We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to make friends and eat great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience

Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tacoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience
Save Saved
You added Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience to your Saves list
302 Tacoma Avenue North, Tacoma, WA 98403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Tacoma B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A place to make friends and eat great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Chinaberry Hill was the piece de resistance of our trip to Tacoma. We were wowed by the pre-turn of the century architecture, the fellowship with Cecil (owner) and friends around the breakfast table and the GREAT food! Thanks to everyone at Chinaberry for making our trip so special.

Room Tip: Cecil was nice enough to upgrade us to a beautiful bay facing room: the Wild Rose Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We've been staying at Chinabery ever since our daughter started attending the University of Puget Sound, and it has become our home away from home (except more charming). We always book the Pantages Suite: spacious, w/great views and large Jacuzzi - very romantic, except when our daughter stays w/us, & Cecil graciously schleps an air mattress up for her, along w/her innumerable suitcases. He and his wife Yarrow couldn't be more gracious hosts: they are highly intelligent & interesting conversationalists, w/an acute ear for when privacy is desired. They are a wealth of information re what Tacoma has to offer: more than you might think. The only down side of a stay at Chinaberry is the extra poundage from Cecil's INCREDIBLE breakfasts - you have never had breakfasts like this. Well worth the calories, and you won't need to eat again until dinner, if then.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, just depends on what size you need and if you care about a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We had a great 3-day weekend at Chinaberry Hill. We stayed in the Rose Room, which has a jacuzzi and a fireplace. We also spent quite a bit of time relaxing by the fire downstairs in the parlor. The hosts made us feel very welcome. Breakfasts were so filling we didn't want lunch. There is more to do in Tacoma than I ever dreamed of. We went antiquing, and then birdwatching at the Nisqually Wildlife Preserve. Another time we will see the museums.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Chinaberry B&B last year at Christmas time. Our son was living across the street then. The house is beautiful and well maintained. The owners friendly and accommodating. They made breakfast for the whole family one day, including our kids across the street. The inn had many comfortable places to lounge, and the bedroom was very comfortable. The breakfasts were great, and I had just the right amount of quiet time and privacy that I needed. I would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Tacoma.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Tacoma. The location was close enough to walk to some places and an easy drive to others. Our room had a jacuzzi, which we loved and even a step stool to get onto the bed. The decor is great, pretty with a hint of quirky. Breakfast was very good as well

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed here after a long search for somewhere affordable and low-scent near Seattle. I have allergies to perfumes and chemicals, and the owners were very aware of these concerns. They also catered to my food allergies with the best breakfast I've ever been served! Kudos to the cook - he's a real gourmet!

We loved our room, there was nice dedicated parking, and the B&B was beautiful, with views of the bay.

We will definitely stay there again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the room overlooking the bay is amazingly romantic. The other rooms are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This is my third stay at the Chinaberry. I am enchanted by this B & B, the careful collection of beautiful furnishings and eclectic objects, the perfectly curated music mix from Cecil's ipod playing in the downstairs rooms, the ridiculously sumptuous and delicious breakfasts.
The coffee is perfect, the rooms, even the big rooms, feel cozy. There's a well-stocked cookie jar downstairs and a little fridge in the kitchen with complimentary soft drinks.

It's not an inexpensive stay, more than I would usually spend for a hotel visit, but Chinaberry is more than a hotel. It feels like the Victorian home you wish you lived in, and the proprietors are friendly and helpful without being fussy or overbearing. I hope to return again and again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience

Address: 302 Tacoma Avenue North, Tacoma, WA 98403
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* * * Bay Views ~ Fireplaces ~ Private Jacuzzis ~ Guest Cottage * * *Perched on a hill overlooking Puget Sound, this 1889 Grand Victorian Estate offers a unique mix of upscale historic Tacoma Seattle bed and breakfast accommodations. Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience has been featured in several publications, including Amazing Getaways, Best Places to Kiss Northwest, Best Places Northwest, Coastal Living, Conde Nast Traveler, Fodors, Frommers, Sunset Magazine, Travel & Leisure, and many others. "This is one groovy place... better-than-restored with decor that's bold, eclectic, opulent and inviting. A delightful place with secluded garden, hilltop privacy, yet great urban access." --- The Unofficial Guide to Bed & Breakfasts in the Northwest Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience is a Top 10 Frommers pick for both hotels and b&bs in the entire state of Washington. Listed on the National Historic Register, the inn offers retro Victorian ambiance and coffee house cool. Downtown Tacoma shops and theaters, waterfront restaurants and Antique Row are just a few blocks from this remarkable garden retreat. Great breakfasts! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.