We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds, clean room best breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tacoma Dome Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Tacoma Dome Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tacoma Dome Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2611 East E Street, Tacoma, WA 98421   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 27 hotels in Tacoma
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great beds, clean room best breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stay here a lot and it is a very convenient location to see events at the dome and we like to scuba dive in the area.

Good points: Rooms are clean (the chamber maids at this hotel are the best), beds are just right (firm enough to be healthy but soft on top for comfort). The two elevators get you in and out fast when it is crowded at the dome. Security is good without making you feel corralled, Parking is reasonable with a big covered area to unload out of the rain.

The breakfast (while not gourmet of course) the the best "free" buffet breakfast around, lots of options for juice, breads etc and saves us lots of time and money going out. Scrambled eggs (some place near by only have HB eggs) and you can make your own HOT waffles with the hi tech waffle irons at at the buffet station. (Kids love this especially).

Bad points: the restaurant at dinner time needs help (literally), they are slow, the food is mediocre at best and pretty expensive and no one seems to know what is or isn't available that night etc.
Also the staff at the front desk can be a bit dim (depends on who you get).

Room Tip: Have a look at a couple first (I always do the first time)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFWManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tacoma Dome Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your room and our breakfast. They're points of pride with our hotel, so it's good to read that you enjoyed them so. Our apologies for what sounds like a less-than-positive experience with our restaurant in the evening. We are constantly striving to improve our hotel, and one of those areas is in our restaurant. We hope that you'll come back and visit us again, and that when you do our restaurant will be better to your liking. Thank you again for your words about the hotel, they are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    110
    55
    18
    19
See reviews for
83
75
13
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
salem, oregon
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I had to stay in Tacoma for work. The room was little, I did not sleep at all. The woman at the front desk was very helpful tho in giving directions because the streets are all torn up with construction and detours. Thank you front desk!
The free breakfast -- I did not have time to partake. Tried to grab a yogurt but they didn't have any.
There is nothing close to this hotel so I felt very isolated. I would not recommend it for a single traveler as there is nothing to do in the evening and the streets do not feel safe. I guess if there is something at the Dome, this would be an OK choice.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are probably pretty lame. Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFWManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tacoma Dome Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
I'm sorry to hear you had trouble sleeping in the room. Please, give us a call down at our front desk and we'll do whatever we can to make your stay more comfortable. As for the location, we offer a complimentary shuttle to anywhere within five miles of our hotel. Please, feel free to use it to go to dinner or to anywhere nearby (there are a variety of different attractions, if you're interested, ask us and find out). This is our safe and convenient option for our guests looking to enjoy the Tacoma area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is a perfect place to stay if you're going to an event at the Tacoma Dome. We got a taxi to get us to the concert, then realized we could have walked there faster. It's about a 5-10 minute walk at the most.

I'm kind of a hotel snob, but really had no problems with this hotel other than there is nothing to eat within walking distance (except for a convenience store). There weren't any restaurants open in the hotel after the concert was over, so we ended up eating at the convenience store. Not quite what I had in mind!

The hotel itself is clean, was reasonably quiet, and the front desk help was fine. There was one waitress in particular that went out of her way the next morning to help out, as I wasn't feeling so great after a night out partying. Kudos to her - it was really appreciated after a few too many cocktails.

Overall, it was better than I anticipated and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to business travelers or concert goers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFWManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tacoma Dome Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We certainly are located close to the Tacoma Dome, we do take pride in that. For anybody else wondering, we are literally right next to the parking lot for the Dome itself. Apologies that nothing was open when you got back from your concert. We have a small shopping area just a couple blocks away called the "Freighthouse Square". It houses a large amount of different food vendors. If you're unsure the hours of the places there, or if you're looking for some place to eat, come down to our front desk, our employees will be more than happy to assist you in finding somewhere that is open and to your liking. Thank you for your compliments about our hotel and the breakfast. We hope to see you again the next time you come to an event at the Tacoma Dome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The good things: It was pretty quiet and the room was fine. Clean, big enough, fine. And it was right near downtown although the area was a little sketchy. The front desk service, however, not fine. And actually, it was one specific guy, the front desk manager of all people. They'd had some problem with their key card system that apparently caused a whole block of rooms not to work. So, first, why put me in one of those rooms? Second, no apology for the key not working. The service guys apologized but not the front desk guy. I gave it a 3-blob rating only because the woman at the bar in the lounge gave me a free glass of wine (the good stuff even!) when I told her the whole story.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFWManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tacoma Dome Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
First, I'm glad you enjoyed the room. We try to make each stay as enjoyable as we can and to hear that the room was good is a plus. Second, I, as the Front Office Manager, would like to apologize to you for the trouble you had with your keys. We attempt to fix every issue as quickly as possible at our hotel, and I'm sorry this lead to you having trouble with your stay. I hope that you will give us another try the next time you find yourself in Tacoma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Arriving with no reservation, another (fully booked) property sent us here. Hotel was OK, not poor but nothing to gush over. Clean rooms, decent condition. Restaurant was mediocre and noise from lounge across hall was annoying. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWBW, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tacoma Dome Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind feed back. We appriciate and learn from your advice. Please note Best Available Rate is available when you call hotel front desk. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Easy access from freeway. Easy, friendly check-in. Large room, good sized bathroom, fridge/microwave, A/C. Comfortable beds, lots of pillows.
Restaurant in hotel had good service, reasonable selection - very good food at a good price.
Breakfast - waffles, eggs, sausages, etc. Good, well stocked selection.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We were charged for replacement of a broken window that we did not break. It was cracked upon our arrival and we noticed it. We did not bother to call down because the room was not really that nice so we figured it was just another example of things they weren't that concerned about keeping up. After leaving we realized we had been charged $407 for the broken window. We have tried repeatedly to contact the general manager who will not call, write, or email back. Corporate Best Western has also informed us that they defer to the management to deal with matters such as this. I now see that being our being unfairly charged is not an isolated incident. I would warn others to not stay at this Best Western and since corporate has seemed very lax I am reluctant to ever visit another BW.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWBW, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tacoma Dome Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Please note the room in question was rented and inspected day before this guest arrived. We here at Tacoma Dome Hotel take pride in our property. It is not our practice to charge guests without making sure the damages were actually the cause of the guest. It would be illigal to charge someone without a justifiable cause.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Tacoma Dome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Tacoma Dome Hotel

Address: 2611 East E Street, Tacoma, WA 98421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Tacoma Dome Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Tacoma Dome is a full service, upscale, corporate hotel. Our 162 guest sleeping rooms are quiet, well appointed and designed for optimal guest comfort. Completely remodeled in 2006, our guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable TV, in-room movies, clock radios, coffeemakers, microwaves, refrigerators, irons and ironing boards, and hairdryers. All of our guests enjoy complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Tacoma Dome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tacoma Dome Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Tacoma Dome Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.