We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food bad service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Two Koi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Two Koi
1552 Commerce Ave, Tacoma, WA
253-274-8999
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 596 Restaurants in Tacoma
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Fusion
Good for: Doing business
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Each person loved the food but sat around after we were eating for 45 minutes to get check. The periods between visits were way to long. If they were busy I would understand more but that was not the case.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamesville, New York, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasty and fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very fresh fish, with some traditional dishes and some very inventive rolls. The wait staff was cheery if overwhelmed by being understaffed the night we were there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
638 reviews 638 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 228 cities Reviews in 228 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We enjoyed Two Koi. Service was fast. Decor is comfortable and fairly modern. The server recommended a bottle of Momokawa sake from Oregon which we enjoyed. Tempura was a bit greasy, but OK. Fish was fresh and the California rolls were made with real crab. Eel was a bit dry. It's just across the street from the Tacoma Museum of Art and a short walk from the Hotel Murano. Prices are not cheap, but also not out of line for good sushi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good sushi, but that's it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The sushi here is good, but over-priced. And the other Japanese dishes are just not good. Seems more like a bar scene than a food scene anyway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helix
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great tuna rolls!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I asked the waitress for something with avocado, tuna, that had a spicy kick. She recommended the Tuna Box and it was great! Excellent sake selection as well! I also enjoyed the agadashi tofu as an appetizer.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Koi also viewed

 

Been to Two Koi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Koi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.