is there is a communal fire pit at night, we would liked to have had a private fire but the idea is to mingle with other guests...still a great place to be no matter what.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a truly magical place this is! From the moment we met the super friendly and funny owner Dawn we knew this was the perfect place to stay. We rented cabin #2 situated in a beautiful open, lush field that was being mowed when we arrived. The cabin was clean, had a queen and bunk bed so that a family of 4 can sleep comfortably. There was 3 of us and seeing that the weather forecast was sunny for the next 2 days I decided to camp just outside the back of the cabin. I was going to rent a camping spot but since we paid for 4 person cabin Dawn let me camp for free :-)

After settling it we decided to walk around the grounds to check out the yurts (domed tent structure that can accommodate up to 6 people) and a bigger dorma yurt that can accommodate up to 10. They looked really cozy with fireplace and plenty of natural light coming through the dome top and walls. The other reviewers explained in detail the comfort stations located throughout the camp grounds so i won't go into that but I will say that they were clean, efficient, albeit it a bit cramped (showers) and you better be sure to time your shower or bring light or you'll be showering in the dark!

What was perhaps the hi-light of the day is when we hiked along the logging road located in the park we were fortunate to see a group of elks grazing in a field. They were beautiful and we were lucky to snap a few pictures before they disappeared into the forest. The next day we signed up for the 1 hr. horseback ride with Mark, the husband of Dawn, who was excellent in guiding us around the park with his well trained beautiful horses. Mark was the perfect guide, patient, informative and a wealth of information. He took us on a 6-7 mile ride through lush meadows, narrow trails and down to the beach front where you get a fantastic view of Mt. St. Helen's and the Toutle river. If you get the chance, do not pass this up it was worth the $40!

We definitely recommend this wonderful place and hope to return soon with more friends and family. Dawn and Mark love their job and it shows by how they treat their visitors and how they respect and care for the park.

Room Tip: for more privacy choose cabins #4, 5, 6 they are situated away from the main area. campsites are e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

If you are a camper, this is a great alternative especially because it rains quite a lot in that area, and I don't care how much you might love to camp....camping in the rain STINKS!
(Although you CAN camp there too.) We stopped in Portland and loaded up on local cheese and wine and other treats for our two days on the mountain...perfect!

CABIN:
Cabins are good sized, we stayed in cabin #1 which had a propane fridge, two propane lanterns, water cooler with cups, a nice table with chairs and a very effective heater. They give you a lighter for the propane stuff. Bed was comfy and had enough blankets. Towels are provided. Not all cabins have a fridge, so make sure to inquire if you need one. Our cabin had a nice back porch that looked out over the mountains where we spend ample time post-hike with a good bottle of wine.

BATHROOMS:
Bathrooms don't have lights, just skylights, so you have to plan accordingly. My husband and I came back from a late hike and I had to hand crank the lantern while he showered, and vice versa, it was hilarious. (The fact that we own a hand crank lantern might explain why we dig off grid places like Eco Park!) Bathrooms are apart from cabins, but very close by, and have flush toilets, a shower, sink, hot water and are nice and clean. You DO need shower shoes though.

GATES:
They do close the gates at a certain hour, but I am sure that if you told them you needed to be out late, they would accommodate you, everyone was incredibly nice. If you plan to do any big hikes this is a great place to stay, you can get a very early start since it's so close to the crater.

BIGFOOT, ELK, and JAMES BOND:
We didn't have any Bigfoot sightings, but the elk were mating and the calls were very cool! One eco park employee, James Bond (His real, completely awesome name!) had the elk calls on his cell phone and played them for us so we would know what they sounded like. :)

CAFE:
They say the cafe closes at six, but James Bond made sure we got to eat despite our late arrival, and Mark made me Matcha Green Tea in the morning before our hike, what a treat! There are not a lot of options for vegetarians, but I anticipated that and brought fixings for myself. They did have a garden burger that was what you'd expect...it was as good as any I've made myself.

RECAP:
Bring: Shower shoes, Lantern or flashlight, umbrella or poncho, cooler & ice if you don't have a cabin with a fridge.
It's the mountains, pack layered clothes.
Everyone is nice, just tell them if you plan to arrive late or stay out late.
Vegetarians, bring some supplemental vittles.
Talk to your hosts, they are awesome and know more about the area than any guide book.
If skies are clear, get your sorry butt out of bed and get to the crater! They only have 120 clear days a year, which we averages at something like a 1 in 16 chance of getting an entire day of clear view. We got just that and it was spectacular! Sept is apparently the best time to see the crater.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rescue, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Our family likes camping. We decided to give cabins a try because we were traveling to Washington by plane and wouldn't have our gear. It seemed the cabins could offer a camping-like experience.

The Eco Park Resort is peaceful. The tent sites looked lovely with large sites of lush clipped grass. The cabins are just OK and could be really great with a few upgrades. Our cabin had a propane heater, two propane lamps, a queen bed, and two bunk beds. It also came with linens (a bottom sheet, top sheet, and quilt - no mattress pads), 4 pillows, and 4 towels. Cabins come with a refrigerator and have a table with 4 chairs. There is no cooking at the cabins so this means one has to eat meals out or bring cold foods.

We envisioned eating several meals at the resort’s cafe, but ended up just having one breakfast. While the breakfast was OK, it inspired us to see if we could find something tastier, and we did (19 Mile House has great homemade cobbler). Additionally, the cafe is open 6 am to 6 pm. This works well for breakfast and lunch, but really doesn't work for dinner, unless you like to eat at 5 PM or so.

In July daylight lasts until 9:30 pm or so. It encourages one to be out later to check out the sights. However, the Eco Park gates close at 8 PM. We would have liked more time in the evening, especially given the day had been cloudy and finally cleared off in the evening.

Here are a few ways the cabins could be improved. When paying over $100 per night, a decent mattress is a common expectation. The queen bed was creaky. The mattress seemed like the type one finds on a fold-out couch. The cabin would have been much nicer with more natural daylight. The curtains hung over a third of the windows, reducing daylight from windows. We used two restrooms and both appeared to need some maintenance (holes in the flooring). The mirrors are hung too high for shorter people to use (at 5'2" I could only see the top of my head in the restroom near our cabin). So...there are these little things that start to add up. It is a lovely location. With a bit more care given to some of the basics and maintenance, I'd be able to recommend the cabins.

All the staff we met were nice and helpful. This is definitely a hunter type environment captured on the t-shirt worn by a manager, "PETA, People Eating Tasty Animals".

I'd recommend the Eco Park for tent camping and for those who don't plan on being out past 8 PM. Mt Saint Helens is really worth visiting. The first time we went to up to the look out it was foggy and we couldn't see a thing. We returned to bright sunshine the next day and it was stunning!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

The 4 of us (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed at Eco Park Lodge in a cabin. It was warm & cozy with clean beds, linens and towels. The cabins are a rustic log cabin style with propane heat and lights and a nice sized refrigerator powered by propane. This made the perfect base camp for exploring Mt St. Helens. We were able to spend hours visiting the Johnston Ridge Observatory at the top of road 504 and the Forest Learning center. It was an easy drive back to the Eco Park Lodge. We then hiked around the surrounding area of the Park. We saw elk within 150 feet of where we were hiking - Very Cool.
The comfort stations (detached/shared bathrooms) were very nice and clean and warm. Much better than I had expected.
The owners, Mark & Dawn, were a joy to talk with and a wealth of information. They are very ecologically conscientious in the way they run the Park thus the name "Eco Park Lodge".

  • Liked — convenience of location, Owners were interesting
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount St. Helens Adventures Tours Eco-Park and Tent & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount St. Helens Adventures Tours Eco-Park and Tent & Breakfast

Address: 14000 Spirit Lake Hwy. (P.O. Box 149), Toutle, WA 98649
Location: United States > Washington > Toutle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Toutle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Mount St. Helens Adventures Tours Eco-Park And Tent & Breakfast Washington/Toutle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount St. Helens Adventures Tours Eco-Park and Tent & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.