We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy Moly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vien Dong Restaurant

Vien Dong Restaurant
3801 Yakima Ave, Tacoma, WA 98418-5020
253-472-6668
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 655 restaurants in Tacoma
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Holy Moly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Wow, what a nice surprise. In the heart of Tacoma's little Saigon. This place has some of the best Pho Ive ever had! Service was beyond professional for a mom and pop place like this. On a cold day its priceless to have a nice hot pot of tea within two seconds of sitting down. They understand hospitality is part of running a restaurant. Fired rice to Pho, this is the place to go. LOVED IT.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    16
    6
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic, Authentic Food, Courteous Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Authentic Vietnamese food. The menu is massive. I have eaten at Vien Dong many times over many years and I have never had a meal that wasn't amazing. Very simple decor, not the best, but it doesn't matter. The real stars here are the food and the employees. If you're willing to reserve judgement until you step inside the door, you will be in for a warm welcome and a true taste treat that is very easy on the wallet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It's all about the food. I eat in quite a few Vietnamese restaurants, but this is by far the best in the area. The chicken in the Chicken Lemon Grass is slightly seared before sauteing, giving it a deeper, richer flavor. The spring rolls are the freshest I've ever had anywhere, and the peanut sauce is great. The tofu dishes are superb.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Really Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Only have had Pho a few times, an never really thought too much about it. Broth soup isn't my favorite. Vien Dong has changed my mind. The place is generally packed, and the great food is the reason why. This is a place I would go miles out of my way for, without a second's thought. Huge portions, economical, tasty, authentic, eager to please. This place will be well worth your while.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Fresh, tasty and so very cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I travel often and continually find myself craving the food here regardless of where in the world I may be.

As others have referred to this as a dive that comment sorely deserves clarification. There is little to no ambiance but the place is meticulously clean. There may not be a dance floor and mood lighting, but I assure you, you'll do the happy dance after meal here.

A consistently outstanding staff, huge portions and cheap prices and what can only be described as really "clean" food prepared conscientiously. So fresh you'll wonder where other restaurants get their produce from as little else can compare.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vien Dong Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vien Dong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vien Dong Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.