We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT DONUTS!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Donuts of Lakewood

House of Donuts of Lakewood
9638 Gravelly Lake Dr SW, Tacoma, WA 98499-1516
(253) 588-2647
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 668 Restaurants in Tacoma
Cuisines: Donuts
Restaurant details
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT DONUTS!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Was not sure about this place at first. I thought it would be just your average donut shop, but I was really surprised. This has to be one of the best donuts I have had in a long time. Awesome!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Not up to what I had heard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Well today I finally stopped at the House of Donuts of Lakewood, WA. My wife had bragged about it for several years. She got an Apple Fritter. It was very good; more like a rolled pastry than the normal free shape an apple fritter usually is. Great apple taste and fresh. I ordered a Marionberry Scone. It looked more like the shape you usually see a fritter. Wow, was I disappointed! It had very little berry taste or texture. It was mainly a blob of dough. Not fresh either. Don't think I will likely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Just Re-Opened, with a New Owner, But the Same Great Donuts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

News Flash!!! House of Donuts closed for about a month for the transition to a new owner. He updated a few things, but retained the most important aspect of this Lakewood landmark: The Outstanding Donuts! The same recipes are in play every day, and the quality hasn't slipped even a fraction.
I picked up two dozen assorted pieces of awesome for my office this morning, and all present proclaimed these donuts to be "the winner, and still champeen!"

Welcome back, House of Donuts!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The Best Donuts in the World!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Okay, I'm a retired cop, and one of the deals 25 years ago when I worked out of the local precinct was if you were late to roll call for dayshift, you had to by a box of donuts for your squad at House of Donuts. Big, yeasty, warm glazed pillows of awesome, which filled the place with an almost-erotic aroma. (I apologize for verging into "donut porn" there, but those are some fond memories!) Anyway, while cops really avoid eating that kind of stuff on a regular basis these days, there are times when you just want to knock people over with the taste and smell of freshly-baked donuts...and this is the only place to go in the Lakewood/Joint Base Lewis-McChord area for this truly-amazing product. Bring a dozen of these babies to your office, and you will be the most popular colleague of the month, guaranteed!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Can't beat this place for donuts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Go for the maple bars and the scones. This place is known for the best donuts around and that is not far fetched at all.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Donuts of Lakewood also viewed

 

Been to House of Donuts of Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Donuts of Lakewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.